We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location Location”
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bauer Hotel
Ranked #79 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 August 2014

Literally Hundreds of meters from St. Marco. If you don't want to take a water taxi, the boat station is also literally meters away. The hotel is 5 stars and needles to say , it was 5 stars. The rooms are small, but this is Venice. The breakfast on the terrace right on the water front was great. Good menu choices. One little irritation, one pays a bundle for the room, yet the wifi is chargeable.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LONGYB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests,

thank you for taking the time to express your useful comments which will help us improve our standards and better satisfy our guests. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay at the Bauer Hotel.

We hope to have you with us again soon.

Kind regards


Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,594)
There are newer reviews for Bauer Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

523 - 529 of 1,594 reviews

Reviewed 5 August 2014

This hotel is well situated near Piazza San Marco. Rooms (we had two) are reasonably large for a European hotel. The beds were comfortable, the bathrooms were great, and the staff was friendly & helpful. We stayed here for several nights as a prelude to a cruise with Celebrity (the cruise line recommended the hotel). Continental breakfast was served on a deck on the water. The views were amazing... and the food wasn't bad. I'd stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JerseyShoreTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests,

We are very thankful for the time you have dedicated to reviewing our hotel. We are delighted you enjoyed the location, the room, our services and you praised the courtesy of our staff.

We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER Hotels.

Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

I think most reviewers mention the breakfast - it is a spectacular setting, that is for sure. We hired a private boat to go back to the airport, and that was a wonderful experience to walk out of the hotel onto a boat. These were the highlights of our stay. The room did not live up to the price tag.

There are a few things to take into account. Apparently the refurbished rooms in the hotel are amazing. Ours was a bit underwhelming for the price. A bit shabby. There are two parts to the hotel, the old traditional Venetian part which I believe has recently been restored, and the modern 1940s part which is where we stayed. We were sold the room with the bonus that it had a terrace, which sounded good. I suppose if I had been less tired after a long journey I would have gone back and requested another room in the old part of the hotel.

I have stayed in a few hotels in Venice and there are many others that can give you a better feel for Venetian living than the part of the Bauer Hotel we stayed in.

The service was excellent, as you would expect, and the location fabulous. Would I go back? No there are many other excellent hotels to discover in the city.

Room Tip: Choose the old part of the hotel, and ask for a canal view.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank JBoyLeith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review of our property. We are sorry to read that we did not live up to your expectations on the room. You stayed at the Bauer L' Hotel which offers luxurious and spacious guest rooms and suites , all with a nostalgic charm and beautiful early 40-50th century furnishings blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation. If you prefer a typical Venetian Style we suggest for your next stay Bauer il Palazzo an authentic Venetian-style gem overlooking Venice’s Grand Canal with its stunning gothic façade, its sumptuous lobby and unique rooms.

We look forward to your continued patronage of BAUER HOTELS in years to come.

Yours very sincerely,

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stayed at the Bauer for 2 nights following a Med. cruise. Arriving from the ship by water taxi was a real novelty, and the luggage followed from the ship soon afterwards. The room was well appointed, spacious and quiet. Breakfast is a real treat here, as other reviewers have mentioned, as you can watch the busyness of the river whilst enjoying a leisurely meal. St Mark's Square is only minutes away as well as an abundance of restaurants. Also the vaporetti station is just 2 minutes away. So a great location to base yourself and to see Venice from.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank PeterRSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for taking the time to share your comments on your stay at the Bauer Hotel.

We are pleased to read that you enjoyed breakfast and your room and that you had a wonderful stay.

We look forward to your continued patronage of Bauer Hotels.

Yours sincerely

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for our one year wedding anniversary in May 2013.
We arrived here in the late evening after catching a flight from Rome. We booked a private water taxi, which didn't drop us directly outside the water entrance (we don't know why the taxi did this) as a result we had to walk around with our luggage bags up and down the cobbly alleys. When we eventually made it to the hotel (looking very tired) we felt some animosity from the Reception Staff. We had the impression she felt we were at the wrong hotel! As a result we did not feel comfortable during our stay and would not stay here again.
The rooms are also very small as are the bathrooms.

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shab A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 August 2014

Dear Guests,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your visit at the Bauer Hotel.

We are sorry to read you didn’t feel comfortable during your stay. Our hotel is located in the heart of Venice, just five minutes from St Mark’s Square. The main entrance is on Campo San Moisé with its wonderful baroque church. It is a landmark building, dating back to the Italian rationalist period. The Grand Canal Bar and the restaurant “De Pisis” offer spectacular views on the Grand Canal, San Giorgio Maggiore, Punta della Dogana and the Chiesa della Salute. Our hotel strives to offer all guests warm hospitality and excellent service in a luxurious atmosphere. Our rooms retain the charm of the art-deco era with beautiful furnishings and all necessary comforts.

If you would like to further discuss your concerns, please feel free to contact me at prusconi@bauervenezia.com.

Warmest regards

Pietro Rusconi
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 August 2014

It is hard to beat the location of the Bauer Hotel in Venice. It is a short walk to St. Mark's Square and right off the Grand Canal. You can have a wonderful breakfast while watching boats and gondolas sail by. In the lobby, you can look out of the panoramic windows and watch the gondoliers load and unload passengers, which was endlessly entertaining for our children. The hotel rooms were comfortable, well-appointed and convenient. The concierge staff was very helpful and friendly. We would definitely return to the Bauer--in fact, I wouldn't stay anywhere else in Venice.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank MaddySU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Besides being a wonderful hotel, attentive staff, fabulous outside bar/lounge area, great location, this is where you want to have your breakfast. The restaurant is right on the water. WHAT A VIEW. Dinner is served in the same restaurant but we felt it was a more limited menu. We had some very picky eaters in our party so we looked for a more basic menu.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FloridaChris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Direttore at Bauer Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 14 January 2017

Dear Guest,
thank you for your extensive feedback on your stay at Bauer Palazzo
We highly appreciated your comments and the entire Team is delighted to know that the experience was up to your expectation.
We really look forward to welcome you back, please do not hesitate to contact us for any futher information.

Best Regards

Stefano Noviello
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
953 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 385 in Venice
1,618 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#54 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £228 - £1,533 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Ctrip TA, Southall Travel, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing