We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient, charming and a great value. ”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Ranked #84 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
109 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 110 helpful votes
“Convenient, charming and a great value. ”
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

I would definitely recommend this to anyone that's looking for a convenient hotel near San Marco and not wanting to spend lots of money to stay at the Daniella. It's right on the grand canal next to San Marco square.

The hotel staff are very nice. They upgraded me at no cost to a room facing the grand canal.

The room is classic old world Italian with gold bed spread and tacky candelabra but it's all part of the places charm. The bathroom has been recently updated very nicely - even with heated tile floors.

You can't beat for the price, convenience and charm.

Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Chartmannn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,382 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    725
    420
    130
    64
    43
See reviews for
212
654
59
153
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bordeaux, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 December 2013

Have been there several times in the past 6 years. Beautiful rooms, good service, nice food, perfectly well placed. I recommend this hotel to all my friends. A very nice place to stay if you want to visit Venice. Go and see for yourself!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MonicaMazurier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2013

I stayed for 2 nights in this lovely hotel and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Staff were wonderful, helpful and kind. The room was clean and spacious - very traditional decor. Nice bathroom and lovely amenities. The Monaco Grand Canal has an incredible location and the restaurant has a breathtaking terrace which.
I had a light dinner on my first evening and the food was DIVINE! Service was professional and they were ever so kind.
I will definately definately come back and highly recommend such a fabuolous structure to all my friends.
Thank-you for a wonderful experience.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patty k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
60 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Our second visit to Venice in just over a year proved as enchanting as the first! We wanted to be near St. Mark's Square and the Monaco Hotel did not disappoint. The room was elegant and functional, the bed was very comfortable and the bathroom was excellent having a tub with a shower. We would definitely recommend this beautiful and conveniently located hotel in Venice.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cheryl T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2013 via mobile

Lovely hotel, clean and great service. The outdoor restaurant and seating area is absolutely fantastic. The food is excellent and the local wines are delicious - it's on the expensive side for some costs but a super location and helpful staff make it worthwhile

Enjoy!

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank 6BD6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We attended an event hosted by the Grand Hotel and stayed for four days. The service was excellent, the front of house and service staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was superb for first timers like us in Venice and I always thought that the waiting staff were going out of their way to make everyone's stay memorable. The breakfast was superb, we didn't take any other meals in the hotel so I can't comment on that. We would definitely return again!

Room Tip: Thirty seconds walk from the main San Marco water bus stop.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Indietraveller187069
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This being our first trip to Europe and first city we loved our stay. Great staff, good breakfast, wonderful location and a really nice accommodation with a king size bed, lots of storage and great bathroom. We could not have been happier. The weather was beautiful and sitting on the outside patio deck on the canal for breakfast was like a dream. We would stay here again if we go back to Venice. The only downside was a very expensive lunch at the hotel. Hope to go back!

Room Tip: Quiet rooms in the back. No view but you are outside all the time anyway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gary1wag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 385 in Venice
1,532 reviews
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,561 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#69 of 385 in Venice
892 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Selvadego
Palazzo Selvadego
#157 of 385 in Venice
392 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal

Property: Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal
Address: San Marco 1332, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Business Hotel in Venice
#55 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#98 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#126 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal are just a few steps from the famous St. Marks Square, ideal for guests who want to immerse themselves, inside the Venetian lifestyle. The 99 guest rooms including 7 suites overlooking the Grand Canal, are all elegantly decorated. Baroque and minimalism meet up in a perfect harmony. In the Grand Canal Terrace Restaurant which overlooks the Grand Canal, the guest can admire a majestic views and enjoy freshness of seafood and vegetable that are so essential to local specialities. In this top class ambience you really feel almost at home. The events section of the Hotel is realised in the recent adjoined Palazzo Dandolo, which became famous as the world’s first casino. Today there offer a very special space for organisations of events like Wedding, Gala Dinner, Conferences and meetings from 10 to 600 guests ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Booking.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and HRS so you can book your Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Monaco And Grand Canal
Hotel Monaco Grand Canal
Monaco Grand Canal Hotel
Monaco Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing