We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Extraordinary stay”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Ranked #29 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Extraordinary stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 June 2014

We recently returned for 7 nights at this magical hotel for a special family event. It is a beautiful setting and is meticulously maintained. What always sets places apart for me though, is service. I cannot thank the staff enough for what will remain a very special memory. Thank you and I hope to be able to return sometime soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jhs640
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

770 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    596
    114
    33
    15
    12
See reviews for
117
451
28
32
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (170)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Mossley
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014

Should be 3.5/5 for 'Good' but TripAdvisor don't give that option.

This was the last of three Belmond hotels we stayed at on our 'Grand Tour' of Italy, the others were the Belmond Hotel Caruso in Ravello and the Belmond Hotel Villa San Michele in Florence.

Unlike the other hotels on our tour, transfers were not included so were added to the bill.

A shuttle launch cruised between the hotel and a landing by San Marco Square every 15 minutes .... 24 hours a day! Fab.

We hadn't booked any tours for Venice, we just used the shuttle and walked for hours each day visiting places like the Accademia, the Doge's Palace including prison across the Bridge of Sighs, and the Ghetto.

The food was good with stunning views of Venice.
The staff were all polite, helpful and friendly.

So why the BUT, compared to the previous hotels on our tour we had the feeling that the Cipriani was 'resting on its laurels'. It just didn't compare to the rest. The 'special' was missing.
WiFi was very intermittent, particularly in our room and VPN worked ok when the WiFi did.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jo_Nigel_UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marco Island
Level Contributor
47 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2014 via mobile

Just had our annual visit to this magnificent hotel and even when you think it could not get better, it proves you wrong and it does. !! New restaurant and menu is wonderful and certainly deserves Michelin Star. Congratulations to the new chef on his great food and innovative dishes. Service is second to none, Walter in the restaurant and Tamazi and Alexandra on the front desk gave us exceptional service - we cannot wait to return to this wonderful establishment.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lope3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
san diego
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2014

I have always wanted to stay in this hotel but on previous visits it was closed during the Winter. From the moment the train arrived in Santa Lucia and we were met by the Cipirani staff member I knew we had made the right choice. There are many luxury hotel in Venice but only one like this. The boat ride along the Grand Canal is a great passage to the hotel and we were greeted at the dock of the hotel by porters who swept us away through the lovely landscaped front entrance.The rooms were not quite ready so we were escorted to the beautiful poolside restaurant for a relaxing lunch. The pool is the largest hotel pool in Italy and is heated to 82F with saltwater. Just a delight. Upon entering our room, escorted by a staff member, we were shown all of the features and then taken outside to the enormous terrace we had overlooking the pool and a portion of the gardens. All of the gardens were in full bloom and looked spectacular yet welcoming. The breakfast in the restaurant or on the terrace or in your room is superb and offer EVERYTHING you could possibly want. what a way to start your day before touring Venice. The hotel boat runs 24/7 back and forth to St.Mark's and is complimentary. For those with no deire to tour or shop then the hotel is a perfect place to spend the day with a full service spa and gym and plenty of places to walk to and explore. This was a part of Venice I did not know existed. the highlight of the trip was dinner in Cips, the casual restaurant, with the most impressive view of Venice. What a perfect ending to a vacation. It juts out on the water and even moves slightly as boats pass by.So many choices on the menu will allow and appetite to be satisfied. There is a new gourmet restaurant also within the hotel but we did not have time to experince it during our two days. The staff is well trained, well informed and totally understand the meaning of guest service. The grounds and public areas are in pristine condition. You MUST vist Belmond Hotel Cipriani.

Room Tip: If you wish to reserve a suite, then those with the large terraces overlooking the pool are best. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank joppnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yelverton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

The hotel itself is in an idyllic position far enough away from the crowds but easy to get into Venice itself by the hotel's own launch which runs 24/7. The rooms - especially the bathrooms are magnificent - and are well equipped with toiletries etc. The Lagoon view from our room was magnificent. The Staff were pleasant and helpful. The one downside was the meal we had in the Oro Restaurant. Although the food was delicious and well presented the service the night we ate there left a lot to be desired! We waited one hour for our appetiser, our wine never materialised with the main course (although we were given a brandy with our coffee by way of apology) and the rest of the meal was also beset by delays. Hopefully this was an unusual experience and the next time we go things will be better.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Maureen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Situated literally next to the Cipriani hotel on Giudecca the Belmond actually allows you a better view of Venice at a fraction of the price. Having stayed at the Cipriani which is gorgeous i can honestly say the room we stayed in is as nice as some of the ones in the Cipriani - maybe less grand but equally as stylish and with MUCH BETTER VIEWS! Our room was directly opposite St Marks Square. We had a hotel shuttle water taxi to take us across. The service at the reception was excellent. Breakfasts were fantastic - sitting outside in a beautiful garden. I would recommend room 111 - its fabulous!!

Room Tip: Room 111 was amazing - a duplex room with a lovely bathroom (good sized bath) and a sitting room wit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrElk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester UK
Level Contributor
66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

This was a return visit for us but it still sparkled for us,and in sharp contrast to their Splendido hotel. Must be one of the true best hotels in the world. Position helps but staff, who breathe the job and enjoy it, shine through as the icing on the cake

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HarryManchesterUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Giudecca
Palladio Hotel & Spa
Palladio Hotel & Spa
#87 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 621 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,520 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Belmond Hotel Cipriani? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Belmond Hotel Cipriani

Property: Belmond Hotel Cipriani
Address: Isola della Giudecca 10, 30133 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Giudecca
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Venice
#21 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#22 Business Hotel in Venice
#24 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#40 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Belmond Hotel Cipriani 5*
Number of rooms: 95
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If Venice is a theatre, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is the Royal Box. It is a resort: a way of life, an island apart, in every sense. And it involves all the senses that make a stay unforgettable. Five minutes by private launch from St. Mark’s Square, on the tip of the Giudecca Island, Belmond Hotel Cipriani is in the heart of the city but removed from its hustle and bustle. Its 95 rooms and suites are exquisitely decorated with magnificent views over the open lagoon, the gardens and St. Marks. A day here is made up of layers of wonderful experiences, from luxuriating beside the Olympic-size swimming pool (the only one in central Venice) to relaxing with a signature treatment at the Casanova Wellness Centre. The Casanova gardens offer an oasis of peace, perfect for a Thai Chi session before heading off with a private boat for a personalised excursion in the lagoon. Choose to dine at the new Oro Restaurant for a timeless dining experience or at the iconic Cip’s Club admiring the view on St. Mark’s. Sip a signature cocktail at the Gabbiano Bar or enjoy a light lunch at the Porticciolo Restaurant. A red-clay tennis court, a gym and dedicated Kids' Club with pool are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Belmond, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Odigeo, TravelUp, Booking.com, Priceline, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Belmond Hotel Cipriani reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cipriani And Palazzo Vendramin Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing