We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Ranked #45 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

2,068 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,195
    708
    125
    26
    14
See reviews for
286
1,360
69
90
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (235)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
California
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

Clean, compact but sufficient comfortable rooms, very good breakfast with selection of hot dishes, hams and cheeses, fruit and pastry, and very helpful staff. It is decorated in XVIII Venetian style with all furniture but the computer table (just off the lobby) featuring fine wood inlay. From the airport by bus to Piazzella Roma - 30 min. From that bus station to the hotel - 3 min walk. From hotel to the railway station (we departed by speed train to Rome) - 12 min walk, to Rialto Bridge - about 15 min and to Piazza San Marco - about 25 min, to the famous Basilica dei Frari, and Tintoretto's biggest exhibition place -5 min, the nearest vaporetto on Grand Canal - 5 min, to good restaurants (for local dishes and seafood I can recommend Ristorante Pedrocchi, since 1886, excellent cuisine, very reasonable pricing) – about 10 min. Go there.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank new1234
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We spent a long weekend here in April and loved this hotel ; from the minute we walked in the staff couldn't help enough. The breakfast was the biggest buffet we have ever seen !fantastic choices. The bedroom was well furnished but just a bit on the small side slept well in the bed.The towels we're fluffy and there was a fluffy towelling robe for each of us to use there was enough toiletries too and a hair drier for in the bathroom. We had a meal in the restaurant one night which was out of this world as the chef had created a special Easter menu the price was 55 euro each and included wine and water so was well priced for 7 excellently presented tasty courses and included coffee! We would return to this hotel, just a thought take insect repellent to venice as the midges are attracted to water we had a few bites! The hotel was spotless and always being cleaned, a good location too for train/ boats and other transport.
Also not too far to walk to the square and other sights.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank michellebK1024AB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Beirut
Level Contributor
217 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

If in Venice, one should make sure to stay either close to the train station, or to the Rialto bridge or Piazza San Marco. Walking around the city and finding one's way can be quite a daunting experience, since there are so many small narrow streets, some without names, so many smaller and larger piazzas, you really feel like a lab mouse in a labyrinth! Luckily, we were staying at the Papadopoli, a good hotel within walking distance from the train station, and, wherever we were, there were always signs showing the direction of the Ferrovia (train station) or Rialto or San Marco! Easy! (-ish). The hotel itself is good, comfortable, with efficient and welcoming staff, but definitely its easy access was, at least for us, its location!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 1001night
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
California
Level Contributor
143 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2014

We were in Venice for a conference and the primary hotel was sold out so we were sent here - what great luck!

First, the hotel is in the perfect location for train travel - easy 2 block walk to the train station (although over a couple bridges). Walk out the front door and you are on a small and somewhat quieter canal that makes you melt into the sensations of Venice.

Secondly, the area is just a bit away from the overly toursity places, and we found enough peace and quiet - small streets, canals and restaurants - that it was a perfect respite after the vaporettos (water buses), San Marco, and the other very busy areas. In addition, it is within two blocks of two separate vaporetto stations!

Third, the rooms are nice and the beddings are well above average.

Finally, the breakfast was excellent, a mix of pastries, fresh fruits, your typical European hams etc, and also eggs and bacon or sausage for those Americans or Brits who are interested. All of the food was of very high quality except the yogurt which surprisingly came in plastic containers.

The staff was very friendly and helpful, and the bar, restaurant and common areas were well above average, and complete with a pianist in the evening.

This is a five star hotel that I guess is somewhere between a four and five star hotel in my opinion. Venice is very expensive, especially at this time of year, so anything even near a 4 star price would be a super bargain. I probably wouldn't pay full price at the 5 star level, but I would certainly pay close to that for this gem of a hotel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sbh858
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

My wife and I stayed at the hotel to celebrate an anniversary, it was our first trip to Venice and as such we weren't at all sure of what to expect. As soon as we arrived at the hotel we knew we would enjoy the experience, the staff were friendly and professional, the public rooms were stunning and our room was exceptional........the hotel made our holiday and it is in a great part of the city, recommended!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cliff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#35 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,025 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#10 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 3,538 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Moresco
Hotel Moresco
#2 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,840 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
Hotel Ca' Zusto Venezia
#54 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 810 reviews
Cannaregio
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
Arcadia Boutique Hotel
#27 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 827 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel

Property: Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Address: Via Santa Croce 245, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#11 Green Hotel in Venice
#12 Business Hotel in Venice
#32 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#34 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#60 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel 4*
Number of rooms: 97
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
In the sestiere of Santa Croce, the other Venice among secret gardens and animated courtyards, cherished in the oblivion of the most unique city in the world.Hotel Papadopoli stands on the Tolentini Canal, inside the Papadopoli Gardens, created in 1834 by Francesco Bagnara. It’s a truly enviable location: close to the Canal Grande and the Constitution bridge, an artwork by the famous architect Calatrava, that connects the hotel ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Papadopoli Venice Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venice
Sofitel Hotel Venezia
Sofitel Venice
Venice Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing