We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect location, traditional independent luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Bauer Hotel
Ranked #74 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
93 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
“Perfect location, traditional independent luxury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

The perfect Venice hotel, beautifully situated. A renovated Art Deco gem, with lots of original Art Deco pieces of furniture etc.... All this is so refreshing after the corporate faceless ness of the chains. Staff go out of their way to be helpful, and always with a smile. The rooms are comfortable, and stylish, and our huge bathroom was a marble clad delight. Our view was over the charming rooftops to Piazza San Marco, and the grand Canal. Breakfasts were excellent, and to be able to sit there on the terrace looking over the canal, listening to the gondoliers singing publicly and chatting privately was glorious. Vaporettis stop here, and also water taxis can be booked. The hotel also runs a shuttle boat over to the nearby island, where you can visit the lovely gardens and luxurious Spa of their sister hotel? You are at the heart of La Serenissima here with everything in walking distance, and we would have no hesitation in recommending this gem un- reservedly.
Ps- as is usual in Europe there is no kettle or tea/ coffee making arrangement in the room. I was encouraged to just call room service for a flask of hot water for my herb tea. This arrived quickly every time, entirely without charge.

Room Tip: The internal rooms looking onto a well, are not so nice. We upgraded to a canal view, very well wort...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jojojoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for writing such a raving review of your stay. We are particularly delighted that you value our tradition.
Owned and managed by the same family since three generations, The Bauer is a landmark property in Venice. Here history and present combine, creating a unique and authentic experience for guests. This contributes to a highly evocative and enticing experience, allowing guests to feel par to the city’s fascinating history and thriving present.
We look forward to your continued patronage in the years to come.
Yours faithfully,
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,512 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    874
    407
    129
    56
    46
See reviews for
269
850
30
71
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
38 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

Excellent location but you pay through the nose for it in the higher seasons or get shunted to the poorer rooms. Staff are a bit arrogant but that seems to be normal for Venice. Plumbing issues in some rooms with a gurgling noise whilst the taps run.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay as your wellbeing was a top priority for me and my Team.

Furthermore, the issues you described are not representative of the excellence of service we are accustomed to provide.

We would be honored if you would give us a second chance. Should this be the case, please do not hesitate to contact me directly and it will be my special pleasure to look after you personally.

Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

Stayed here 24-28/5/14. Excellent location, wonderful staff and service - simply nothing too much to ask for. We had 2x inter-joining rooms that were both very well furnished with modern bathrooms and very good air-conditioning. Bar fridges were well stocked. Room service was almost instant service. The hotel's main restaurant, De Pisis, is excellent in all respects. We will return.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Manhatten56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for giving us such a marvelous review! It makes us very happy when our guests are happy. Their smile is our best reward!

Looking forward to your return visit to the BAUERs

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

We stayed here originally because of the location. We will always stay here now though. The staff were incredibly professional! Some reviews say "stuffy" and "arrogant", but they obviously do not know first class professionals when they meet them! They were extremely helpful! The location was perfect and right on the canals. The rooms were clean, classy and comfortable! The restaurant was fabulous (a bit pricey, but wonderful). I can't say enough great things. This was definitely one of the nicest hotels I have ever stayed in! It was a royal experience.

Room Tip: Try to request a room in the main Bauer Hotel. Both locations are nice but this is more convenient.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words of praise. Our personal mession is to welcome our guests warmly and to make them feel at home. We are particularly happy when our efforts are recognized and rewarded by our guests’ words – such as in this case – or by their smiles.

Thank you!

We hope to have you and your family back again in the very near future

Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
98 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 May 2014

I walked into the Bauer Grunwald hotel some 25 years ago, just to see....we are just back from an invigorating 4 day stay at the now-titled Bauer Hotel and it has more than lived up to its reputation. It's for the understated, quiet spender. Spill out of your water taxi from the airport into the rather odd European lobby, marble, strange art, a hushed professionalism...and you know you are somewhere unique and special. A good feeling in today's travel world. We had a small suite that overlooked the side canal, which was blissfully quiet, with endless old-world touches that flourish in Venice, with their grip on craftsmen and care. Linens, towels, heavy hangars, fruit candies, duvets, more of anything is not a problem. There seems like a small army of concierges up front to help with any need, small handy maps are proffered for any outing or query. Nothing is too much trouble.
One of the glories of the Bauer is the rather unsung Grand Canal fronting with the endless delights of the restaurant area and a separate patio/umbrella area --all overlooking the most heavenly Venetian real estate. I am not a breakfast buffet girl, but here the breakfast array is exceptional....every morning can be different and a treat. Go American (no thank you), go local with soft, creamy balls of mozzarella, tender proscuitto, toast, even a bite of radicchio?! Go fruit and Swiss yogurt, go toast and bangers...it's all here. Feel those linens on your breakfast table, starched, glorious. Endless pots of delicious coffee are brought to you. The service is smiling, circumspect and friendly. The housekeeping staff are sprites.....in and out all day --without ever being seen, they pick up, neaten, and perfect the room endless times per day. The location is central which can mean crowds outside yes, but the glory is with a 3 to 4 minute walk you are away from the crowds and in to the real exploring of Venice.

Room Tip: This is the Bauer Hotel, not the Bauer Palazzo next door, same owners. We loved our 349 room, small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BoysieW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your impressions with us and thank you for choosing to stay with us again.
I am delighted to read that you appreciated our special character as an independent hotel. We try to promote the authentic character of our city in everything we do and are so pleased that you valued our efforts.
We look forward to welcoming you again soon in your Venetian home!
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here from 13th May to 20th May 2014. It was a special holiday as it was my husband's 75th birthday & our 50th wedding anniversary. We were greeted by smiling staff, our luggage was taken to our room & a bottle of Prosecco greeted us in an ice bucket! There was another bottle left on my husband's birthday. The room a deluxe double was huge & so comfortable. The bed was king size & the room contained a chest of drawers, writing table, arm chair & 2 ordinary chairs, also a big cabinet containing TV, a fridge & nibbles.The bathroom was also big & we found dressing gowns & slippers wrapped in cellophane & bathroom goodies.The bedroom was soundproof & had a hallway which also kept it very quiet.The sheets & towels were changed every day & were spotless & of high quality.
The breakfast was superb everything you could want from cold meats to scrambled eggs & pancetta & the view from the terrace was great. The staff were wonderful, always helpful & genuinely interested in your questions & nothing was too much trouble no matter what the time of day. We are ordinary people & would love to stay there again, it was a little more than we normally pay for a hotel but worth every penny. It is a beautifully decorated hotel with charm & refinement. We highly recommend it to everyone.

Room Tip: If you have a special event happening during your visit mention it when booking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank penelope057
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We thank you for taking the time to review our Hotel.
It is a pleasure to note you were satisfied with your stay and that you enjoyed the courtesy of our Staff, the quality of breakfast, the interiors of your room.
In particular, we are very pleased that you have appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.
We look forward to your continued patronage at BAUER Hotels.
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

We stayed there from April 17-20, 2014. It was our 25th wedding anniversary trip. Our room was beautiful! It had a king sized bed with a separate sitting area. The bath had a separate shower & tub. The room had four balconies. two overlooking the canal on the side of the hotel and two overlooking San Moise Church & square. There was a complimentary bottle of champagne in our room waiting for us when we arrived. The hotel is located in the heart of Venice, two minutes walking distance from St. Mark's Square and shopping and cultural areas. The hotel staff was very nice and professional. We were allowed to check in early which was nice since we had a tour to go on. The concierge was always very helpful in giving directions and helping with any questions we had along with calling for taxi service for us. Breakfast was great each morning. Our experience at the Bauer could not have been better. We will definitely stay there again and we highly recommend it.

Room Tip: A room with a balcony is worth the extra money. We stayed in the corner suite on the 2nd floor. It w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BarneyP-ShellyP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your reviewing our property so attentively. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and will be sure to let our staff know how much of an impact they made on your experience.
. Sincerely,

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#47 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,522 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#49 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Property: Bauer Hotel
Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Southall Travel, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing