We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“More than I expected”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #39 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 16 May 2014

This beautiful little hotel is located perfectly. Close to the train station and around the corner from the Grand Canal. The Rialto Bridge is less than a 10 minute walk. The rooms are as expected for Venice very small but beautifully appointed. The breakfast we had here was the best we had in Italy and was served in the most beautiful dining room.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jbendler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

587 - 593 of 2,233 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Papadopoli for 3 nights. The location is perfect as it is only a very short walk from P Le Roma water bus station and unlike other hotels very easy to find.

The hotels interior design was just how you would want a Venetian hotel to look but with the modern touches you also want such as free wifi and a charger in the room for pretty much every type of phone / camera you could think of.

The staff were fantastic, they honestly could not have been more attentive, the breakfast was very good with a wide choice plus the hotel was very clean. If you are looking to find a hotel in this price range in Venice I think you will struggle to do better.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We have stayed in numerous hotels (incl over 20 in Italy alone), and the room we were given is the smallest we have had anywhere - ie, small even for Italy. That said, most rooms in the hotel were larger than ours and I assume more positive reviews here reflect that. The room, while clean, is showing some wear, in carpet, wallpaper, and baseboards; it was equipped with a small minibar and very small desk, and DID incl free wifi. Noise from inside the hotel did wake us, but on the 5th floor we heard no outside noise. 2 elevators were slow (esp when tour groups came and left), but were adequate. We found the front desk friendly but not always responsive.
Location was the main positive for us, right at the Piazzale Roma and train station, and a few steps off the Grand Canal.
The big plus, and the reason we give the hotel a 4 instead of 3, is the great buffet breakfast and great service in the dining room, both for breakfast and dinner (we found the dinner of average quality).

Room Tip: Check room size - some are tiny
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank heund
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMPapadopoli, Direttore at Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 May 2014

Dear Guest,
thank you very much for choosing our Hotel for your last stay in Venice.
I am really sorry we fell short of your expectations, I hope you’ll give us another chance to regain your confidence.
Our Guests’ satisfaction is our first aim and I’d like to reassured that proper actions have already been taken to avoid any similar problem for the future.
I stay at your complete disposal for any further information you might need.
Best regards
Pierpaolo Cocchi
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 May 2014

I didn't get to pick this hotel. We were traveling with Collette Vacations. I know they are very choosy, but I thought that Venetian prices might be enough to cause them to compromise in this case. Not so at all. The Hotel is absolutely lovely and as old-European as it can be. Just right for a couple of nights in one of the world's most delightful cities. The only modern touches were the free wifi and the card key door entry system. Otherwise, you might think you were right back in the 19th century. Another plus: It is at the very threshold of Venice and very easy to find. Wonderful, wonderful, wonderful!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Keith M
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 May 2014

Stayed three nights at the Papadopoli which is walking distance from the main bus stop from the airport and near P Le Roma which is a major water bus stop. It is also walking distance to St Lucia which is a major train station going to Mestre. Venice is very easy to get around if you use the public transport system and the hotel is ideally located for this. The hotel itself has a grand foyer, the breakfast included was very very good and the hotel staff very helpful. The room was small and expensive, but then again living in a hotel in Venice is expensive.

Room Tip: get a high floor and if you can one with a canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luke G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We stayed here for three nights and found the hotel to be very comfortable and in a good location.
The hotel is situated only a few minutes walk from the station and very close to the Place de Romani Vaporetto water bus stop and access to all tourist locations on the Grand Canal. (Buy a 24 or 36 hr Vaporetto pass for easy travel) The bus terminus is also a very short walk away.
Rooms are well appointed and the staff all speak very good English.
There is a small lounge and bar area, also a rather nice dining room. Breakfast is plentiful with a good choice of breads, cereals, meats, eggs and fruit.
The staff were very helpful and polite.
There are a number of very good restaurants to suit all budgets in the immediate locality.
We were looking forward to our Venice holiday and this hotel turned out to be an excellent choice.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank philinda24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#3 of 385 in Venice
1,960 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Canal Grande
#10 of 385 in Venice
2,126 reviews
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#81 of 385 in Venice
1,866 reviews
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel

Address: Via Santa Croce 245, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Venice
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
#27 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £144 - £310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sestiere of Santa Croce, the other Venice among secret gardens and animated courtyards, cherished in the oblivion of the most unique city in the world.Hotel Papadopoli stands on the Tolentini Canal, inside the Papadopoli Gardens, created in 1834 by Francesco Bagnara. It’s a truly enviable location: close to the Canal Grande and the Constitution bridge, an artwork by the famous architect Calatrava, that connects the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadopoli Venice Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venezia
Sofitel Venice
Venice Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing