We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Expensive, but you get what you pay for.”
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bauer Hotel
Ranked #77 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Houston, Texas
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Expensive, but you get what you pay for.”
Reviewed 18 July 2014

Excellent hotel. Full service breakfast included. Nice patio out back along the Grand Canal and a smaller side canal that the gondola's come down. Every once in a while there would be a signing gondola passing by, which added to the atmosphere. Drinks are at a price (10 euros for a glass of wine). It's a few minutes walk to St Mark's Square, but far enough away that the bells do not bother you. Our rooms were on a side street, and the morning the trash is collected, it's noisy. Ask for a quite room. I booked thru Hotel.com and the price changed several times when logging on. The concierge recommend several restaurants, one of which was full of tourists, which we specifically said we did not want, but the other was great.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JenJen024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 4 August 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit at the Bauer Hotel. We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay in Venice and look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Venice.
Sincerely,

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,571 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    909
    420
    135
    58
    49
See reviews for
288
876
32
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (216)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Dongguan, China
Level 6 Contributor
681 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I used to stay at Bauer, since it was Bauer Grûnwald. It has always been a special experience.
Nice style, kind staff and the best location in Venice.
The breakfast in the roof is (was) the best beginning of a busy day.
I invited some chinese customers and everybody got amazed.
Really special

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Ivan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sao Paulo
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

The Bauer is a member of the Leading Hotels of the World Association. It is an excellent hotel, in service and location. Notwithstanding it's amenities need some maintenance and modernization. Its bathrooms are well bedecked with beautiful Travertine marble but use fixtures that need to be changed/ up-dated. It also needs to improve its Wi-Fi. Otherwise, it remains a symbol of Venice, adjacent to San Marco's square and the upmarket shopping district as well as icons such as Harry's Bar.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Buenoaventura
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 23 July 2014
Dear Guest

We would like to thank you for taking the time to review the standards of service and hotel facilities after your recent visit. All guest feedback is valuable to us and your points have been taken into serious consideration as they allow us to improve customer satisfaction.

This said, we are pleased you enjoyed our location and speak highly about our service. Please rest assured that we are updating our facilities constantly in the effort to maintain the very high standards we are known for.

We hope to look forward to your continue d patronage to BAUER hotels and remain yours very sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 July 2014

We arrived by Water Taxi from the airport with a great ride through the canals. Complimentary water taxi to Murano is available if you request from the concierge. The breakfast is great but the view of the canal is incredible. The hotel is right next to St. Marks square and is a short 2 minute walk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dodson3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 14 July 2014
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for taking the time to let us have your impressions of your visit. In particular, we thank you for your positive remarks and for sharing them.
We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs.
Yours sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaca, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
69 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 July 2014

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights pre-cruise on recommendation from Princess Cruises. It was a truly lovely hotel and difficult to fault. The location, on the Grand Canal was great and only a short walk from St Mark's Square.

Gondoliers did trips from immediately outside the hotel and the concierge was happy to negotiate prices. He was also most helpful in identifying locations of a card shop and a supermarket and the shortest route to the Rialto Bridge

A super breakfast buffet was included in the price of our room. However, we did feel that 18 Euros for 2 coffees on the terrace was extortionate!.

Room Tip: rooms in the middle of the hotel only have a view of the courtyard
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Babs M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 7 July 2014
Thank you for your review on your recent stay. We are very happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel, its location on the Grand Canal and a block from St. mark’s Square, our breakfast and Concierge service.
I will share your applause with my Staff and await the pleasure of your return visit.
Yours sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rumson, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014

My family (husband, daughter and son) just returned from Italy, having spent 3 nights of our trip at this hotel. The views from the restaurant where breakfast is served each morning are breathtaking. By far, the most amazing asset this hotel has, aside from its location and views, is Carlo, a member of the concierge staff. He is gracious, warm and listens to your thoughts. Venice was the last stop on our 11 day trip and where I had not pre-planned anything. We explained what we were interested in doing, and Carlo prepared everything for us. (We visited a Murano glass factory that was not loaded with tourists.) He suggested good restaurants, a nice gelateria, and just had this genuine, caring attitude that exuded a sense that he was attuned to ensuring you thoroughly enjoyed your visit.

The terrace bar is a wonderful respite from all the tourists that seem to flood this city. We spent a few hours one afternoon just sitting and watching all the traffic on the Grand Canal, particularly the gondoliers.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank actcmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Dear Guest, Thank you for your kind comments. I am so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us! I will be sure to let Carlo know how much of an impact he made on your experience.
We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELs in the years to come
Yours sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

we stayed at Bauer for a few days and loved it. the beds/rooms were real comfortable, Views to the grand canal, and staff were very courteous. The lunch and breakfast was generous, and the ambiance at the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal was spectacular. Its minutes from St. Marks Piazza/so a perfect location. for those looking for a few drinks late in the evening its one of the few places still open. Really enjoyed the stay and will do it again. Very convenient for water Taxi use..
One has to pay for use of Gym which is the only concern I had for a top hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank traveller1439
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 3 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review following your recent visit. We are pleased to hear you had a wonderful stay and enjoyed our guest rooms, the views and outdoor dining at our Grand Canal restaurant. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit to Venice!
Yours very sincerely
Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
931 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,601 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,546 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Property: Bauer Hotel
Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#53 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , Southall Travel, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing