We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An oasis of cool and calm”
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bauer Hotel
Ranked #78 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Christchurch
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An oasis of cool and calm”
Reviewed 10 July 2012

The Bauer is ideally situated, just two minutes walk from San Marco. I suggest taking the 20 minute water taxi from the airport, direct to the hotel's canal entrance, just off the Grand Canal (approx 120 Euro). Rooms are clean and elegant, mine was 3rd floor above the canal entrace - a source of great entertainment! The patio is a great place to enjoy a cocktail early evening. The terrace restaurant over the water is wondeful for breakfast. Most importantly, my room was efficiently air conditioned, ideal for escaping the blistering aftrnoon temperatures. A return trip is planned. Sorry about the pool rating... there is no pool, but guests have access to the sister hotel spa. Pricey, but great.

Room Tip: Splash out for a Grand Canal view if you can.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank poglecraftycarper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Guest,

we thank you for taking time to review our hotel on Tripadvisor with your comments, and we are delighted to read that you really enojoyed your stay in our structure.

We would be very glad to welcome you soon back in the next future!


Sincerely,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,567 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    906
    419
    135
    58
    49
See reviews for
286
874
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 July 2012

Great location to all things Venice, gondola, shipping, St. Marks square. Excellent staff and service. Very decent breakfast, rooms clean and cool.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience following your stay at the Bauer Hotel. We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed your stay and in particular the experience of breakfast and our attentive staff.

We hope to welcome you back soon!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
147 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2012

I have stayed here and loved every second, I have sent friends and family and all agree a fantastic hotel in a fantastic location

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NWL72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your positive review. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed your stay at the Bauer Hotel for the second time.

We look forward to see you in the future!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tehran, Iran
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2012

We stay 4 night in june 2012 and really satisfied case of location & good services , only it ha small in room ineach daily

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mandana1372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you for having chosen Bauer Hotel during your visit in Venice, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay.

We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit in Venice.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Yorkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2012

Felt so lucky that we were able to stay at the Bauer again. From start to finish it was excellent. We arrived early in the morning but the room was ready for us, which meant we were able to start our visit to this wonderful city almost immediately.

Yes the prices at the Bauer are silly which is such a shame in today's financial climate, but everything in Venice is expensive. If you are working to a tight budget then probably Venice is not for you.

The service from all the staff was first class, so we look forward to visiting the Bauer again in the future - why would we want to stay anywhere else?

Room Tip: Go for the best possible room you can afford - it's worth it. Ask for a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SueFirth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Guest,

thank you for having chosen again Bauer Hotel during your visit in Venice, we are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and we are so proud having exceeded all of your expectations on all aspects.

We would be glad to welcome you again at the Bauers!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Honolulu, Hawaii
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2012

We spent 2 days in May in this fantastic Hotel. The staff was very helpful
The breakfast is served on the outside terrace overlooking the La Salute Basilica and the Gran Canal. .On other trips to Venice I'd stayed in more elegant hotels, but the Bauer is my new favorite because I felt I was in the center of the city with an easy walk almost anywhere. .
The food in Venice is wonderful, and there are good restaurants close to the hotel......

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Roger R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Guest,

we thank you for your positive review and for your compliments.
We are very happy you have chosen the Bauer Hotel and we are extremely delighted to read that you had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to see you in the future!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2012

The best thing about this hotel is it's location. Right in the middle of the most exciting part of Venice. You get a real feel of this amazing city just from looking out of the hotel room windows because you are surrounded by the canals and the ubiquitous gondola trade immeadiately to the side and front of the hotel. We stayed in Venice for a short break of 4 nights.
The rooms were luxurios and plush but it is very pricey. We paid extra for a room with a panoramic view, but this turned out to be facing the narrow canal to the side of the hotel and not the grand canal I was expecting. Our room had a balcony but a very narrow one and certainly not large enough to place a chair on. The rooms were also overlooked by the hotel opposite, but this would appear to be the case in Venice with the very narrow streets or roads inbetween the buildings. You cannot really grumble about this, but it would have been nice to be told the limitations of the view from the panoramic window as I may not have bothered paying extra for this had i known befoehand. I didn't like how they charge you 20 euros for half an hour access to internet which is not very reliable at best. I also found the concierge and reception staff a bit cold and official. The beds were as hard as rock and the pillows were also very firm.
The breakfast was ok but have had better in other hotels also 5 star and costing less. However the location for the breakfast on the sunny and shaded terrace at the front of the hotel was extremerly pleasant. All in all a good hotel for location but expensive and a bit snooty.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Naillig1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Bauer Hotel. It gives us great pleasure to read that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay.
Our team take great pride in ensuring each guest experiences a memorable stay, and your feedback is highly appreciated.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bauers!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
928 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,601 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Property: Bauer Hotel
Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Booking.com, Odigeo, Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing