We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Understated luxury in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Ranked #31 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Market Harborough, England, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
98 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Understated luxury in Venice”
Reviewed 8 April 2014

Just as others have said, a classy hotel with attentive staff. It is perfect for staying in Venice as it is a five minute regular free boat ride to/from St Mark's Square, yet the hotel is on a quiet island away from the crowds. We were moved from our first room because of flooding - a move that was done quickly and courteously. Both rooms were excellent, as was breakfast. We did fine dining in the new "Or" Restaurant one evening. Hideously expensive food and drink, but worth it for the experience and the excellent food. Amazingly, the hotel bar had run out of peach juice, so no Bellini was available!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Charles O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

811 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    630
    119
    35
    15
    12
See reviews for
126
472
29
38
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (176)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
310 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 149 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 April 2014

We stayed at this superb hotel as part of a package which included a trip from Venice to Calais on the Orient Express. The hotel had just reopened after a few months of redecoration and was absolutely beautiful. We were upgraded to a junior suite which was stunning and opened, via a small garden, to the heated outdoor pool (perfect). The hotel is stylish and elegant and exceeded all of our expectations. Service was second to none, the staff were very helpful and very professional. We were made to feel very special indeed and had a fantastic break. The complimentary boat taxi service to San Marco (5 minutes) which runs every 15 minutes 24 hours a day is very useful.

Room Tip: It is hard to believe there will be a room in the hotel which is not superb. We were upgraded to a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Venice
1 review
Reviewed 1 April 2014

This hotel is excellent and in keeping with the attached experience of traveling by the Orient Express to Venice. It is actually the hotel of choice of the stars on location. As with the Orient Express, it is, as expected, expensive but well worth it--- A stay and a trip of a lifetime.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Brian+George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Margate, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

I have travelled the world and stayed in many first class hotels. This is for me the stand-out hotel of the last 30 years, elegant, timeless, peaceful, fabulous. An outstanding place to stay. For us, it exceeded all our expectations.



  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Yes it most certainly is. This hotel is just beautiful and the staff are amazing. We had a two day stay here before boarding the Orient Express.The service you get here is second to none. We were treated like celebrities. Make sure you take your swimsuit as the pool is about 30 degrees all the time. Dont worry its on Guidecca Island there is a free taxi boat which takes you to St Marks Square every 15 minutes or so, this is also a wonderful experience. Make sure you have plenty of time for your breakfast its a delightful feast, and should last you most of the day. We had a meal in the restaurant which was about 300 euros for two, but was absolutely amazing and worth every penny. Really unusual combinations of food, but really enjoyable and great to be adventurous. I would recommend this hotel to anyone that wants a little luxury, but make sure you have some comfy walking shoes, but not trainers....

Room Tip: ask for an upgrade to a sea view or garden view balcony room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tonilouisegarside
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Poole, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2014

Our stay at the Cipriani was everything we hoped it would be, & more, for our trip to celebrate my Mum's 70th birthday. Airport transfers on arrival to the hotel by taxi & boat (you pay extra, but well worth it), then to the train station on our departure (where we boarded the Venice Simplon Orient Express for our return journey to London), were effortless & provided another chance to discover more of the watery landscape that Venice has to offer. All staff - without exception - were friendly, professional & nothing was too much trouble. We were upgraded to a spectacular lagoon (water) view room & our room and italian marble bathroom were spacious & gorgeous. Fresh roses, complimentary wine/Venetian biscuits & Bulgari goodies also welcomed our arrival. The Oro Restaurant was amazing (haute cuisine) and so much better than Cip's (the more relaxed restaurant but still very expensive - our only slightly disappointing experience in the whole hotel). Room service for breakfast was also prompt & high quality - as was the breakfast served in the restaurant. The whole hotel and gardens are beautifully presented & immaculate - there are fresh flower displays and the most beautiful orchids everywhere. All staff provide an outstanding service, from the housekeeping ladies, to the Concierge, reception and restaurant guys - there is even a complimentary water taxi shuttle to St Mark's to see the sights (takes approx 10 mins). You get the best of both worlds at the Cipriani because you can access the Venice sights easily, but are well away from the dreadful tourist traps around St Mark's. We had an absolutely magical time at the Cipriani & could not recommend this as a place to stay highly enough.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Gnomelette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dunfermline, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 January 2014

Always dreamed of visiting Venice and then had my eye on the Cipriani as a hotel to stay in...so in my quest to visit the most fantastic hotels in the world I went ahead and booked a stay at the Cipriani Hotel for the three of us (long not-so-suffering husband, the bairn and yours truly).

From the moment you arrive you are made top feel welcome and expected, you are greeted by name (and title) and made feel that "nothing is too much".
The bairn was made welcome from the minute we stepped out of the boat and the staff were there to cater for our every whim. She found it easy to get used to being adressed as "signorina P"!

We had a wonderful "garden suite" in the Palazzo Vendramin area that has a private Venetian garden where you can relax and also have meals served if you fancy to do so.
The living room area had the quaintest bureau desk replenished with luxurious Venetian stationery.

We had the most wonderful butler looking after us and my only regret is that I could not bring him home with us! Everytime we left the room the staff would tidy after us and the clothes were organised all the time (bliss...), the bathroom was gorgeous with marble features and the customary Bvlgari toiletries to enjoy.

The swimming pool is delightful and expansive (for the likes of Venice).
In general the hotel is tremendously child friendly despite it's sheer elegance and exclusivity.
The staff are seen to make a point of remembering your drink and food preferneces and that is definitely appreciated.

The Fortuny restaurant has the most amazing view and the food was all of very good quality.
If I had one critical point to mention for improvement I would possibly highlight the desserts and petit fours, as these could maybe be made a little better and appealing.

The boat transport is fantastic and the Giudecca island is a true haven.
Try not to worry about the final bill when visiting this place and enjoy...well worth the visit!

On departure we were told that "they hoped to see us next year"...definitely will do my best to do so!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank CCP1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#78 of 385 in Venice
644 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 385 in Venice
931 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Property: Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Address: Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Venice is a theatre, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is the Royal Box. It is a resort: a way of life, an island apart, in every sense. And it involves all the senses that make a stay unforgettable. Five minutes by private launch from St. Mark’s Square, on the tip of the Giudecca Island, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is in the heart of the city but removed from its hustle and bustle. Its 95 rooms and suites are exquisitely decorated with magnificent views over the open lagoon, the gardens and St. Marks. A day here is made up of layers of wonderful experiences, from luxuriating beside the Olympic-size swimming pool (the only one in central Venice) to relaxing with a signature treatment at the Casanova Wellness Centre. The Casanova gardens offer an oasis of peace, perfect for a Thai Chi session before heading off with a private boat for a personalised excursion in the lagoon. Choose to dine at the new Oro Restaurant for a timeless dining experience or at the iconic Cip’s Club admiring the view on St. Mark’s. Sip a signature cocktail at the Gabbiano Bar or enjoy a light lunch at the Porticciolo Restaurant. A red-clay tennis court, a gym and dedicated Kids' Club with pool are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., Expedia, Agoda, Odigeo, TravelUp, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing