We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“In the Centre of History”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #84 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reading
Level Contributor
66 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“In the Centre of History”
Reviewed 22 September 2013

We stayed for three days before joining a Princess cruise. It was a good decision as it was our first trip to Venice and the cruise itinerary doesn't allow an in-depth visit of the city sites.

The location of the hotel on the Grand Canal is ideal with great views. A stop for the many municipal ferries is just outside the hotel and you can therefore explore the whole city with ease. We particularly found the walk through the Jewish sector very interesting and atmospheric. A host of gondolas are also available just outside the hotel with their helpful gondoliers. A trip on a gondola is quite expensive if just for two people, but there is plenty of space for more, so a journey with friends or acquaintances is cost-effective and still enjoyable.

The hotel was excellent with good menus, food and service. The hotel is right in the centre of this historic city, just a few steps from St Mark Square, therefore many customers are non-residents of the hotel. However, we were never "crowded out" and we were always given a good table for dinner on the terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. One night we made arrangements with friends for a table, with the gracious help of the Head Waiter. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff.

Our room was large, clean and well furnished. Rooms at the front of the hotel are at a great premium and our room overlooked an inner "courtyard". It had a pleasant, relaxing atmosphere.

We experienced just one slight problem on departure from the hotel as we paid partly in cash and the rest by card to clear our account. This caused a problem with the hotel accounts, not clearing the balance on the account, triggering a message to our ship. This was soon dealt with and many apologies were forthcoming from the hotel; but ensure you always ask for a receipt for any cash payments! It was a clear error and nothing else.

All in all, a very good experience and we will return.

Room Tip: Rooms at the front have a great view but are at a great premium. Otherwise, ask for a quiet room at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ashef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore generale at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this review, 27 September 2013
dear Guest, I thank you very much for staying at the Monaco and for the comments. Guest satisfaction is my major aim during my daily rules.

I really do hope to have the opportunity to see you again.

Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,364 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    717
    414
    127
    63
    43
See reviews for
208
647
59
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Finchampstead
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

We were recommended to have lunch here as family had been coming for many years. The view and buzz of the Grand Canal is great but the waiting staff were quite rude and arrogant at times. We certainly would not recommend it to anyone and definitely would not go back.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsK64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Geneva, Geneve, Switzerland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 September 2013

If you choose the Monaco hotel in Venice is because of the location, which is no doubt great. In fact, its located at the beginning of the Grand Canal, only 100m away from the St. Mark Square. The coolest thing is the terrace where you have breakfast or lunch, right at the water with gondels view. An experience! Now, the poor thing is the room itself. Not only small but looks old, little bit dirty for a first class hotel, and all in all, not in line with the overall hotel appearance. In any case, you don't go to Venice to stay in the room, therefore, I would take it if you find a good rate. Enjoy!

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Diego G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GabrieleMarchiori, Direttore generale at Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal, responded to this review, 13 September 2013
Dear Diego,
it is with real attention that i read your comments. I would like to underline that our terrace-restaurant is a wellknown meeting point frequented by an international clientele but also by Venetians who choose our restaurant because of its excellent venetian cuisine.
As far as the rooms are concerned let me explain that hotel Monaco e Grand Canal is formed by 3 old ancient palaces of the 16° century and rooms are completely different one from the other.in size. They were completely refurbished in 2005 year and a new refurbisment is planned in 2014 year. They are elegantly decorated in a soft venitian style. 16 of these have a nice view of the beginnning of the Grand Canal and of the Venetian Basin.
I really do hope to see you again.
Gabriele Marchiori, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
geneva
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This last month I stayed 6 days at Monaco Grand Canal for two stays. Perfect location (for the ones who prefer to stay in the very center); outstanding view from the terrace for the breakfast; nice lobby; friendly team at the reception; confortable rooms (rather small as mostly in Venice); wifi included.Rates can be quite different according to the dates, so check.

Room Tip: Book a room with view on the Grand Canal, or try to ask for some upgrade, otherwise forget.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chabrias
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2013

This is one of the best place to stay in Venice. a blend of design and ancient style, no need to spend more than usual in expensive hotels. the first night we staid in and saw the show that they do in the evenings We took a tour that they advised us on the second evening we were there and it was a great way to get to now the city. Our guide simone was fantastic and very informative. A great way to see the city and enjoy your self and your loved ones.

Room Tip: air condition is very important to have in your room in venice, its very humid. no swimming pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Giorgio M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia
Level Contributor
229 reviews
64 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013 via mobile

Stayed 6 days for a conference held there. Room is so expensive but all you get is a small room facing inwards. They are small too. No in room coffee maker nor any other facilities. No other amenities or leisure facilities available.

What make up for it is the breakfast area and also the location. The view from the restaurant is magnificent. And location is at the nice quiet part of the city and surrounded by upmarket international boutique.

If u go for location this is it. But make sure u pay a lot more to have a room with a view and balcony to face the grand canal. If not its not worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JimmyKL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
citizenoftheworldtrips
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Pros: best location in Venice, chic lobby, impressive historic meeting rooms on second level
Cons: rooms showing wear, not updated or maintained well, service slightly slacker
I loved staying here and will come back. Its simple and elegant in essence. But it all comes down to price on this one. if you can get a deal for $200 or less take it, but if over then consider the other 4 stars. You will not lose out on location but these rooms need updated and maintained better.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank citizenoftheworldrev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#156 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 393 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#75 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,525 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 870 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#48 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,543 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#53 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#98 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 99 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first casino. Today there offer a very special space for organisations of events like Wedding, Gala Dinner, Conferences and meetings from 10 to 600 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing