We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic location. Amazing staff and Concierge!”
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bauer Hotel
Ranked #75 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Laguna Niguel, California
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Fantastic location. Amazing staff and Concierge!”
Reviewed 23 June 2014

As has been said many times before, the location is perfect. The hotel has its own water taxi stop and gondola station. It is in the heart of the best shopping in Venice, and very close to St. Marks. Square. The rooms are spacious and well appointed. The hotels public spaces right on the Grand Canal are elegant and afford amazing views. But what really set this property apart from the others was the Concierge staff. In particular, Carlo. He is a local, and very proud of his city, and the depth and breadth of his knowledge is quite impressive. He effortlessly arranged for many excursions, meals, and more for our group of 9. His personal service was unmatched in our travels. Management is very lucky to have him, and he made our time in Venice exceptional. Leave your travel books at home, and leave it all to Carlo to find the best of Venice!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jeff P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your raving review of our property.

I will be sure to pass on your compliments to the members of our Teamm who I am sure will be very pleased.

We all await the pleasure of your return visit to the Bauer!

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    881
    410
    131
    57
    46
See reviews for
270
855
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (213)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
91 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 June 2014

Elegant lobby with interesting art. Sit in the cafe at breakfast and watch the gondolas and boats go by. Walk to a cafe for wine and listen to music in the evening (for a charge). Great location. Water taxi took up directly from the airport to the hotel. Fun.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank schba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
20 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Great location. Water taxi took us directly to the hotel from the airport. Service was excellent and the rooms were lovely and relatively large. Nice area for walking. Drinks or breakfast outdoors watching the gondolas go past. Lovely and very relaxing.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bschmidt2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond Hill, Canada
Level Contributor
36 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Our 35 th wedding anniversary was celebrated at this beautiful hotel, thanks to very special friends! Would we have spent that amount of money? A beautiful hotel very close to the main sites and attractions. Staff very attentive, from helping us out of our taxi, with luggage, directing us to the front desk etc. The rooms were lovely renaissance style rooms,no windows however, with spacious bathrooms , but unusual showers? A wonderful ambience and comfortable beds.
We decided to have dinner at the hotel with menus with no price for the women and the price listed on the men's menus. In this day and age is this necessary?
We opted for the special fish plate for 4 which they apologized, due to the darkness could not be as well deboned as they would have liked? A nice dinner ,with a few bones, no big deal but certainly not worth the price. We choose to walk and have ice cream in Sn Marcos.
Breakfast selection was extensive and had something for everyone.
Will we go back to Venice? YES will we stay at this hotel - most likely not. A very special night but not worth the cost. We have had many special out standing meals and hotel visits at a fraction of this cost.

Room Tip: Some rooms have no view or window. Do not have dinner at the hotel as although the service is good t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Artrepeneur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guests,

Thank you for complementing our hotel and service. We are sorry, however, that your dinner was not at the expected level.
This said, we hope you will reconsider your idea of not staying with us in the future, in order to show you that we can really do better.
Yours faithfully
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Winter Park, Florida
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

An excellent hotel. Perfect location on the canal half block from San Marco. Relatively modern for Venice. Courteous and helpful staff. We book a room in Casanova, the main hotel annex across the side street. Newly renovated spacious room. Two large windows and a lot of light. Large marble bathroom with a tub, a separate shower, and a bidet. Luggage were brought to the room. We have full access to the main hotel. Significantly exceeded our expectations. Breakfast on the terrace on the Grand Canal is a memorable experience.

Room Tip: Book in the annex Casanova.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MGM815
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us have your impressions of your visit. In particular, we thank you for your positive remarks and for sharing them.
We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs.
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014

My father always said take the worse room in the best hotel, well in the case it was a big mistake.Lets start from my arrival in a five star hotel you expect a door man or at least someone to welcome you not at this establishment.
The foyer was large and impressive but completely soulless just full of large groups of American tourists waiting for their guide .Behind the reception were 8 people but only two could check you in.I asked for an early check in but even at 2pm one was not available,I was told to wait on the terrace and someone would come and get me this never happened but I did get my room just before 3pm when I returned to the reception.Yes 1 had booked on line the cheapest room but boy what a mistake.I was shown into a small box room with no natural light it faced into not a courtyard but a hole surrounded by a tower of other dark rooms.I had to have the light on the whole stay and I felt as though I was in a black hole never knowing if it was night or day.The room was very clean and the bathroom small but well fitted. I only asked for room service once but I am still waiting for the bucket of ice to be delivered!
Breakfast was good and the service was excellent.Sitting on the terrace was fantastic but the plastic chairs and perspex sofas were not very comfortable.Drinks were very expensive but the view made up for that.
I have stayed in many 5 star Hotels and this had no where near the facilities or service offered by other establishments even in Venice.One was not even given any water by the bed at night and to get one from the bar was 8 euros!
Would I stay here again no, not even in a more expensive room.The lack of personal service the lack of facilities and the indifference of the staff would not have improved the experience.

Room Tip: pay for a room with a view or with at least some natural light !
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mam6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Manager at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest,
First of all thank you for complimenting us on the cleanliness of room and bathroom, as well as our breakfast, and bar views.
This said, I regret that the other services were not up to standards. We usually pride ourselves in providing personalized and amicable service. I am sorry that, on occasion of your stay, this did not happen.
I will be sure to pass on your comments to all our department heads for better supervision in their area.
We would like to make it up to you on occasion of a future visit. Should the occasion arise, please do not hesitate to contact me personally to assure closest attention to your requirements.
Yours sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
31 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

An elegant first-class experience in a fairytale land. The staff, accommodations, attention to detail were all superb. Concierge staff is knowledgeable and helpful. Harry's Bar is around the corner, along with the rest of Venice. Perfectly located.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank GEG378
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
Dear Guest
We appreciate your comments which demonstrate satisfaction for your recent stay at the BAUER.
It is a great pleasure to read that you appreciated our effort to make your stay one to remember.
We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs.

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 874 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#48 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#53 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Property: Bauer Hotel
Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#51 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Jet2Holidays , TravelUp, Southall Travel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing