We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bauer La La”
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Bauer Hotel
Ranked #73 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I walked into the Bauer Grunwald hotel some 25 years ago, just to see....we are just back from an invigorating 4 day stay at the now-titled Bauer Hotel and it has more than lived up to its reputation. It's for the understated, quiet spender. Spill out of your water taxi from the airport into the rather odd European lobby, marble, strange art, a hushed professionalism...and you know you are somewhere unique and special. A good feeling in today's travel world. We had a small suite that overlooked the side canal, which was blissfully quiet, with endless old-world touches that flourish in Venice, with their grip on craftsmen and care. Linens, towels, heavy hangars, fruit candies, duvets, more of anything is not a problem. There seems like a small army of concierges up front to help with any need, small handy maps are proffered for any outing or query. Nothing is too much trouble.
One of the glories of the Bauer is the rather unsung Grand Canal fronting with the endless delights of the restaurant area and a separate patio/umbrella area --all overlooking the most heavenly Venetian real estate. I am not a breakfast buffet girl, but here the breakfast array is exceptional....every morning can be different and a treat. Go American (no thank you), go local with soft, creamy balls of mozzarella, tender proscuitto, toast, even a bite of radicchio?! Go fruit and Swiss yogurt, go toast and bangers...it's all here. Feel those linens on your breakfast table, starched, glorious. Endless pots of delicious coffee are brought to you. The service is smiling, circumspect and friendly. The housekeeping staff are sprites.....in and out all day --without ever being seen, they pick up, neaten, and perfect the room endless times per day. The location is central which can mean crowds outside yes, but the glory is with a 3 to 4 minute walk you are away from the crowds and in to the real exploring of Venice.

Room Tip: This is the Bauer Hotel, not the Bauer Palazzo next door, same owners. We loved our 349 room, small...
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BoysieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us and thank you for choosing to stay with us again.
I am delighted to read that you appreciated our special character as an independent hotel. We try to promote the authentic character of our city in everything we do and are so pleased that you valued our efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon in your Venetian home!
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,552)
There are newer reviews for Bauer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

977 - 983 of 2,552 reviews

Reviewed 27 May 2014

I have stayed with Bauer Il Palazzo last year during Biennale. This year I returned for a short weekend break and redeemed my free night with Leading Hotels of the World. Check-in was smooth, very warm welcome by receptionist and residence manager, addressed by name and everything was taken care of very professionally.

Location just can't be beat: Directly facing Canal Grande, opposite of Punta della Dogana, St. Mark's Square is just 3 minutes by foot. We arrived very early by private boat and the room wasn't ready yet, so we went to have breakfast at Settimo Cielo on the rooftop which is one of the highlights - panorama-wise and service-wise. Lucia and the whole breakfast team are just amazing.

Since we were not paying anything for our stay, I wasn't expecting anything in terms of a nice view or being upgraded etc. When we returned from breakfast, to my surprise we were offered a beautiful deluxe room with a terrace directly facing the Canal Grande, with a nice marble bathroom, walk in closet, complimentary bottle of water, signature handkerchief of the hotel as a souvenir and a view to die for overlooking the Canal Grande and the whole lagoon. We really felt VIP!

Again, I would like to point out that we received this VIP treatment although we were on a free night. I believe that there are not many hotels in the world that would give you such a treatment, if you're not actually paying for your stay... This illustrates how professional the Bauer Palazzo staff works... I will definitely return for my next stay in Venice. Thank you again for the nice weekend!

Room Tip: Go for the rooms with a view!!!
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank xiaocai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest

Thank you for reviewing our property and for your words of praise which I will share with the members of my Team.

I am very pleased to read that our staff made your feel at home again and I look forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back!

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We booked 4 rooms for a Family get together and had an unforgettable experience. Three of the rooms were on the 3rd floor and one on the 6th floor. My mother, on the 3rd floor, had the room closest to the front of the hotel with a wonderful view of the Grand Canal. The other 2 rooms on the 3rd floor were situated further back and overlooked a small side canal and the building next door. All three rooms were not very spacious but adequate. The room on the 6th floor was much bigger and had a great view of the Campanile in St. Mark's Square and Venetian rooftops. Breakfast is on the 7th floor with a fantastic view and the possibility of sitting outside on the terrace to fully appreciate the marvels of the surrounding area. The reason I am not giving the hotel an excellent rating is because of the bed. I know that in Italy it is common for hotels to put two mattresses together to make a double bed, but this is a luxury hotel. Maybe I have been spoiled by the Marriott beds but a luxury hotel should cater for location, services and comfort. A good night's sleep in a comfortable bed is all part of the experience one expects in a luxury hotel. Said this, I still recommend a stay at the Bauer Il Palazzo, hoping they will invest in good mattresses before my next visit.

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxDXB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comprehensive review. I am pleased that you and your family enjoyed your stay with us as this is always the priority for the entire Team.

Regarding the beds, our new mattresses have a padded zipper in the center (which means you can’t feel a thing!) but we also have regular king-size mattresses or mattress toppers (I personally love those!).
Should you come back to Venice and to the Bauers, please let me know what you would like and it will be my pleasure to accommodate your request.

Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 May 2014

Bauer Il Palazzo has luxurious rooms and a quite wonderful breakfast terrace but there are one or two aspects which detract from a magnificent experience. First the high points. We had four nights in a de luxe room with a balcony looking out on the Grand Canal and the room was marvellous and beautifully furnished. The literal high point is the terrace on the 7th floor which seems to be the highest such terrace in Venice and has quite wonderful panoramic views encompassing the Campanile, the Grand Canal and especially Santa Maria della Salute. The concierge and other staff were all extremely helpful. Another special feature is the shuttle over to the sister hotel Bauer Palladio on the Giudecca which has delightful gardens and where we plan to stay on a future visit.

What are the detracting aspects? The wonderful terrace of the Bauer Il Palazzo has comfortable and relaxing seating but for some inexplicable reason is only open between 7am and 11am whereas it would be a delightful place to sit and relax later in the day. The hotel itself is part of the bigger Bauer complex in San Marco and does not itself have a bar or ground floor restaurant exclusive to Il Palazzo. The restaurant De Pisis was of very high quality and the tasting menu can be strongly recommended.

Altogether a very special hotel in one of the very best locations in Venice which means one of the best locations in the world.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank itinerant2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest
We appreciate your comments regarding your stay at Bauer Il Palazzo. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback but also to receive constructive comments which can help us improve our service.
We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs.
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here from 13th May to 20th May 2014. It was a special holiday as it was my husband's 75th birthday & our 50th wedding anniversary. We were greeted by smiling staff, our luggage was taken to our room & a bottle of Prosecco greeted us in an ice bucket! There was another bottle left on my husband's birthday. The room a deluxe double was huge & so comfortable. The bed was king size & the room contained a chest of drawers, writing table, arm chair & 2 ordinary chairs, also a big cabinet containing TV, a fridge & nibbles.The bathroom was also big & we found dressing gowns & slippers wrapped in cellophane & bathroom goodies.The bedroom was soundproof & had a hallway which also kept it very quiet.The sheets & towels were changed every day & were spotless & of high quality.
The breakfast was superb everything you could want from cold meats to scrambled eggs & pancetta & the view from the terrace was great. The staff were wonderful, always helpful & genuinely interested in your questions & nothing was too much trouble no matter what the time of day. We are ordinary people & would love to stay there again, it was a little more than we normally pay for a hotel but worth every penny. It is a beautifully decorated hotel with charm & refinement. We highly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: If you have a special event happening during your visit mention it when booking.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank penelope057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
It is a pleasure to note you were satisfied with your stay and that you enjoyed the courtesy of our Staff, the quality of breakfast, the interiors of your room.
In particular, we are very pleased that you have appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.
We look forward to your continued patronage at BAUER Hotels.
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed there from April 17-20, 2014. It was our 25th wedding anniversary trip. Our room was beautiful! It had a king sized bed with a separate sitting area. The bath had a separate shower & tub. The room had four balconies. two overlooking the canal on the side of the hotel and two overlooking San Moise Church & square. There was a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room waiting for us when we arrived. The hotel is located in the heart of Venice, two minutes walking distance from St. Mark's Square and shopping and cultural areas. The hotel staff was very nice and professional. We were allowed to check in early which was nice since we had a tour to go on. The concierge was always very helpful in giving directions and helping with any questions we had along with calling for taxi service for us. Breakfast was great each morning. Our experience at the Bauer could not have been better. We will definitely stay there again and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is worth the extra money. We stayed in the corner suite on the 2nd floor. It w...
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank BarneyP-ShellyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reviewing our property so attentively. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience.
. Sincerely,

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My partner and I have jsut returned from a thoroughly enjoyable 4 nights B&B in this hotel. OK, we were located in the Casa Nova annexe immediately adjacent, which although has no views, it does have the advantage of peace and quiet. Our suite was large, consisting of bedroom, sitting room and bathroom all tastefully decorated and well appointed. We found it a little strange to open a cupboard to find a small sink, a 2 ring hob, a combination microwave and grill and a coffee maker, but with no utensils or coffee/tea/milk sachets; not that it mattered to us as we had no intentions of using these particular facilities and breakfast on the terrace was most definitely not to be missed. This and the service were the highlight of the stay. The choice of breakfast dishes and the spectacular location looking out onto the ever changing mayhem of the Grand Canal could have kept us there for half the day, but, of course there was the the whole of Venice to enjoy .... and enjoy we did!

I cannot fault the service and courtesy that we received from the minute we arrived through to our departure. Nothing was too much trouble and always delivered with a genuine smile. Also, thanks are due to the invisible staff that serviced our suite morning and evening.

All-in-all a most enjoyable stay in a hotel that delivered exactly what we wanted.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us have your impressions of your visit. In particular, we thank you for your positive remarks and for sharing them.
We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs.
Yours sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#58 of 384 in Venice
1,621 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 384 in Venice
1,566 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 384 in Venice
1,264 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#68 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £229 - £1,555 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Ctrip TA, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Southall Travel, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing