We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Hotel, Good Location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #45 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Paphos, Cyprus
Level Contributor
116 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, Good Location”
Reviewed 10 September 2012

Having searched on Trip Advisor for hotels in Venice I eventually chose the Hotel Papadopoli, with one of my considerations being its proximity to the local transport network. The bus terminal is a two minute walk through the small woodland park which adjoins the hotel; the train station is probably at most a ten minutes walk (over the Grand Canal) and the vaporettos (water buses) even less.
I am pleased that I chose this hotel, as one of the regular sights was tourists lugging suitcases around the streets or on the vaporettos trying to find their hotels, some of which were some considerable distance from the train station/bus terminal.
I had booked a Classic Double room, which happened to be on the fourth floor, overlooking the woodland park, on a B & B basis. The room was of a standard size and certainly ample for the two of us. Yes it had a few scuff marks on the walls and the silicone around the bath had some black marks (mould) on it.... but its a hotel which is going to take some wear and tear. Overall though I thought the room was well maintained and in keeping with a Venetian theme. The bed we had was bigger than a normal UK king size and was certainly comfortable.
As this 3 x day trip to Venice was a surprise for my wife's birthday, the hotel provided a complimentary bottle of Prosecco and strawberries, together with bathrobes and slippers.
Breakfast in the hotel was excellent, with a good variety to chose from; including a cooked and continental selection, cereals, fruit, pastries etc. The foodstuff was replenished at regular intervals with what appeared to be fresh items, and that which had been available for a while taken away.
The restaurant which is where breakfast was also served, was beautiful. It was woodland themed, with 'bark' on the walls and foliage hanging down from the ceiling and I am sure was planned that way to be extension of the woodland park to which it adjoined.
This is not a back backers hotel by any means. Having read some of the negative reviews on Trip Advisor about prices etc, it is a more up market hotel and the prices reflect this. Yes you had to pay to use the internet, yes the restaurant was slightly more expensive than the local trattorias (but hotel restaurants usually are), and the menu was limited. At the bar we paid €8 each for a glass of Prosecco and a selection of canapes.
Overall, we felt it was a wonderful hotel, nicely decorated and maintained, in a good location with easy access to all transportation. We certainly would have no hesitation in returning to the Hotel Papadopoli if we visited Venice again.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cassidy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,065 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,194
    706
    125
    26
    14
See reviews for
286
1,359
67
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2012

We had a beautiful room over looking the canal with a balcony. We arrived to complimentary champagne and fruit for our anniversary which was just beautiful. Staff very helpful and spoke English well. Rooms very clean. Location is near the train station, very easy to get to. Approx 20 minute walk to San Marco through gorgeous lanes and canals. Little pricey but worth it.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lovinek
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Concord, NC
Level Contributor
97 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 September 2012

The best thing the Hotel Popadopoli has going for it is its location. This hotel was actually a substitution for us on the day we returned from our cruise. We had originally booked at the Hotel Canal Grande, which we loved and where we had stayed during our pre-cruise stay, but logistical considerations dictated the swap. Venice is, as you no doubt know, built on multiple islands, so once you cross the causeway into Venice on your car, bus or train, your options to get to your hotel are limited to (1) walking, (2) Vaporetto (public boat transit) or (3) water taxi. Options 1 & 2 require schlepping your bags on crowded streets and boats and often include going over arched bridges with multiple steps to reach your destination. Option 3 will get you right at or close to your hotel but is extremely expensive – we’re talking 80 euros plus baggage fees for local transport and 100+ euros coming from the airport. I booked the Hotel Canal Grande initially because it appeared to be within walking distance of the Piazalle Roma. It was, in fact, only a 10 -15 minute walk, but that assumes that you are just walking there. We had 2 airplane-max weight bags (50#) that we could hook together, a 25# roll-aboard suitcase and two hand bags. Negotiating level ground with this combination was not a problem, but once we got to our first bridge, the challenges started. I did know that there were bridges between the Piazalle and the hotel, but for some reason, I assumed they would be level or at the least have some sort of smooth pavement for handicapped persons. Well, we all know what “assume” stands for! The bridges were arched with only steps. So getting all our bags over the bridge required multiple trips carrying the bags rather than pulling them. Multiply this by 4, throw in the crowds on the bridges plus the unseasonable hot weather in Venice (90 degrees +), and by the time we got to the Hotel Canal Grande, we were “all give out” as we say here in North Carolina. My faithful traveling partner and good sport, Barbara, was ready to divorce me at this point, had we been married!
At this point I realized that a repeat of this process was not feasible for our return trip. Our option therefore would be a water taxi from the ship to the hotel at 80+ Euros and a water taxi from the hotel to the airport at 100+ euros so it made sense instead to find another hotel, closer to the Piazalle Roma where we could reasonably walk to and from public transit. Hence our move to the Popadopoli. We actually found the hotel by walking around the Piazalle Roma and picked the hotel based on its attractiveness, its one-bridge proximity and location in a quiet park area along a secondary canal.
The hotel itself was fine, if a little dated and old. The rooms were small but comfortable. Water pressure in the shower was marginal at best, and if you wanted internet coverage you had buy a card with one of those 15 digit access codes that are maddening at best. Plus, while your 8 euro cost covered 24 hours, you had to have your card “refreshed” every 3 hours by someone coming to your room with a new 15-digit card. The rooms were reasonably quiet although our room on the first floor overlooking the small canal and adjacent plaza did have some street noise, but not bad. The location, however, made up for whatever small deficiencies the hotel may have had. After the cruise, we were able to walk from the people mover to the hotel in about 5 minutes, and negotiating the single bridge was a breeze. The following morning, we walked back to the Piazalle Roma in about the same 5 minutes and caught the express bus to airport at a total cost of 12 euros. Prices at the Popadopoli were similar to the Hotel Canal Grande, depending on room selection, so the move saved us probably 200 euros in water taxi costs.
So if you are looking for a nice hotel in a great location for a short stay, I can recommend this one. If you are staying longer and want a better hotel experience, I would recommend the Hotel Canal Grande. In either case, I would recommend packing lightly!

Room Tip: Higher is better, but the elevator is small and slow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank trickydnc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

We loved our stay at this hotel, which was so easy to get to and from (from the station or taxi) and just had a great feel of luxury about it. The breakfast was one of the best we have had, our good sized room over looking the canal was great and the staff were generally very helpful. The only thing that annoys me (which occurs in other Accor hotels) is having to pay for wi-fi internet, especially considering the price of the rooms... somehow a Mercure hotel we stayed at earlier in the month at half the price can give us free wifi but this cant. Also the hotel restaurant (for dinner) didn't seem to have a great selection, however with so many restaurants nearby it didn't matter. Overall we would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lachjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
64 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 144 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 September 2012

I chose this hotel mainly because it was the only decent 4-star hotel within walking distance from the train station. It's especially important as we had a 6:55 am train to catch from Venice to Milan and we didn't feel like paying 80-100 euros for a water taxi to take us from any hotel on the Grand Canal to the train station so early in the morning.

We lucked out and got a Junior Suite at the Papadopoli for 180 Euros a night when Accor had the special promotion on. The suite was very spacious but it definitely lacked the glamour and elegance of the Florentine deluxe room of St. Regis Florence where we stayed at before arriving in Venice. We stayed in Papadopoli for 3 nights and found that the hotel location really suited our needs, though it's far from St. Mark's Square (over 30 minutes on the water bus).

We bought a 72-hour water bus (vaporetto) pass for 35 euros plus 10 euros to go on a Grand Canal boat cruise with English narration of sights along the Grand Canal. The cruise started right in front of the train station and the big red vaporetto we were on was basically empty with less than 20 people, so we could move freely to take pictures. The route was exactly the same as the #1 & #2 water buses but those boats were always packed, making it impossible to take good pictures if you couldn't get a good seat.

To go from the station to the hotel with heavy suitcases, the best bet would be to buy a vaporetto pass from the HelloVenezia office (tourist info) right outside the train station and took either the #2 or #1 water bus for just one stop and got off at Piazzale Roma where the main bus terminal was. That way you didn't need to walk up and down the long bridge of over 100 steps with no ramp with heavy luggage. I really didn't understand why smart Italians did not build ramps on the modern bridge so people could just roll their suitcases and strollers on (see my bridge picture). I wish I knew about this valuable bit of info ahead of time so my husband & I didn't have to lug our suitcases up and down the bridges in the scorching Italian heat in July!!

Back to the hotel room on the 5th floor...the balcony was super long and it spanned from one end to the other end of the room. The balcony was also connected to other rooms so my friends who also stayed on the 5th floor could meet us on the balcony and take pictures for each other with the tiny canals underneath.

5th floor rooms were upgraded ones and we had a lovely charging station for all our electronics (iPad, phone, iPod, cameras, etc.) so we could charge all of those at the same time. Our Junior Suite also had the expresso machine but my friends didn't get it in their deluxe room. Internet was 7 Euros for 3 hours and you just need to get a recharge code from the front desk free of charge every time you need to use the internet after the 3-hour period. We got 2 recharge cards every night and only paid 7 euros for our entire stay. As an Accor Gold member, we got 2 free drinks at the bar and it was another lovely perk. Bar service was wonderful. Thanks to Papadopoli!

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the 5th floor with lovely canal view and added amenities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Wismergirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 September 2012

As we walked from the train station this was the first 'nice' looking hotel we saw. The lobby was large for a Venetian hotel. The room we got was clean and pretty albeit painfully small. This might be cause we had booked via an agent and not ourselves. So I guess we were in the most basic room which besides the fact that is was small there was nothing else to complain about. The b/f area was very pretty and the b/f itself was sufficient. The bar is small area perfect for a quiet post dinner drink. The location is close to the train station but far from San Marco. Ofcourse the caparetto is easy to get around so that's not an issue. The only place I would try instead of Papadopoli next time around are one of those hotels situated right on the grand canal. They all had al fresco restaurants looking at the canal gorgeous for a romantic evening. But I presume those will be more expensive. So all in all Papadopoli is a good hotel, get a good room looking out at the canal and you're good to go. (unless you can afford one of those gorgeous grand canal hotels)

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank himalayanodyssey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,020 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,531 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#54 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#26 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Santa Croce 245, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Venice
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
#32 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sestiere of Santa Croce, the other Venice among secret gardens and animated courtyards, cherished in the oblivion of the most unique city in the world.Hotel Papadopoli stands on the Tolentini Canal, inside the Papadopoli Gardens, created in 1834 by Francesco Bagnara. It’s a truly enviable location: close to the Canal Grande and the Constitution bridge, an artwork by the famous architect Calatrava, that connects the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadopoli Venice Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venezia
Sofitel Venice
Venice Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing