We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great view - poor service”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #89 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were recommended to have lunch here as family had been coming for many years. The view and buzz of the Grand Canal is great but the waiting staff were quite rude and arrogant at times. We certainly would not recommend it to anyone and definitely would not go back.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank MrsK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,532)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

585 - 591 of 1,532 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you choose the Monaco hotel in Venice is because of the location, which is no doubt great. In fact, its located at the beginning of the Grand Canal, only 100m away from the St. Mark Square. The coolest thing is the terrace where you have breakfast or lunch, right at the water with gondels view. An experience! Now, the poor thing is the room itself. Not only small but looks old, little bit dirty for a first class hotel, and all in all, not in line with the overall hotel appearance. In any case, you don't go to Venice to stay in the room, therefore, I would take it if you find a good rate. Enjoy!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore generale at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 13 September 2013

Dear Diego,
it is with real attention that i read your comments. I would like to underline that our terrace-restaurant is a wellknown meeting point frequented by an international clientele but also by Venetians who choose our restaurant because of its excellent venetian cuisine.
As far as the rooms are concerned let me explain that hotel Monaco e Grand Canal is formed by 3 old ancient palaces of the 16° century and rooms are completely different one from the other.in size. They were completely refurbished in 2005 year and a new refurbisment is planned in 2014 year. They are elegantly decorated in a soft venitian style. 16 of these have a nice view of the beginnning of the Grand Canal and of the Venetian Basin.
I really do hope to see you again.
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This last month I stayed 6 days at Monaco Grand Canal for two stays. Perfect location (for the ones who prefer to stay in the very center); outstanding view from the terrace for the breakfast; nice lobby; friendly team at the reception; confortable rooms (rather small as mostly in Venice); wifi included.Rates can be quite different according to the dates, so check.

Room Tip: Book a room with view on the Grand Canal, or try to ask for some upgrade, otherwise forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank chabrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is one of the best place to stay in Venice. a blend of design and ancient style, no need to spend more than usual in expensive hotels. the first night we staid in and saw the show that they do in the evenings We took a tour that they advised us on the second evening we were there and it was a great way to get to now the city. Our guide simone was fantastic and very informative. A great way to see the city and enjoy your self and your loved ones.

Room Tip: air condition is very important to have in your room in venice, its very humid. no swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Giorgio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6 days for a conference held there. Room is so expensive but all you get is a small room facing inwards. They are small too. No in room coffee maker nor any other facilities. No other amenities or leisure facilities available.

What make up for it is the breakfast area and also the location. The view from the restaurant is magnificent. And location is at the nice quiet part of the city and surrounded by upmarket international boutique.

If u go for location this is it. But make sure u pay a lot more to have a room with a view and balcony to face the grand canal. If not its not worth the money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JimmyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pros: best location in Venice, chic lobby, impressive historic meeting rooms on second level
Cons: rooms showing wear, not updated or maintained well, service slightly slacker
I loved staying here and will come back. Its simple and elegant in essence. But it all comes down to price on this one. if you can get a deal for $200 or less take it, but if over then consider the other 4 stars. You will not lose out on location but these rooms need updated and maintained better.

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank citizenoftheworldrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 September 2013

Stayed here for 4 nights, having considered lots of others for our first visit to Venice. Definitely made the right choice, the hotel was perfect and in a fabulous location overlooking the Grand Canal and being so close to St Marks square. Meals on the terrace were very special, I don't think you could find a better location or views in which to enjoy the sights, sounds and atmosphere of Venice. Food was good and service at all meals was courteous and efficient, although a bit pricey. The concierge and reception staff were extremely polite and helpful as were all the staff. The rooms were very stylish and kept exceptionally clean, regularly tended too. Bed was very comfortable with crisp linen sheets. Although expensive, the private water taxi is definitely the best way to arrive or depart from the private jetty at the front of the hotel, and the experience across the lagoon is worthwhile. Will return to Venice and we would not hesitate at staying here again.

Thank you for a lovely stay

Neil & Linda

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Neil W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore generale at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this reviewResponded 2 September 2013

dear Guest,

Is with real satisfaction I read your comments.
Every day we try to improve the services offered to our customers and comments are really very useful to understand if we are in the right way.

Sinecerly yours,

Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#60 of 387 in Venice
1,684 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#75 of 387 in Venice
2,617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#163 of 387 in Venice
408 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#9 of 387 in Venice
2,182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#58 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#97 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £114 - £554 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 92
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 92 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first Casino. Today it is a very special space for events like Weddings, Gala Dinner, Conferences and Meetings from 10 to 600 guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing