We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Atmosphere in abundance” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Bauer Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bauer Hotel
Ranked #73 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Atmosphere in abundance”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

I stayed at what was then called the Bauer Grunewald with my parents many years ago and decided to stay again to see how much it had changed. Found a good deal with Expedia and can whole-heartedly recommend the hotel under its new ownership and management. Had one of the older rooms but well-maintained and elegant in a classic '50s Venetian style. The public rooms with Venetian glass and wood are unchanged and have an enduring glamour. Restaurant terrace on the ground floor is a magical place for breakfast with possibly the best view in Venice (so much better than the Danieli) giving a real sense of the morning bustle on the Grand Canal. Very busy and sometimes chaotic trying to get a table, but you can also use the top-floor terrace restaurant which as amazing views (the highest public terrace in the city). Birds flitting around the pergola whilst you look out towards San Giorgio M.
Would recommend to anyone wanting to find a little quiet in a hectic city.

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CorinthianLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review The Bauer Hotel.
We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay and are particularly glad that you experienced a warm welcome back to Venice.

We hope to welcoming you again to The Bauers in the near future!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,488 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    862
    400
    126
    55
    45
See reviews for
265
836
30
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (210)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bettyhill, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2010

The Bauer hotel gets a bit of an unfair review in most travel books - often referred to as a modern monstrosity; however, that's more than a bit unfair. Yes, it's modern but it doesn't encroach on its space and is fairly unpretentious from the outside. Its location is second to none - overlooking the Grande Canal and a small side canal, and just 5 mins walk from the Piazzo San Marco. Drinks/breakfast/dinner can be enjoyed on the terrace with the most spectacular view. Yes, like most hotels of this rating - its expensive to stay, eat and drink but for a special occasion then absolutely worth it, although we didn't eat dinner there, so I can't vouch for that. Make sure you opt for bed and breakfast as the breakfast is superb and costs Euro50 plus per person if you pay separately.

We spent a long weekend here to celebrate our first wedding anniversary - we were given a complimentary bottle of bubbly and a room upgrade (room with a great view over the Piazzo San Marco and the Grande Canal). The staff were generally very polite, although the concierge service wasn't particularly helpful. We didn't accept the hotel transportation from the airport to their private jetty, as this would have cost an extra Euro180 by water taxi - we opted for the water bus, much cheaper (circa Euro27 total), dropping us off in St Mark's, just a 5 minute walk from the hotel.

We knew Vevnice was going to be expensive - but as it was a special occasion and on my list of places to see before I die, it was worth every penny (or hundreds of Euros)!

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivvy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 12 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your kind words. We are delighted to read that The Bauer Hotel provided a wonderful setting for a special wedding anniversary celebration.
It gives us great pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of our hotel. We are immensely proud of our heritage and take great care and attention to offer our guests the highest level of service.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Bauers during your next visit to Venice.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 October 2010

We stayed a couple of nights at the Bauer - it's definitely time for a re-fresh of the rooms, lobby and exterior. First impressions being what they are, the carpet on the floor of the revolving door is worn, noticed a torn and flapping awning when next door at the Feragamo store and the room was clean but dated - water leaked from the shower. Excellent concierge with Marco, great restaurant recommendations and very helpful with guidance. Very clean rooms and great water pressure! Excellent location for everything Venice has to offer.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DCJay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for having chosen the Bauer Hotel, and we are happy to read that you enjoyed your stay here and that we having been able to meet your expectations.

We would be glad to welcome you soon back again at the Bauers!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 October 2010

The Bauer is somewhat unique in Venice for having a modern front. Reportedly renovated in the late 1990s, I love the modern light fittings, and the water pressure. But the shower unit in 240 needs to be replaced: i) water tends to stand in the shower base and ii) it just looked unappealing with the buildup of calcification on the showerhead and its grey colouring. We decided not to use it and opted for the hand-held shower that came with the jacuzzi bath-tub.

The room size of 240 was tremendous, and the view from its various balconies was wonderful. We landed up having room service during two nights of our stay which was excellent, as was the buffet breakfast each morning. Our breakfast was included with the room otherwise it would have been €50 per person, which is pretty steep even if champagne is on offer. What I did not like was the restriction of Room Service or any kind of dining being available only from 7 pm on.

Housekeeping in the evenings would enter even when there were people in the room which is just plain odd.

There is no place quite like Venice and the city appears to know this, so that it has absolutely no qualms about how it treats tourists. It starts with the water taxis' and extends to its eateries. I did not like Venice in 2008 when I visited because I felt it was a city that robbed its greatest source of income – the tourists – blind; and my opinion is little changed. The Bauer is a good hotel but if you took it out of Venice and stuck it in a city like Vancouver (or even Rome) it would be a borderline 4-star hotel (meaning closer to 3.)

What is decent is that while everyone is charging for internet service, the hotel has the set rate of €20 for your entire stay -- cheap if you're staying for more than 2 nights. Sadly, my Mac did not like its wireless service, and therefore only my iPhone got to use its network, which is not high speed.

The "city" and hotel were offering free taxis to Murano, but actually you are limited to one factory. Murano in fact supports many glass-making factories, and you do yourself a disservice if you don't shop around.

Beware of eateries near major tourist traffic areas that have staff soliciting you to eat at their restaurant as they do not let you order what you want but expect you to order at least one entree per person. Worse, the food is very poor.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank berhala236
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2015
Thank you for your feedback and for highlighting the positive features of the Bauer Hotel.

We are delighted to learn that you rated many aspects of your stay so highly as well as to note your happiness with the location and the room.

We appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and for your advices, they are important to improve the quality of service and to enhance our reputation.

We really hope to see you in the next future to be able to show you the improvement done.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tyler, Texas
Level Contributor
66 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We booked a room at the Bauer at the end of a cruise. The hotel location was absolutely fabulous and we were impressed with the reception area. We had heard nothing but wonderful things about the Bauer and were looking forward to our stay. However, when we got to our room we were stunned at how small and poorly appointed the room was. The room was a very small square room with little room for more than the kingsized bed. There was nowhere to sit other than a straight desk chair and very little room for that. The room overlooked three other rooms all over a lobby skylight with walls painted an odd brilliant green for some reason. It appeared we could pass things to the other rooms out the window. The one nice feature of the room was the bathroom, which, although not that well arranged, was more spacious and nicely decorated. Thinking we might have just gotten a really off room, we went back downstairs only to find we were behind several other disgruntled guests, all of whom had booked rooms in the superior category. We all learned the hard way that none of these rooms offered a view or much else for that matter. Hearing that there were no other rooms available, we stayed in that room. The only positive thing about it was that with the exception of the loud tile hall floor outside the door, the room was very quiet - no outside noise at all, since we really did not face anything outside. We did not see rooms in other, newer sections of the hotel or the rooms with the views of the Grand Canal or other exterior vistas. Aside from the shabby room, the hotel is lovely and the bar and dining area on the Grand Canal amazing. And again, the location was superb, but unless I knew I had a room much superior than the one we received, I would not stay here again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Deborah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your honest feedback in regards to your stay with us at The Bauer Hotel.

we regret to learn that we failed on our part to make your the stay a memorable one as well as that the room was not perfect, we aim to provide an exceptional service in every aspect of the guest experience and we are sorry to read that you did not find this to be the case on this occasion.

Your feedback will be taken into consideration, we will definetly work on that, and we look forward to welcoming you back, in that occasion you will be able to witness the improvement done.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
paphos
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2010

We always travel 5 star and we know Venice can be a bit noisy but this hotel,as many others have said,was not up to it by any standard except that the staff actually did try to find us,without success,a quiet room.The front desk is good and professional but the owners have clearly not slept on the rock like beds or pillows.The main extractor for the kitchen goes up through the open centre of the hotel and works from 6am to midnight.To the east in the alley alongside the hotel is a laundry which starts banging and shouting at 6 am.
The worst disappointment of all was our E250 anniversary dinner which was garbage although served on the beautiful grand canal.
Go to Venice but don't stay here

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank retiredincyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at The Bauer Hotel.
We are naturally disappointed to read that your stay did not reflect our usual high service standards and I would like to thank you for bringing this matter to our attention, as it is only through such constructive feedback that we are able to continually improve the service that we offer our guests.

We truly hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back, so we can provide you with the exceptional experience that our guests have come to expect from us.


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Copenhagen, Denmark
Level Contributor
81 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2010

Stayed here for three summer nights in August. The hotel is great and I think we got a great value (however, it’s expensive but along other 5 stars in Venice it was a good deal). Location is the best, next to San Marco and close to my favorite place in Venice – Dorsoduro.

Bauer is absolutely one of the better hotel I never stayed in, and I have usually high expectations. Everything was to the point great with efficient and friendly staff, well equipped and charming rooms, clean, great views, sober atmosphere and a breakfast buffet of your dreams. We had a Deluxe Room in the new part with a small balcony overlooking the tiny canal and lively street with gondolas, roomy marble bathroom and a great bed. It’s just heaven to relax after a day walking in Venice in the room and have the balcony doors open and listen to the sound of a gondoliers “o sole mio”.

I recommend arriving with a water taxi from the airport (pre-booked by the hotel) because of the views of the city and an entrance in style. We was followed to the room by the receptionist showing every facilities as well as prompt service by the porters.

The absolutely hidden game is the Bar Terrace where you can enjoy coffee or drinks. The drinks could be more innovative but they were nice. Breakfasts are a most and enjoy this buffet with al’a carte choices of eggs by your table overlooking the Grand Canal. A wide selection of fruits and berries made the breakfast as great as it can be. Only one disappointment, the restaurant was very expensive and I had expected better quality of food and service. If you had breakfast every day, and a drink in the evening, the restaurant view isn’t worth the money for dinner. For waterfront views I recommend the Lineaombra Restaurant in Dorsoduro – better quality and experience for less money.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KamiltonTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BauerHotels, Responsabile reception at Bauer Hotel, responded to this review, 11 November 2015
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay at the Bauer Hotel.
We really appreaciate your comment, it gives us great pleasure to learn that you thoroughly enjoyed every aspect of your stay from the guest service, to the location, the room and breakfast.

Your feedback is important to improve the quality of service and to enhance our reputation, and we hope to have the chance to welcome you again in the next future!


Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#43 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,496 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#46 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bauer Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bauer Hotel

Property: Bauer Hotel
Address: San Marco 1459 | Campo San Moise, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#43 Family Hotel in Venice
#50 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — Bauer Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The deluxe five-star "Bauer Hotel" offers its guests warm hospitality, impeccable service and a genteel atmosphere that have long made this grand hotel a Venice favourite of artists and royalty for generations. Located in the heart of Venice, the Hotel Bauer's main entrance is on Campo San Moise, just a five-minute walk from St Mark's Square and the most elegant shops in Venice. The hotel also benefits from a own water dock in Rio di San Moise, a small canal off Venice's Grand Canal,frequented by gondoliers throughout the summer. Encompassing the true atmosphere of Venice, "Bauer Hotel" offers 97 luxurious and spacious guest rooms and 22 suites, all retaining a nostalgic charm, with beautiful early 40-50th-century furnishings, perfectly blended with modern facilities and up-to-date technological innovation, accompanied by enticing views of Venice. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp and Southall Travel so you can book your Bauer Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bauer Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing