We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and reasonably priced.”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Istituto San Giuseppe
Ranked #20 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Venice
las vegas
Level Contributor
39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Convenient and reasonably priced.”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

Stayed at Istituto June 2014. We were able to get a quad. The rooms are basic and very clean. The beds are single with firm comfortable mattresses. There is no tv available. WIFI is almost non existent.
The nuns do not speak English but they have a clerical assistant who speaks English and is very helpful.
The location is conveniently located between Rialto and St. Marks.
I would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank discriminating7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    53
    40
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
37
14
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Sweden
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014 via mobile

Perfect location, very central. Close to Rialto and San Marco. Room basic but very clean. Bathroom good size and again very clean. Breakfast room for the use of guest were very basic.
Sometimes a bit noisy because of school children, but no great problem.
Great value for this central and historical accomodation. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Queo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here during the summer of 2013 and loved it. It's exactly what our family (of 4) needed during our visit to Venice. Spotlessly clean, comfortable beds (singles), plenty of room and QUITE air conditioning. Plus its near St Marks AND is in a 600 year old school. Leaving every morning through the group of pre-school kids playing in the courtyard is was fun. Don't forget to ask one of the nuns to show you the class-rooms - they are in the several hundred year old mansion, and have fresco on the ceilings! Note that It IS spartan, and there is no restaurant (though you do have access to a small kitchen).

Overall a wonder, peaceful respite from the tourist crowds.

Room Tip: We were in one of the "family" rooms on I think the second floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TryANewPlace
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014 via mobile

Smack bang between the Rialto and st marks square, this couldn't have been better placed. Don't know that I could find better value for the location. Immaculately clean and tidy. The sisters were very welcoming and staff very helpful. Perfect place if you don't mind the curfew.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank LoubyI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 June 2014 via mobile

Great find for family of four including a toddler. Fantastic atmosphere and kind kid loving nuns.
But ripped off by Monastery Stays - they charged well over 100 euro for on around a 500€ bill for using their booking service. Book direct with the Convent, of course they speak english or just use Google Translate!

Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
14 Thank Dmml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malmesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 March 2014

My wife and I enjoyed 5 days here in March 2014. It is a convent cum primary school just 5 mins from Piazza San Marco. The facilities are basic, single beds quite hard, small but comprehensive ensuite bathroom and basic kitchen facilities downstairs.
However it is spotlessly clean, there is a PC in the kitchen which is very handy. The Istituto was once a Venetian palace and the main rooms are beautiful.
If you would like a peaceful oasis in the heart of bustling Venice, This is for you!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BonfireBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
florence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 November 2013

We stayed one night in september 2013 in triple room with private bathroom. Much cheaper than hotel or bb. room good size, clean, bathroom ok, quiet at night - the curfew helps this I imagine. no breakfast but coffee machine in guests lounge. possibilityto use kitchen too. Staff on door very helpful and no problem leaving bags there after check out to collect later. Convent building lovely ,right on canal. less than 5 mins walk to St Mark's square though not easy to find the first time! We had great time at art biennele - easy walk from convent. Only downside- all local restaurants very touristy- no locals for sure, better to move away from main routes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank pollyFlorence
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#156 of 385 in Venice
392 reviews
Cannaregio
Hotel Mignon
Hotel Mignon
#132 of 385 in Venice
381 reviews
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#129 of 385 in Venice
487 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
#6 of 214 in Venice
997 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Casa Caburlotto
Casa Caburlotto
#139 of 457 in Venice
205 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Silk Road Hostel
Silk Road Hostel
#26 of 214 in Venice
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istituto San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istituto San Giuseppe

Property: Istituto San Giuseppe
Address: Ponte della Guerra 5402, 5402 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 214 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Istituto San Giuseppe Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing