We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“top rated luxury. Wonderful stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Ranked #65 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 July 2014

I have wanted to stay at this hotel since I first saw it in a movie "Only You". Prepared myself that I would very likely get a standard room with view of a wall. We had booked 2 rooms. Check in was easy and since we were SPG members, we were escorted up to our room by the check in lady. She did indicate during check in that they had upgraded us. Again, I did not expect much. When she walked us to our room on the third floor, imagine my shock and surprise that both our rooms faced the canal and had a balcony!!!
This hotel is pure luxury and we loved and enjoyed everything about it. The room was clean, luxurious and had a big bed. There was a hidden tv in the cabinet. Bathroom was all marble with slippers, fluffy robes. The view from the balcony was exactly what we imagined Venice to be.
We had breakfast the next morning at the restaurant. Again, great views but prices are ridiculously expensive.
Location of hotel is very central. It is right next to Bridge of Sighs, and St. Mark's Square is right around the corner.
Our overall experience was fantastic and we would definitely be back again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Faith N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear hopetotravell,
We were elated to read that you had an enjoyable stay with us. It was marvellous to learn that we made you feel comfortable during your stay and I have shared your kind comments with all the associates as everyone works very hard to deliver the Hotel Danieli Brand standard of service.
Best regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (3,191)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,126 - 1,132 of 3,192 reviews

Reviewed 15 July 2014

Our first holiday as a married couple was at the Danieli so where else would I take my wife for our Silver Wedding than back to Venice and the Danieli? The hotel promised, "Luxury Romance Package Includes Daily Room Service Breakfast For 2, Flowers And Champagne Upon Arrival
While In Residence Two Or More Nights, Celebrate Romance With Champagne, And Wake Up To Breakfast In Bed Surrounded By The Scent Of Fresh Flowers". Our 3 night stay cost us £3,288 and worth every euro if the Danieli could deliver the service and the special romantic stay we were promised.
It started well at reception and the room, with a balcony and view across the grand canal and lagoon, champagne and a modest flower arrangement was enchanting. After that it went down hill. We felt throughout, even to the point of trying to get staff to organise our luggage and a taxi back to the station, that we were a problem rather than a valued customer. The concierge team were not customer focussed but seemed arrogant and condescending. When trying to get help to book the train to Innsbruck for the next stage of our journey, I was told, "there is no train from here to Innsbruck, only a coach". In the end I had to find a travel agent to make the necessary bookings on the daily direct train service to Innsbruck. The high band-width Wi-Fi in the room, that came at an extra charge, was so intermittent my complaints eventually (after several promised visits did not materialise) led to the maintenance man coning to our room and blaming the ipad, Microsoft software (that I was not using), indeed any other explanation than the likely one, to explain why I could not get the service I had been promised. When checking out and questioning the charge for the Wi-Fi I was told, "oh yes it doesn't work effectively; we have loads of complaints about it." The head concierge had been dismissive about the problems we had experienced with his team and we felt as though we were then "blanked" by them for the rest of our stay.
The food was good, though unreasonably expensive, especially in the light of poor service. The luxury roof terrace restaurant was great for our romantic anniversary meal, as a venue for breakfast, after we go bored waiting to Wake Up To Breakfast In Bed Surrounded By The Scent Of Fresh Flowers, service was again poor. Staff were thick on the ground but they were not focussed on the customer and their needs; simple things like checking to see that butter or cutlery were on the table. Trying to attract the attention of any one of the army of people seemed impossible. The only bright light at breakfast was a young chef who cooked eggs to order in one corner of the restaurant. She was personable, remembered you each morning and what your food preferences were, asked about your visit to Venice and if you were enjoying yourself. Other staff, when you could get their attention, were poor; one, who had waited on our table each day said on our last morning, "is this your first day in Venice?"
To say that the Danieli is on top of it's game would be wrong. It gave the impression of only being after your money and the level of customer care we experienced was very poor. It promised a lot, even Breakfast In Bed Surrounded By The Scent Of Fresh Flowers, and delivered neither that nor precious little else than we expected from a 5* hotel. Our voices were not listened to and no significant attempt made to respond to our concerns; we felt invisible. Only Venice itself lived up to its reputation; Shame on you Danieli for spoiling our trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
16  Thank RetepReham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 22 July 2014

Dear RetepReham,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your constructive feedback on the site following your stay with us which is greatly appreciated. Although we may not enjoy a negative feedback, we thank you for sharing your experience at the Hotel Danieli. We have taken your concerns very seriously and we are taking every possible measure at an operational level to prevent the issues you reported to happen again in the future.
Your comments are invaluable in helping us create the ideal customer service experience for the future and we hope you will allow us another opportunity to show you that your experience has been an exception to a rule of dedicated and bespoke service.
Kind regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile

This hotel exudes old world charm and was the perfect stay for my family during our recent trip to Venice . You must experience the buffet breakfast . It is the perfect start to the day with the terrace providing a birds eye view of the Grand canal.and the waterways .the hotel is close to all the local tourist destinations and some fantastic shops and restaurants .you must spend a few hours in the lobby and enjoy a cocktail or some drinks to capture the atmosphere of this hotel . The staff where all friendly and helpfull.
Our rooms where adequate for a hotel of this statue.
The hotel provided our family with a special experience of Venice .

Stayed: July 2014
1  Thank RickX01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 July 2014

Dear RickX01,
Thank you for taking the time to share your review with us and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Kind regards

Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 July 2014

I've learnt in my life that easy is the opposite of simple, so my review on Danieli will be "easy": This XIV Century Palace in the heart of Venice is a lifetime experience. Its atmosphere inspires every human being to feel noble. My 21 year-old son has said something wise about Danieli: "It's impossible to be in a bad mood over here". And, if I were to keep it "simple", I'd spend hours describing every single detail that makes Danieli so exclusive... Glad to meet a Brazilian fellow working at the Concierge, Mr. Heitor, who's made our stay even more enjoyable. Please don't die before staying at Danieli.

Room Tip: Just get any room at Danieli and have a great journey!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Oriovaldo Anton... T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear Oriovaldo,
Thank you for your review of the Hotel Danieli. I am delighted you enjoyed your stay; I will personally pass on your nice comments to our staff.
I hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back in the near future.
Best regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2014

I really want to write a glowing report of The Danieli as my husband wisked me here for a surprise anniversary trip. We stayed 4 nights over a long weekend in a top floor room with private balcony overlooking the front of the hotel and the lagoon. OK not a suite in the old building but the next level from that.
I'll précis the points: fantastic location for accessibility and views over the lagoon, beautiful historic building with impressive central lobby/staircase/ lounge, rooftop restaurant with same outstanding views, very comfortable bed, refurbished clean room with double glazing. However the room was small - only just large enough for the bed, side cupboards and a desk (small wardrobe & safe/fridge 'built in'), the hotel landings in the 'new' building were fairly dismal, service levels were mixed; some excellent, others bordering on rude particularly in the restaurant where the food was good but not exceptional. We also found the cover charge added to our dinner bill surprising. 240 euros of room service was mistakenly charged to our room. It was quickly removed !
The Daneili may have once been a magnificent hotel and it is still quite nice. The age and importance of the building are not to be ignored but the fact that it is part of the Starwood hotel chain gives the game away so be aware.
Would we go back? We had lunch at The Ciprani which was exceptional but tucked away quietly across the water: the location for The Danieli gives you the full Venice sensory experience for a short trip, so for that reason we were happy with our choice. We'd never go back in the high season though - large corporate groups in the hotel.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Service
3  Thank nmm428
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear nmm428,
Thank you for your review of the Hotel Danieli. I am sorry to hear that the room you occupied failed to meet your expectations and that you encountered billing problems upon check-out.
Our guests are our upmost priority and we strive to ensure that every guest has a very enjoyable time at the hotel. Please rest assured this issue will be raised with the relevant heads of department within the hotel to ensure we raise our attention to detail.
I would be pleased to welcome you again to the Hotel Danieli on your next return to Venice and provide you with a more memorable experience, and therefore invite you to contact me directly prior to your next stay.
Best regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 July 2014

Booked in here for only 1 night wish it could have been more. The hotel is charming and the rooms were spotless and very comfortable.Reception and restaurant staff so helpful and polite. Hotel is just off St Mark Square so really easy for local sightseeing. It may be a little costly but so worth it for the location.

Room Tip: Take advantage of the free water taxi and visit the islands especially Moreno and the Glass Factory...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank purdy123Broxbourne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 July 2014

Dear purdy123Broxbourne,
It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback from our guest! Your comments have been received with great appreciation and we are so pleased that you have enjoyed your stay with us.
Best regards,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2014

This Hotel is as unique as the city it occupies. A must stay and experience! From the Lobby(service, staff, drinks, décor) the rooms (cleanliness, sheets, amenities, view) to the breakfast terrace views. This is as good as it gets! Yes, it's old and should stay that way. Everyone wants to modernize Hotels leave it just the way it is. It's spectacular and we can visit and experience a bit of History.

Room Tip: Along the canals so you can hear the Gondolliers singing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ExecutiveOffice72, Manager at Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2014

Dear Nina D,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review of the Hotel Danieli. I am pleased to see that you enjoyed both your stay with us and that you found the location ideal I certainly hope we will have the pleasure of welcoming you back for a repeat!
Yours sincerely,
Silver Carpanese
Executive Assistant Manager
in charge of Operations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,600 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#62 of 385 in Venice
1,664 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#47 of 385 in Venice
1,298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel

Address: Castello, 4196 | Riva degli Schiavoni, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #65 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Price Range: £230 - £668 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 210
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury, sophistication, and timeless elegance combined with contemporary comfort. This is what to expect when you choose to stay at Hotel Danieli. Evoking the opulence for which Venice is known, you'll find us right next to Piazza San Marco, placing the masterpieces of Venetian art at your doorstep. Accompanying you home long after your visit are the magnificent panoramas to be enjoyed from Restaurant Terrazza Danieli and the Danieli Wine Suite, exceptionally matched with eno-culinary journeys of indigenous ingredients. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA, Expedia, getaroom.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing