We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“EXCELLENT HOTEL”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #82 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Venice
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“EXCELLENT HOTEL”
Reviewed 22 November 2013

We really enjoyed our 2nd stay in this hotel where the employees are of outstanding efficiency and gentleness. The restaurant is also "nec plus ultra" and prices are reasonable. We will certainly redo

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Galahotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Jocelyne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,363 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    716
    413
    127
    63
    44
See reviews for
209
646
59
149
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (175)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 November 2013

We arrived on 20 Oct 13 and left on the 22nd, using the water taxis. From visiting Venice before, we knew its excellent location, only 5 minutes from Piazza San Marco. It has an inviting lobby area, with two elevators right across from the main desk/concierge. The rooms were a bit smaller, but it did have a good sized marble covered bathroom. Breakfasts and dinners were good, a point above average hotel food. i had the occasion to ask for directions, and assistance from the concierge, and they were very helpful. Location, Location, Location.

Room Tip: All the rooms that our group had seemed ok.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Charlie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
malta
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from a stay at the Monaco & Grand Canal where we celebrated my parents' 50th Wedding Anniversary. I can't fault this hotel in any way. The service was excellent, the staff really went beyond the call of duty to make everything wonderful. The location is excellent just on the waterfront with a vaporetto stop just outside it.

Stayed November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank vjagga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 November 2013

As a small group company, we spend many days in each year in some of the best 4- & 5-Star hotels in the world. The Monaco Grand fits that bill for location and atmosphere, but not in room quality. Our stay in this hotel was a good one, service, location, meals were all fine and the well travelled group as a whole liked the hotel. The hotel could not be better for location, it is literally a 3 minute walk from San Marco and also VERY convenient for Gondola's and transport boats to the airport and other areas of Venice. It has a stunning view on the Grand Canal and a beautiful
deck with a near postcard atmosphere. The Monaco Grand suffers from just one problem that we have seen before, you enter an amazing hotel lobby with stunning atmosphere and then arrive in your room to find it dated and a little worn. This is a classic example of too much easy business, so why bother updating the rooms. Venice is not like Paris, a lot of people only go once in their lives to Venice, then retreat to other places in Italy that are less crowded and easier on the pocket book. The Monaco and Grand Canal is a good stay in Venice, but it could be great with a little attention to detail on the accommodation.

Room Tip: Only some rooms face the Grand Canal, more are courtyard or side street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank M_Stewart68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gharghur, Malta
Level Contributor
247 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 November 2013 via mobile

Perfect location on grand canal with a vaporetto stop literally on the doorstep. Just 2 minutes from San Marco on foot. Beautiful spaces and reception and hospitable amd friendly service. Would love to return!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank OscarWilde1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

I arrived at this beautiful place on the 13 th of Oct, the day before my birthday, I had been dreaming of going back to unforgetable Venice and the Monaco, since my last birthday,the Monaco will not dissapoint it was lovely to be remembered by the staff, all the staff from the front desk reception, porters, dinning room and concierge, are all nice and helpful, the one member of staff that stands out from all the rest, is the lovely and" I should say for the ladies "the very handsome Mario, who works night shift at concierge ,his manner is so welcomming, he is always smiling ,and funny and nothing is a problem for him to sort out for you, he noticed it was my birthday and made a nice memory for me and my sister, he is a great asset to this hotel, as a smile breaks down any language barriers, I also had a problem on my check out with my credit card on my departure which upset me and made me cry and stress, but the reception staff sorted it out and when I got back to the uk they helped resolve the problem, I thank the male member of reception staff who helped me I have forgot his name, although the reception staff and some of the concierge staff should smile a bit more, the manager was very nice and understanding, so well done, and thank you ,to mr Gabriele marchiori and all your staff, you all are taking care of your disabled guests, the Monaco and grand canal hotel is understanding their disabled guests needs, this hotel is one of the best for wheelchair accessability,as being in a wheelchair in Venice you have a lot of problems, the lifts are big enough for a motorized wheelchair, their rooms are a good size with a wet room disabled shower, and at 300 euro for a room it is one of the best rates in Venice , most of the only other 2 accessiable hotels are too overpriced, the Monaco looks after their disabled guests, and sitting on their lovely terrace overlooking the beautiful Santa Maria salute church on he grand canal for breakfast and dinner,is breathtaking, it is worth all of the stress getting to Venice in a motorized wheelchair, there are a lot of reviews on trip advisor that are negative and could damage this wonderful hotel,so if all you do when you return from magical Venice, is go on line and moan about the
Price of hotels, and write bad reviews about the cost of having to pay for a beautiful experience of sitting in St mark square at florians caffe with the lovely orchestra playing,then you don't deserve to be there, so don't moan about the Italians ,and the cost,of having to pay 6 euro on your bill for the pleasure to listen to the music, to create unforgetable memories ,then don't go to Venice as it is not the place for you.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bellaveneto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 October 2013

The hotel is very well located with a great little terrace overlooking the Grand Canal. The interiors are contemporary with stunning glass atriums and elegant decor. But the overall experience is disappointing, given the very high room rate. Reception staff are professional, but unsmiling and they sort of look like they don't enjoy their job much. One yearns for a friendly smile. The room was large, but for 650 euros had no view and the bathroom was dated and lacked a separate shower.

My impression was that the hotel really aims for the conference trade, and is probably excellent at that, but not really for a romantic weekend.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank designer16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#155 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 391 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#71 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,521 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 866 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#47 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,541 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#53 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#98 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 99 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first casino. Today there offer a very special space for organisations of events like Wedding, Gala Dinner, Conferences and meetings from 10 to 600 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TravelUp, Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing