We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A beautiful 5 star in an exceptional location” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #59 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“A beautiful 5 star in an exceptional location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 April 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Daniels for our honeymoon in 2006 and were upgraded to a beautiful suite overlooking the grand canal. The hotel is extremely well located, a beautiful former palace and the service is remarkable. We would love to return.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Debra L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 22 April 2014
Dear Debra L,
Many thanks for recently staying with us whilst visiting Venice and also for having taken the time to provide us with your kind feedback. We will look forward to welcoming you back soon to the Hotel Danieli.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,808 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,712
    580
    266
    143
    107
See reviews for
496
1,611
79
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (488)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

We have just returned from a 3 night stay at the Danieli hotel in Venice and cannot stress enough what an amazing experience it was! On arrival we were checked into the hotel by a very friendly female receptionist who took the time to personally escort us to our room while giving us a history of the hotel. She upgraded our room free of charge to one with a lagoon view which was simply breathtaking . It was a great touch to find that when we arrived back at the hotel after dining out each evening that the maid had made the beds, laid out complimentary slippers and left chocolates on the bed. Little things but enough to make an already magical trip even better. The only negatives I could mention were the very thin walls between rooms. We could hear the residents in the adjoining room word for word. We'd researched the hotel in advance so knew that breakfast in the hotel would be beyond our budget but to be honest it was lovely to venture out on a morning to find a lovely coffee bar. We also found the male concierge staff (of which there were several) a little unhelpful. They seemed a little short with us which we felt was because we were english as they seemed very courteous and polite when speaking to other Italians. I would however highly recommend this hotel if your looking for a romantic break.

Room Tip: Ask for a room in the old part of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank daffodil086
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear daffodil086,
Firstly, thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. As we are constantly looking for ways to improve our service, your honest and constructive comments are very much appreciated.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 April 2014

A fantastic location and a spectacular building.

However you pay for it in style. Our rooms were not as good as the public areas but i guess some of the suites might be! The bedrooms we had could be described as shabby chic. We had a view of a small canal where the deliveries and bin men came, but hey this is Venice. The rooms were clean and comfortable and we slept well.

There are no facilities for making tea or coffee in the room and the room service prices were €12 for a coffee with an €8 delivery charge. There is a nice bar 2 mins away where a very good take away coffee was €3. Likewise the bar prices were hefty and there were few people in there - not too surprising really. The breakfasts were equally expensive at €48 for continental. We went to a very nice coffee bar around the corner and paid that for 6 of us. I know some would say that is what you pay for luxury and exclusivity but it still feels like a rip-off even if you can afford it. I am sure the hotel would increase revenues if the cut their prices.

We did dine in the restaurant for dinner for a special birthday and we all agreed it was fabulous, both the view and the meal. Again pricey but OK for a special occasion.

Would we go back there? Yes we would - it was good and the location was excellent, but i still wouldn't pay for room service or breakfast.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 1bursledon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 18 April 2014
Dear 1bursledon,
On behalf of the Management team at The Hotel Danieli, we would like to thank you for completing your review on TripAdvisor.
I am grateful for your comments as such information enables us to continually monitor and improve the service we are offering. We look forward to welcoming you back when you are next in Venice.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Exdecutive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2014

Whilst our 3 night stay was fantastic, can I give everyone a word a caution. On all 3 mornings we had a lovely breakfast in their roof terrace resturant, after each one we were not presented with a bill or asked for our room and we believed that the breakfast was included in the price of the room. It was with some shock at checkout to be presented with a bill for over €160. So beware despite not signing for anything we were charged!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Paul J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

We came to the Danieli with high hopes for it being a fantastic hotel! To our disappointment the hotel did not live up to our expectations. Check in procedure and check in staff were rude and unpleasant. The staff in general are stiff, uncooperative and not guest centric.

Rather disappointing stay at the Danieli!

  • Stayed April 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank jazzymc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear jazzymc,
Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. Allow us to extend our sincere apologies if we were unable to entirely meet your expectations. We always encourage our staff for an helpful and friendly approach and we know too well that an improper attitude can make a real difference.
We hope to welcome you back in the future and show you the high standard of quality and service we are accustomed to provide to all our guests.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2014

Myself, my friend and my friends 13 year old daughter stayed at this hotel for 3 nights. On arrival the concierge took our suitcases and showed us to the desk to check in. We were checked in by an older man with a white beard who never looked at us once and was very abrupt, unfriendly and unwelcoming. Still we decided that he must be having a bad day and we remained polite and smiled at him in spite of his rudeness. We thought this would be a one off but sadly no. All but one of the staff ( a blonde man at the bar) showed no interest and were extremely stoical and impolite. We felt as if they thought we were somehow beneath them and in fact we were lucky to be staying there at all! Now onto the room. We ordered a family room and were surprised to see two singles pushed togeather? Later a cheap camp bed was bought up and set up in the room which made an already small room cramped and claustrophobic. We almost laughed in disbelief! Then an unbearable noise would occur early hours in the morning. This would happen at 4 or 5 am. The sound of large metal trollies along concrete mostly that would give us a sudden start and wake us out of our sleep. Suffice to say we all had bags and were extremely tired for our whole stay. The only thing that made our trip was being out of that place all day sightseeing and a lovely little restaurant not far from there where we were made to feel special. They were welcoming and friendly and it was a welcome change from the staff at the Danieli. And yes ive read similar reviews some going back long before our stay and I've read the apologies from the hotel which are obviously empty words as nothing has changed. Take my advice, don't stay where you're not welcome. Enjoy Venice like you're meant to and do not have your trip ruined by these people. This hotel ddes not deliver or does "what it says on the tin". There are cracks beneath the facade with the rooms and the staff. Extremely disappointed.
Lisa UK.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
12 Thank Lisamay776
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 9 April 2014
Dear Lisamay776,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your constructive feedback on the site following your stay with us which is greatly appreciated. Please accept my apologies for not being able to please you during your stay with us at the Hotel Danieli; I would like to once again thank you for alerting us of your experience. We would love to see you come back to the Hotel Danieli and have the wow experience that we are known for and pride ourselves with. Feel free to contact me personally if you would like to discuss any of your experiences in person, and I would be more than happy to assist. Sincerely,

Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stamford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
225 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 100 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 April 2014

We first stayed here 10 years ago for our 25th wedding anniversary & couldn't think of anywhere better to spend our 35th. We had a modern room overlooking the lagoon and although it didn't have the style of the old classic rooms it was beautifully furnished & very spacious. The downstairs bar & lobby areas are stunning. We hit lucky with the weather for March & we were able to have breakfast outside on the terrace, which had brilliant views over the lagoon & up the Grand Canal.

Room Tip: Lagoon rooms are worth the uplift
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bandaStamford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear bandaStamford,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review about your stay with us. We were pleased to see that we helped to make your stay an enjoyable one and look forward to welcome you back soon.
Sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#42 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#46 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,168 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#23 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,433 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Property: Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelUp, Priceline, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing