We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Nearby Hotels
US$416
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$392
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$194
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$157
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Moresco(Venice)
US$349
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$317
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$244
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Arlecchino Hotel(Venice)(Great Value!)
US$195
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$181
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$269
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$225
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal(Venice)
US$509
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$328
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$305
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$232
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$302
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$270
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$304
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$233
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Reviews (3,344)
Filter reviews
3,344 results
Traveller rating
2,053
705
311
155
120
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2,053
705
311
155
120
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrooftop restaurantbeautiful hotelgrand canalconcierge desklobby barbeautiful lobbya lagoon view roomdoge's palacewater taxiold worldmurano glass chandelierstop floorbridge of sighsmain buildingmark's squarevisit venicest marks
Filter
Updating list...
1,240 - 1,245 of 3,344 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2014

I recently stayed at the Danieli for 3 nights with my husband and 2 teenage daughters to celebrate my 50th birthday. Having read some previous reviews I was slightly apprehensive that the hotel would not meet our high expectations but am glad to say these fears were unfounded - this traditional gem of a hotel did not disappoint.
When the water taxi from the airport swept into the grand canal and I caught my first view of the Danieli right beside St Marks Square and overlooking the canal, it was even more impressive than I had imagined.
Our rooms were in the refurbished Excelsior wing and were very well appointed with good bathrooms and a very comfortable bed. The rooms were inter-connecting and perfect for families. The hotel had provided complimentary wine on arrival to celebrate my birthday which was a nice touch.
We found the everyone in the hotel to be courteous and helpful.
Breakfast on the roof top terrace was spectacular, especially the first morning in the April sunshine. The range of food was impressive and my daughters loved the extensive range of fresh fruits.
We also had afternoon cocktails on the terrace to avail of the view and although pricey, provided a wonderful way to relax while watching the boats in the canal.
Dinner on the terrace was expensive, especially the cover charge of €16 per person, however, the food was marvellous and the whole ambience of the evening and the attention of the staff made for a memorable evening.
The location of the hotel can not be matched - you are only a few steps from the Bridge of Sighs and St Marks Square. It is also an ideal base to pick up a boat trip - we took a 4 hour trip to the neighbouring islands of Murano and Burano which we all enjoyed.
I am so glad my husband chose the Danieli for my birthday celebration - it was the perfect choice and was thoroughly enjoyed by the whole family. If I ever return to this beautiful city , it will have to be to the Danieli.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ruby317
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Ruby317,
Thank you for your review following your stay.
I am delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had the time to experience some of the exciting sights and places in the vicinity.
Thank you for your comments and we hope to be able to welcome you back soon.
Warm regards
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

It had been 30 years since we last stayed at the Danieli and it is still as classic a place as ever. Very convenient location with Piazza San Marco just around the corner and the water taxi dock right outside. Breakfast on the terrace is incredible with its panoramic views. It was worth the extra expense to get a canal view room. Can't wait to go back there again and this time it won't take 30 years!

Room Tip: If this is the only time you will get to Venice, spend the extra for the canal view... you won't regret it!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The5MRanch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear The5MRanch,
Thank you choosing to stay with us on your recent visit to Venice. I was delighted to hear that you enjoyed it very much. Looking forward to welcoming you soon to the Hotel Danieli, I remain
With best regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed there for one night to celebrate our Valentine's Day. We arrived there directly by boat on a sunny day and left the day after in the rain, but the experience was impressive! Both the hotel and the city are romantic and fascinating in all weather conditions. The staff of the hotel was very welcoming. We enjoyed a very good lunch with careful service, delicious fish and a fine Venetian wine. We could also rest and enjoy the sun on the panoramic roof terrace. I was all-happy to find a second washbasin with mirror hidden behind a wood door in our room. The bathroom was wide and elegant. Our room had a magic view on St. Giorgio Maggiore Island. At night we went to the opera to enjoy "La Traviata" by Verdi at famous La Fenice Theatre, located in walking distance.This stay made me feel like a princess! Absolutely suggested to couples for a romantic escape to this unique city: magic Venice!!!

Room Tip: Ask for sea-view room!
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rossella M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear Rossella M,
Firstly thank you for taking the time share your valuable feedback. As we are consistently aiming to improve services to our guests your comments are very much appreciated.
Best regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014 via mobile

The Danieli is superb! In EVERY way. Exquisite surroundings. Professional and courteous, reception and the concierge desk are outstanding. And how lucky to have continuity - and to be greeted and looked after so well!
The outdoor dining on the terrace with the best view in Venice was glorious. Thank you - to all - and the best I could wish is for everyone to have the pleasure of this amazing hotel.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
Thank CHMb M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 May 2014

Dear CHMb M,
Thank you for choosing to stay with us and I would like to thank you for sharing your feedback on what appears to have been a very enjoyable stay for you. We are delighted you were able to enjoy the service and facilities the hotel has to offer.
Kind regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel to celebrate our wedding anniversary. We had a wonderful time but not due to the hotel. We arranged an airport pick-up for over eur 200 but no-one was there. Turns out to be a van tranfer of 2 mins to be dropped off at the normal venice watertaxi stand. The way back for some reason is just around eur 115.

The room that was allocated to us didnt have any daylight and looked into a brick wall. This was a premium deluxe room according to management...only after complaining we got moved to another room, which was significantly better.

Staff in general is quite arrogant, unattentive and doesnt really pay attention to what you say. Just a small example, we went up to take some pictures at the roof terrace around 12 and were rudely told to come back after 15 because people were having brunch. The terrace was not even very busy at the time.

The only positive point is the concierge desk.

This hotel has a beautiful setting and the main building is gorgeous, however the rooms are poor to average at best. The combination with unattentive to even rude staff, makes this a place we will never go back to and will not recommend to others.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Raymond T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2014

Dear Raymond T,
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on the site for us for which we are very grateful.
We are indeed very centrally located and within walking distance of some wonderful museums. . I deeply regret that you felt that the staff were arrogant and unhelpful, we are very concerned about the service breakdowns and have taken the steps necessary to ensure it does not happen again. We have also shared your comments with our team so that they can see how their actions impact our guests.
At the same time I am pleased that you finally found a room that suited your needs.
We look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.
Yours sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews