We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place; Great location; Great price” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istituto San Giuseppe

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Venice
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Istituto San Giuseppe
Ranked #25 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
150 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Great place; Great location; Great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 December 2010

The common story on accommodations in Venice is high prices for very small rooms. We rented two rooms for three nights ( a double and a single) through Monastary Stays in late September 2010 for 348 E. Cash only. Pay the evening before you leave. Both rooms were large. Both had shuttered windows, tiled floors, a closet, private bathrooms with showers, no facecloths. The double room had four single beds in it while the single had one bed. Thr rooms were comfortable, quiet and a very reasonable price. Location is within easy walking distance to the Realto Bridge ( although the map we got via Monastary Stays was a bit confusing) and to St. Mark's Square (in this case the map was excellent). The place is actually an elementary school, so it might be a bit noisy during the day (we were not around to find out); the doors are locked at 2330; you hand in your room keys when you leave and pick them up when you return. You ring the front door bell when you want to get in. Some great art in the upstairs classrooms ( the Sisters will show you, but be aware, they do not speak English). The first night we were there we kept our windows open. Bad news. Mosquitos were everywhere. Got bit several times..killed more in the morning. Also on Rick Steeves website is a suggestion to go to 0800 Mass at St Mark's...out at 0830 and the place is yours until the tourists come at 0930. Not so. We went to 0800 Mass and then were promptly ushered out. You need to line up. Do it early and the place really is yours. We didn't find any good resturants close by.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank osterous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    51
    37
    8
    2
    1
See reviews for
29
34
13
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Clayton, Georgia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2010

great, gentle service. Stayed three nights. room clean and very nice. the location very quiet and was just 5 minutes from Piazza San Marco on the main route to the Rialto Bridge, and you can't beat that.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Tolkein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

The location is wonderful, the accommodation is great value for money but it was sometimes difficult to make it back in time for the strict 10:30 curfew. My biggest problem was that my passport 'disappeared' from my room on the second day there. Don't be complacent just because you feel in a safe environment! I certainly don't suspect the sisters...it is quite possible that in my exhausted state I didn't lock my door and another 'guest' poked about in my room. Whoever took it is beside the point, being overseas and without a passport with the embassy closed over the weekend is daunting. I nonetheless refused to allow this incident to spoil my holiday. I was obliged to spend an extra two days in Venice as no hotel will take you without 'documento' (and fortunately they had the room for me) and I enjoyed those extra two days enormously!

Stayed May 2010, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank Mary-AnnHansen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

This monastery's location is perfect. The cleanliness of their bedrooms, not so perfect. The bathroom's shower was not cleaned. Upon our first night, we woke up with 'moskito bites' on our forehead and arms. We found these bites very funy looking, but we didn't think anything of it. The next day, again, more 'bites' over our body. Again, they were very strange looking bites. Upon our return to Canada, we found out that these were not moskito bites. They are bed bugs' bites. Apparently, Italy doesn't have pest control to stop the infestation.
Upon contacting our service provider, they simply stated that they did not know anything about bed bugs. When they visited this monastery, (don't know when) every thing was in good condition. We contacted the monastery itself, and they said they never received any complaints. Furthermore, they clean everyday!!! Cleaning has nothing to do with it. Of course, we are the first one to complain, who will complain about bed bugs to sisters. The fact that we were the first one to complain does not mean that there are no bed bugs. It's just means we were the first one to tell them! Be aware!

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Cauclau43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Westlake, OH USA
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 October 2009

The Istituto is located in the perfect spot, about halfway between Piazza San Marco and the Rialto Bridge. It is a truly unique opportunity to sample a slice of real Venetian life. The Istituto is an elementary parochial day school, and the nuns who run it do not speak English. Between 7:30am-7:30pm they have an English-speaking staff member managing the front desk who provides friendly and helpful assistance when needed. Payment is made to mother superior in cash only. We stayed in a large room with three single beds and a clean, updated bathroom. There is no air conditioning, but a room fan was provided. No breakfast is served, but don’t miss out on the 40 cent coffee/cocoa machine that offers a number of tasty options to get you started. There is a grocery store very close by, and be sure to look for the delicious Bar Al Campanile (a walk-up Panini extravaganza). For the price, location, historical value, and local color, the Istituto takes the cake in Venice. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
9 Thank agzterlina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 September 2009

Location: It is situated just off San Marco Square, and is actually quite easy to find by Venice standards.

Room: We stayed in a Triple Room. Quite basic, but it is a convent! Cleanliness was very good. Bathroom was large, good shower. Bed was very firm and comfortable.

Service: They have English speakers who answer the door during the day, and the friendly nun's at night (10:30pm curfew).

Value: Overall its a very good value, cheap by Venice standards. It's always a pleasure to stay at the convent. Remember to pay Mother Superior!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Fandangledan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Evansville, Indiana
Level Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2009

The Instituto was a fine place to stay for my wife and I for three nights in June. In fact we seriously considered staying an additional night. The rooms are typical of convents, basic but clean. And the convent was very quiet even though it was very centrally located between Rialto and St. Marks. Breakfast would have been nice but it is not offered and course we knew this when we booked. Everyone was very friendly and helped us out any way they could. The price was very good for the central location. And the kids in the school/daycare added a little fun to our stay. We would definitely stay here again if travelling to Venice in the future. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank arkitkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Giudecca
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
Hotel Giudecca Venezia
#129 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 473 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#169 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 386 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 802 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Casa Caburlotto
Casa Caburlotto
#151 of 466 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Silk Road Hostel
Silk Road Hostel
#30 of 210 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
Giudecca
Generator Hostel Venice
Generator Hostel Venice
#5 of 210 in Venice
4.0 of 5 bubbles 944 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istituto San Giuseppe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istituto San Giuseppe

Property: Istituto San Giuseppe
Address: Ponte de la Guerra 1 | Castello 5402, 30122 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Castello
Hotel Style:
Ranked #25 of 210 Speciality Lodging in Venice
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Istituto San Giuseppe Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing