We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Bauer!”
Review of Bauer Palazzo

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Bauer Palazzo
Ranked #76 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 23 February 2014

We had a great stay at the Hotel Bauer in Venice. Our room was lovely, resembling a bed chamber from a 1940 Hollywood film. Warm and comfortable. Our bathroom was glistening clean with marble everywhere. Mechanical shutters descend from the tall windows at the touch of a button. Very private and quiet for a good sleep. The only confusion is that there are two hotels in one. The Bauer Palazzo and the Hotel Bauer. The staff seemed a bit confused when we asked to see the view from the Palazzo terrace. One big, ol' gruff fellow practically admonished us for asking, saying that terrace was for Palazzo guests only. Other staff members quickly sailed to our rescue and we had a delightful photo op from on high. Mille Grazie, Maurizio! Will return to The Bauer!

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank wodentmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback on our hotel. It was a pleasure to read that the facilities and services used during your visit met with your satisfaction. In particular, we are very pleased that you have appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.
We look forward to your continued patronage at BAUER Hotels.

Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,597)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,043 - 1,049 of 2,597 reviews

Reviewed 23 February 2014

We stayed here on the 5th February for 2 nights. The hotel is in a great location, right on the grand canal and close to St Marks square. The staff are very helpful and the concierge spent a good deal of time showing us highlights of Venice on the map.
The rooms that we had (2 couples) were outstanding...large, airy and decorated in that gorgeous Venetian style. Probably the nicest room we had during our 3 week European adventure.
Having said all that, the main areas of the hotel felt soulless , the lobby is large and did not have any ambience. The bar was the only one on our trip that was not warm and welcoming.The breakfast was in a small room on the roof of the hotel, great views of Venice, not so great breakfast, quite ordinary for a 5 star joint.
Worth staying at but does need some improvement.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BecJ43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to review the standards of service after your recent visit. We are delighted to read so many positive comments and are grateful for your annotations which will be kept in high consideration, helping us to improve our standards. Guests’ impressions and feedback are a valuable tool, which is always used to other guests’ advantage.
We look forward to your continued patronage at BAUER Hotels.
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

I had read mixed reviews on the Bauer so I was concerned when Holland America booked a post cruise stay here. We really enjoyed it. Terrific location only a minute walk to St. Mark Square. The restaurant deck is on the grand canal which is very enjoyable during breakfast. The breakfast buffet was very good. Our room had a window that opened over a canal where the gondolas dock. We had a walk-in closet with a mini bar/fridge. The bathroom was beautiful marble but had no curtain over the bathroom window (tape and newspaper solved that problem). Our room shared an atrium with another room which kept our room from opening directly into the hallway. The bed was comfortable and the room size was fine for two people. We tremendously enjoyed our stay and would return to the Bauer if we return to beautiful Venice!!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank all4funsites
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 February 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving such a beautiful review of your stay. I am both grateful and pleased for your remarks and look forward to your return visit.
Please feel free to contact me on occasion of your next trip to Venice so that I may greet you in person.
Kind regards
Giovanni Cellerino
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2014 via mobile

Good hotel. Lots of marble and gold taps. No tea or coffee in rooms and have to pay extra for use of wifi costing £20 for 3 nights. Wi fi is slower than dial up. Better to use the wifi in the various eateries around Venice.
The restaurant and views are good, but as always, lots of licking for the end of stay tips!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jimbohulme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2014

We stayed at The Il Palazzo in Venice in October of 2013. I was somewhat suspicious after spending most of my trips to Venice in other five star hotels. We arrived late at night after missing my original flight. What a wonderful surprise. Our room was crisp, clean and comfortable. The location was spectacular. The staff was extremely helpful. The location of the facility offers privacy and access to San Marco. The two young ladies who host the breakfast are real gems. They go out of their way to make breakfast a wonderful experience. They, along with the views at breakfast overlooking the Grand Canal made the Il Palazzo quite memorable.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank George M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your impression with us. In particular we would like to thank you for your positive remarks, on our location and on our staff.

We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER PALAZZO.

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 January 2014

Very welcoming and efficient team on reception and concierge. So welcoming with our baby, even held baby at breakfast whilst we ate!

fab views from roof terrace and great location for st Mark's square and wondering to the academy

Great tips for restaurants nearby

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vfaircloth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded 31 January 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for leaving such a raving review of your stay.
We are both grateful and pleased for your comments and look forward to serving you and your family again in the future.
Yours very sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

We staid at the Bauer Palazzo over the New Year. It is actually two hôtels in one. The Palazzo on the Canal side and the Bauer on the Camp San Moise. The Palazzo is supposed to be a 18th century building but only the facade is.
The hotel was supposedly refitted in 1999. It does not show. It feels like a 1950s hotel with long dreary corridors and no soul.
During our stay only one bar was open. The gastronomy restaurant is ecellent and we had a gread dinner one the 31st.
All in all not what you would expect from a venetian palace

Room Tip: If you can have a suite on the top floors looking over Piazza san Marco then it will be Worth your c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pmorali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Palazzo, responded to this reviewResponded 24 January 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind feedback which allows us to look at our services and facilities from the guest’s perspective and to review and update our standards where necessary.

Your stay coincided with the low season in Venice and for this reason one of our bars was closed. I am delighted to read, however, that you thoroughly enjoyed your meal at the De Pisis Restaurant on the night of the 31st.

I am very sorry that overall the experience did not meet with your satisfaction and would be most grateful if you would contact me at prusconi@bauervenezia.it to explain with more detail the reasons for your unsatisfaction. Not only would this help us improve the areas which were found lacking but it would also give me the chance to make amends.

Yours very sincerely,

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,590 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#63 of 385 in Venice
1,658 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,290 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Palazzo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Palazzo

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy (Formerly Bauer Hotel)
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#51 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £196 - £547 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Palazzo 5*
Number of rooms: 191
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The five-star luxury BAUER PALAZZO is located in the heart of Venice, where Luxury rooms able to redefine and elevate the conception of the journey as a pleasure. A unique experience of its kind, where you can experiment true Venetian lifestyle. The view on the most enchanting foreshortenings of the city by a privileged location, combined with authentic Italian marbles, precious fabrics and inlaid furniture, give the true expression of Venice. 56 suites and 135 rooms: BAUER PALAZZO will meet the desires of every guest, by guaranteeing them the best comfort as possible and their privacy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Splitty, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bauer Palazzo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing