We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Conveniently Located to Everything! Organized Staff!”
Review of Arlecchino Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Arlecchino Hotel
Ranked #81 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, AB
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Conveniently Located to Everything! Organized Staff!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

When you are looking for a hotel that is easy to get to, easy to find, in a city that you don't speak the language - and you don't want to roll your luggage up and down tight walkways and steep bridges - this is the place for you!

We also came off a cruise - and we walked from the cruise port - up the car ramp, over the glass bridge and after a 15-20 min walk - Arlecchino was easily spotted with its bright yellow exterior and large signage. As noted, it is right next to the main bus station that can pretty much get you everywhere. It is also a 5 minute walk to the Termini train station that gets you to the other cities such as Rome! Another 10 minute walk northeast and you are at the waterbus stop Guglie - the stop to get you to the Marco Polo Airport (30 minute ride via waterbus).

We easily followed the crowd to Marco Square which took 30 minutes.

Our rooms were cozy and charming. You are in Europe, so do not expect fancy large hotel rooms with Westin Hotel King beds. It has everything you need - with a main focus on cleanliness and free wifi. We got room 803 - which was on the 3rd floor - and got the view of the canal - and of course the bus stop on the other side. At night, being so centrally located, it was quite loud throughout the night - so bear that in mind if you are a light sleeper.

If I were to go to Venice again, this definitely would be the hotel of choice, with their knowledgeable staff who are organized and on the ball. Informative and easy going. It is a great place to drop down your luggage for a nice rest!

For the hotter summer months - I recommend a place with AC :)

Room Tip: Rooms on the north side would be quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sunjoyjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,029 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    428
    458
    99
    26
    18
See reviews for
224
574
25
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (212)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Fredericksburg, Virginia
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 October 2013

I booked this hotel because my husband and I were taking a cruise from Venice and I read that it is convenient to both the port and train station. This is true. BUT while we were there was some kind of maintenance work being done in the room next door, which involved drop cloths and ladders being placed in the hall in front of our room. This was not mentioned at all to me, even at check in. One of the windows in our room was broken, and I was afraid it was going to fall out of the frame the entire time. Yes it is cheap for Venice and yes if is convenient, but I would have paid more money to stay somewhere in better repair.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArlecchino1, Responsabile relazioni con la clientela at Arlecchino Hotel, responded to this review, 2 November 2013
Dear Sarah,
We are very sorry that your experience in our hotel was not a pleasant one as we always try and give our best to make our guests' stay wonderful.
Please accept our apologies for not informing you about the maintenance works but an unexpected pipe break had to be repaired and it took more time than we thought to fix it.
I am sorry you didn't inform the reception desk staff that this was causing you annoyance because I'm sure they would have find a way to change your room and make you feel comfortable.
We thank you for your review, it will make us improve and not let things like this happen again and we really hope that if you ever come back in Venice you will give us another chance and we promise we will make your stay memorable.
Best regards,
The Management
Hotel Arlecchino Venezia
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ottawa Canada
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

This hotel is excellent in all respects. It is 5 minutes walk from the train station and just one bridge to cross for the ship port. We chose it because we were taking a cruise from Venice and it is just across the canal from the people mover, which takes you to the port. It couldn't be easier and more convenient. The hotel itself is fantastic. Good sized room with beautiful furnishings. Wonderful front desk staff who are very friendly and helpful with directions, restaurant and sight seeing suggestions. They stored our luggage for us both on the day we arrived and on the day we were leaving for the ship. That was a real bonus as it left us free to wander through Venice.They also offer a free one way water taxi to the Island of Murano, where the Murano glass manufacturing takes place. Very interesting to watch and shop at the gift store. The front desk staff was really wonderful and accommodating. As an example, the handle on one of our pieces of luggage broke and their porter went out of his way to help us fix it on his own time with tools that he brought from his house. What better guest service can one ask for. The buffet breakfast is excellent with a substantial selection. Definitely much better than the standard "continental" breakfast usually offered in Europe. Our terrific room (604) had big windows opening onto both the front and side canals. Wonderful views. The room was as quiet as can be, especially as it was right beside the breakfast room and we couldn't hear a thing. The room was a good size especially for Europe and the beautifully finished bathroom was an exceptional size. Lovely outdoor patio right beside the canal to sit, have a glass of wine or cappuccino and watch Venice go by, with restaurants just around the corners. One of the best hotels we have ever stayed in on any of our travels to Europe. If you want a hotel at a great price in a super convenient location, stay here, you won't be disappointed. When we go back to Venice this the only place we want to stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view room. To get to the people mover for the cruise port, when existing the hote...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KLHolmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SE of Disorder
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 October 2013

This small and cozy hotel is just one bridge and 46 up/down stairs from the People Mover. Really Just two blocks from Hotel to the People Mover. It is easily seen from the P Roma, even if you arrive in the evening as we did, and just a 2 minute walk. Though very close to P Roma, since it has a corner location, it seemed calm and away from the action. We had a very small but comfortable room upstairs ( yes they have an elevator ) and a wonderful view of canals and bridges. There are many places to eat within a minute or two walk. The Hotel had a friendly helpful staff and quite accustom to getting cruise passengers. They said our ship was two blocks to the PM and then 3 blocks to the Dock and they was correct. I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to a cruise passenger. It made our whole experience easy and quick. We especially appreciated the location when we saw many travelers struggling with baggage while staying at hotels close to San Marco. This was so much better and we even got to ride on the Grand Canal as a bonus.The Hotel has a nice typical European breakfast room which was ample and well presented. I imagine they get lots of repeat visitors. Overall it was a very nice experience.

Room Tip: We didn't request a canal view, but ended up with a beautiful view over one of the smaller ones...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank waywardpalm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bucharest, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 24 October 2013

1. Excellent location for cruises ships port, via People Mover - land funicular (one stop from Piazzale ROMA.
2. Five (5) minutes walk from Piazzale ROMA, close to FEROVIA (RAILWAYS STATION).
3. Connections by bus (ATVO network) from/ to Treviso, Marco Polo Airports etc.
4. Close to "vaporetto" stations.

Room Tip: To avoid Annex rooms, if you have heavy baggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FLORIN P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 October 2013

When everyone from the cruises arrived at the same time, front desk did best job to accommodate the early arrivals. Great location near all transportation. Water taxi's nearby. If you want to reduce walk to cruise ship , take a taxi to the ship. It is a long walk to the people mover from certain ships.

Room Tip: You don't want to drag your bags through the streets of Venice where there are no taxis. This is...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tom O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dorakk
Level 5 Contributor
29 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 October 2013

Background: We did quite some travel in North American, Europe, Asia and Caribbean; so we know ahead what to expect for hotel room in different continents.

We stayed in canal view room for 3 nights in Oct.
We went in with high expectation after reading the positive reviews from Tripadvisor, maybe that was the reason why we were disappointed.

We requested for a double canal view room on the high floor, we were given a double canal view room (not bad), but on the 2nd floor.

Room (704): Smallest we ever stayed in (even comparing to other hotels in Europe), with dated decor and furniture, it gave us a hostel feel.

Bathroom: Small, impossible to move around without touching the toilet bowl (disgusting). Toilet seat and toilet bowl size did not match. Very weak water pressure even though we shower outside of the peak hours; temperature very unstable, water was either too hot or too cold. The hair dryer was very weak, lucky we did not have long hair, can't imagine how long it took to blow dry hair for someone with long thick hair.

Bed: Dated, old bed. The blanket looks dirty and with holes on it. Pillows were okay. Despite of the old dirty blanket, it was quite comfortable.

Views: We paid extra for a corner room on the 2nd floor with double canal view. Didn't feel it worth the extra money. First of all, we hardly stayed in our room except for sleeping . When we stayed in the room, we couldn't enjoy the best out of the views because:
- Inside windows can't open fully because the windows were too big and the room was too small.
Window1: We didn't want to risk knocking down the ceiling lamp by opening the window fully. Window2: Located right by the tiny little table where we stored out luggage and personal belongings. To open this window, we will need to clean up the table first.
- Mosquitos: We tried opening the window partially to enjoy the views but ended up with a few bites overnight
- Pot plant hanging outside the window blocking the views
- Noise: It can be quite noisy due to the traffic downstairs.

Breakfast: Not bad at all. Coffee / Cappuccino were excellent. Especially like the prosciutto and cheese.

Staff: Maybe just coincidence, all the male staff we talked to were very friendly and helpful; whereas the female staff were not as friendly, but still okay.

Location:
Right at piazza Roma.
The airport bus drops you at the bus stop behind the hotel, the hotel can be seen right at the bus stop. It was less than 5 minutes walk from where the bus drop you off to the hotel. For those who concerns about crossing the bridge with luggage, it was one short bridge to cross.
Train Station: 10 minutes walk to train station, one bridge (the glass bridge) to cross.
Water bus stop: Less than 5 minutes walk, one bridge to cross again.
Walking: Walking to San Macro took us 30 - 45 minutes (we walked casually). 10 minutes walk to Dorsoduro area (lots of good food)

Pickpocket alert: Unfortunately we were one of the victim. It happens in the train station, after we board the train to Rome, when we were trying to sort out the luggage (putting them on the rack), two teenage girls insisted to help. They insisted so many times that we finally gave in (guess we were just too stressed with the luggage and lost our cautiousness), while the older girl was helping out, the younger girl opened our shoulder bag (wearing at our chest) and took the coin pouch out. We found out a minute later, but they fled away already. Luckily we lost only little money as we put the big bills in our money belt. Should they have more time, they would have got our iphones from the waist bag.

Overall we weren't very happy with the stay, especially consider the amount of money we paid. If we are going back to Venice again we will try another hotel

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dorakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HotelArlecchino1, Responsabile relazioni pubbliche at Arlecchino Hotel, responded to this review, 7 November 2013
Dear Dorakk,
We received your review and we are sincerely sad that one of our guests has remained with such a bad impression on our hotel since we are always so customer care oriented in the best way we can.
If we only knew that you weren't pleased with your room, we could have changed it and give you one where you could feel more confortable.
Now we can only apologize to you and thank you for your review anyway, it will help us improve our service.
Best regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Dorsoduro / Accademia
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
HOTEL OLIMPIA Venice
#33 of 385 in Venice
2,075 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#106 of 385 in Venice
828 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#101 of 385 in Venice
402 reviews
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Hotel Tiziano
Hotel Tiziano
#74 of 385 in Venice
492 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arlecchino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arlecchino Hotel

Property: Arlecchino Hotel
Address: Santa Croce 390 | Fondamenta delle Burchielle, 30135 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Dorsoduro / Accademia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
#82 Family Hotel in Venice
#95 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Arlecchino Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The position of Arlecchino hotel make it easy access via car/aeroplane/train or even cruise ship.hotel arlecchino is unique for the fact that it is extremely close to Piazzale roma, the entrance of Venice, making any transport of luggage,trouble free, also easy car parking,pre -arranged , if necessary by the management. Piazzale roma is also the shuttle stop for cruiseship and Venice airports. The bedrooms are all decorated in a typical venetian style with er,air conditioninig private bath, hairdryer telephone , satellite tv...THE Breakfast room has windows facing into one of the typical canal. If you book throught our official site you'll get the best rates and you can and buy your breakfast at the promotional price of 1 Euro! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Nozio Netplan srl, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), ACCOR, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Arlecchino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arlecchino Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing