We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel, great location”
Review of Arlecchino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Arlecchino Hotel
Ranked #91 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is excellent in all respects. It is 5 minutes walk from the train station and just one bridge to cross for the ship port. We chose it because we were taking a cruise from Venice and it is just across the canal from the people mover, which takes you to the port. It couldn't be easier and more convenient. The hotel itself is fantastic. Good sized room with beautiful furnishings. Wonderful front desk staff who are very friendly and helpful with directions, restaurant and sight seeing suggestions. They stored our luggage for us both on the day we arrived and on the day we were leaving for the ship. That was a real bonus as it left us free to wander through Venice.They also offer a free one way water taxi to the Island of Murano, where the Murano glass manufacturing takes place. Very interesting to watch and shop at the gift store. The front desk staff was really wonderful and accommodating. As an example, the handle on one of our pieces of luggage broke and their porter went out of his way to help us fix it on his own time with tools that he brought from his house. What better guest service can one ask for. The buffet breakfast is excellent with a substantial selection. Definitely much better than the standard "continental" breakfast usually offered in Europe. Our terrific room (604) had big windows opening onto both the front and side canals. Wonderful views. The room was as quiet as can be, especially as it was right beside the breakfast room and we couldn't hear a thing. The room was a good size especially for Europe and the beautifully finished bathroom was an exceptional size. Lovely outdoor patio right beside the canal to sit, have a glass of wine or cappuccino and watch Venice go by, with restaurants just around the corners. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in on any of our travels to Europe. If you want a hotel at a great price in a super convenient location, stay here, you won't be disappointed. When we go back to Venice this the only place we want to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room. To get to the people mover for the cruise port, when existing the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KLHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,114)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

488 - 494 of 1,114 reviews

Reviewed 26 October 2013

This small and cozy hotel is just one bridge and 46 up/down stairs from the People Mover. Really Just two blocks from Hotel to the People Mover. It is easily seen from the P Roma, even if you arrive in the evening as we did, and just a 2 minute walk. Though very close to P Roma, since it has a corner location, it seemed calm and away from the action. We had a very small but comfortable room upstairs ( yes they have an elevator ) and a wonderful view of canals and bridges. There are many places to eat within a minute or two walk. The Hotel had a friendly helpful staff and quite accustom to getting cruise passengers. They said our ship was two blocks to the PM and then 3 blocks to the Dock and they was correct. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to a cruise passenger. It made our whole experience easy and quick. We especially appreciated the location when we saw many travelers struggling with baggage while staying at hotels close to San Marco. This was so much better and we even got to ride on the Grand Canal as a bonus.The Hotel has a nice typical European breakfast room which was ample and well presented. I imagine they get lots of repeat visitors. Overall it was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: We didn't request a canal view, but ended up with a beautiful view over one of the smaller ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank waywardpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2013

1. Excellent location for cruises ships port, via People Mover - land funicular (one stop from Piazzale ROMA.
2. Five (5) minutes walk from Piazzale ROMA, close to FEROVIA (RAILWAYS STATION).
3. Connections by bus (ATVO network) from/ to Treviso, Marco Polo Airports etc.
4. Close to "vaporetto" stations.

Room Tip: To avoid Annex rooms, if you have heavy baggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank FLORIN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

When everyone from the cruises arrived at the same time, front desk did best job to accommodate the early arrivals. Great location near all transportation. Water taxi's nearby. If you want to reduce walk to cruise ship , take a taxi to the ship. It is a long walk to the people mover from certain ships.

Room Tip: You don't want to drag your bags through the streets of Venice where there are no taxis. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Background: We did quite some travel in North American, Europe, Asia and Caribbean; so we know ahead what to expect for hotel room in different continents.

We stayed in canal view room for 3 nights in Oct.
We went in with high expectation after reading the positive reviews from Tripadvisor, maybe that was the reason why we were disappointed.

We requested for a double canal view room on the high floor, we were given a double canal view room (not bad), but on the 2nd floor.

Room (704): Smallest we ever stayed in (even comparing to other hotels in Europe), with dated decor and furniture, it gave us a hostel feel.

Bathroom: Small, impossible to move around without touching the toilet bowl (disgusting). Toilet seat and toilet bowl size did not match. Very weak water pressure even though we shower outside of the peak hours; temperature very unstable, water was either too hot or too cold. The hair dryer was very weak, lucky we did not have long hair, can't imagine how long it took to blow dry hair for someone with long thick hair.

Bed: Dated, old bed. The blanket looks dirty and with holes on it. Pillows were okay. Despite of the old dirty blanket, it was quite comfortable.

Views: We paid extra for a corner room on the 2nd floor with double canal view. Didn't feel it worth the extra money. First of all, we hardly stayed in our room except for sleeping . When we stayed in the room, we couldn't enjoy the best out of the views because:
- Inside windows can't open fully because the windows were too big and the room was too small.
Window1: We didn't want to risk knocking down the ceiling lamp by opening the window fully. Window2: Located right by the tiny little table where we stored out luggage and personal belongings. To open this window, we will need to clean up the table first.
- Mosquitos: We tried opening the window partially to enjoy the views but ended up with a few bites overnight
- Pot plant hanging outside the window blocking the views
- Noise: It can be quite noisy due to the traffic downstairs.

Breakfast: Not bad at all. Coffee / Cappuccino were excellent. Especially like the prosciutto and cheese.

Staff: Maybe just coincidence, all the male staff we talked to were very friendly and helpful; whereas the female staff were not as friendly, but still okay.

Location:
Right at piazza Roma.
The airport bus drops you at the bus stop behind the hotel, the hotel can be seen right at the bus stop. It was less than 5 minutes walk from where the bus drop you off to the hotel. For those who concerns about crossing the bridge with luggage, it was one short bridge to cross.
Train Station: 10 minutes walk to train station, one bridge (the glass bridge) to cross.
Water bus stop: Less than 5 minutes walk, one bridge to cross again.
Walking: Walking to San Macro took us 30 - 45 minutes (we walked casually). 10 minutes walk to Dorsoduro area (lots of good food)

Pickpocket alert: Unfortunately we were one of the victim. It happens in the train station, after we board the train to Rome, when we were trying to sort out the luggage (putting them on the rack), two teenage girls insisted to help. They insisted so many times that we finally gave in (guess we were just too stressed with the luggage and lost our cautiousness), while the older girl was helping out, the younger girl opened our shoulder bag (wearing at our chest) and took the coin pouch out. We found out a minute later, but they fled away already. Luckily we lost only little money as we put the big bills in our money belt. Should they have more time, they would have got our iphones from the waist bag.

Overall we weren't very happy with the stay, especially consider the amount of money we paid. If we are going back to Venice again we will try another hotel

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArlecchino1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Arlecchino Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 November 2013

Dear Dorakk,
We received your review and we are sincerely sad that one of our guests has remained with such a bad impression on our hotel since we are always so customer care oriented in the best way we can.
If we only knew that you weren't pleased with your room, we could have changed it and give you one where you could feel more confortable.
Now we can only apologize to you and thank you for your review anyway, it will help us improve our service.
Best regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 October 2013

We had a canal view and part of room was literally over the canal. Great position for sight-seeinng and we walked everywhere. Airport bus stops at Piazza Roma and the hotel is 200 metres from the bus stop. Also we were able to catch the people mover almost by the hotel to Marittima Terminal for 1 Euro each to get to cruise ship after 2 night stay.

Good breakfast as well

Room Tip: Perhaps avoid 1st floor as you are right by canal and walkways
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NicoDa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 October 2013

My wife and I stayed at this hotel on October 7, 2013 prior to our cruise.
The hotel itself was nice with clean but typically small rooms. The walls are pretty thin and you get only one English TV channel. The staff are very friendly and the buffet breakfast is very acceptable.
The main reason we liked the hotel was its location. It is situated right next to the bus terminal where our bus shuttle from the airport dropped us off. It is also very close to the "people mover" which takes you directly to the cruise terminal.
It is not cheap but the price is reasonable when you consider other hotels in Venice.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Phantom052
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#30 of 387 in Venice
2,278 reviews
Novotel Venezia Mestre
#157 of 387 in Venice
2,179 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,934 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#125 of 387 in Venice
862 reviews
Hotel Antiche Figure
#7 of 387 in Venice
3,915 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Ala - Historical Places of Italy
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlecchino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlecchino Hotel

Address: Santa Croce 390 | Fondamenta delle Burchielle, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Venice
#94 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £68 - £217 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlecchino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The position of Arlecchino hotel make it easy access via car/aeroplane/train or even cruise ship.hotel arlecchino is unique for the fact that it is extremely close to Piazzale roma, the entrance of Venice, making any transport of luggage,trouble free, also easy car parking,pre -arranged , if necessary by the management. Piazzale roma is also the shuttle stop for cruiseship and Venice airports. The bedrooms are all decorated in a typical venetian style with er,air conditioninig private bath, hairdryer telephone , satellite tv...THE Breakfast room has windows facing into one of the typical canal. If you book throught our official site you'll get the best rates and you can and buy your breakfast at the promotional price of 1 Euro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Nozio Netplan srl, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Arlecchino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlecchino Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing