We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“La vera Venezia”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Ranked #94 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
87 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
“La vera Venezia”
Reviewed 21 February 2013

I had a room on the second floor and there is no lift and I am seventy-five years of age; that is the sum total of the minuses for this fantastic hotel. The staff that greeted me on arrival- greeted as in made me feel welcome- were polite and helpful and the Egyptian receptionist (it is to my shame that I cannot recall his name- he was exceptionally helpful and deserves better of me ) was not only friendly to me but was welcoming to my Venetian friend when he visited me. He ensured that my bags were taken to my room before I had a chance to ask and he suggested a prosecco or a spritzer while I was waiting for my friend.
Breakfast produced a selection of food far better than normal - the usual selection plus eggs, bacon and sausages for the British who cannot think of any alternative to the traditional "English" breakfast which you can enjoy in a setting so typical of La Serenissima; beside a balcony overlooking Canale Grande; how much nearer to heaven can you get?
The bedroom was quiet and immaculately clean and the whole place was a delight. I was fortunate to get a special deal that resulted in my paying not much more for my three night stay than for the Saturday night at full price but despite the cost I am returning in June with my partner at a much increased cost so that she can experience the sheer delight of what this palazzo has to offer. This is not just a hotel this is an experience of la vera Venezia - fantastica

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Gi0vanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    412
    102
    40
    20
See reviews for
276
514
94
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 February 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely stay in this hotel, full of true Venetian charm and splendour. Very comfortable large double room - excellent service throughout - everyone willing to help. Breakfast served in a room overlooking The Grand Canal - food very good. Would definitely recommend very highly.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Heather A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
48 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

Booked this hotel for 2 nights on Hotwire before continuing on to Trieste for a cruise of the Adriatic. Arrived into Venice from Rome via train and took the Line 1 Vaporetto and alighted at San Stae. A few small canals over, and of course many stairs, I followed the sign and found the hotel. I was informed that the hotel had experienced a burst pipe and I would be moved to a "sister" hotel. Unfortunately for this hotel, the hotel they moved me too was spectacular and I was then moved back here for the second night. There is nothing wrong with this place, it is in beautiful Palazzo with a courtyard, but after my stay at the other property it is was no comparison. The room was fine, although my Sky Satellite wasn't working, bed was comfortable and of course location was great. Breakfast was in a little room with a window/balcony overlooking the Grande Canal. There was a wide choice of foods and the hotel was quite popular.

Overall I enjoyed my stay in Venice and found the property to be worth the price paid.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jmanthetravelman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Espergærde, Frederiksborg, Denmark
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 February 2013

We stayed at the charming 14th century house San Cassiano Ca' Favretto on our second visit to Venice and loved the friendly, easy-going staff, the quirky decor and the sense of being away from the hustle and bustle while still being only 4 minutes walk from everything.
The hotel is on the Canal Grande which means you can be sailed straight to the entrance - it also means that you can sit on the tiny deck with generous evening drinks...
Rooms are decorated in typical old Venetian style and are both pleasant and large, bathrooms also. We really enjoyed the coffee and breakfast here. Falling asleep and waking to the lapping waters of the canal is just the essence of Venice, and you get this experience even if your room isn't right on Canal Grande.

A wealth of restaurants are only a brief walk away, for instance the really small one on the Calle de Pin just behind the hotel - delicious home-made pasta and the sense of being in your grandmothers dining room.
We will definitely return to this hotel - perfectly situated with great staff.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hannah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 February 2013

This hotel is delightfully situated in a true neighborhood, tucked away off the beaten path, and directly on the Grand Canal. It is about a 3 minute walk from the San Stae #1vapporetto stop. I was in a 'standard' room, traveling solo, and it was fine. The hotel is not luxurious, but very comfortably appointed.
Getting out to Rialto is easy, left, right, left, left out the front entrance and straight on and you are there in less than 5 minutes. There are signs to the hotel strategically placed, albeit when you are already 'there", but believe it: once you get in and out one or two times, you can do it blindfolded. Plot it out on the online map the hotel provides your first time there, and you are set.
The staff is very friendly and intelligent, particularly so if you acknowledge you are in Venice, not Disney World. You will be received as you are.
The breakfast room is pleasant, a bit crowded at peak times but no one had to wait for a table during my visit at Carnivale. The selection is as good as anything you will find wandering about the area for breakfast. Italians aren't keen on big breakfasts, and it is obvious they are trying to accommodate other preferences.
Lots of good restaurants within easy walking distance. I love La Zucca, on Calle del Tintor @ Ponte de Megio.
I would definitely stay here again! (and hope to. . . )

Room Tip: I was not on the canal, still I heard boats outside my window from down the alley. If you choose a c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank quail_hill_farm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perpignan, France
Level Contributor
34 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2013

Our room for 4 was large, spacious and well maintained. Decorated in a venetian style complete with chandelier.
The front desk staff were friendly and helpful, the bar prices very very reasonable for Venice( 12,50 euros for a bottle of wine), the terrace overlooking the grand canal fantastic to "spend a moment".
The breakfast more than adequate with hot bacon and eggs, toast, pastries,fruit, mixed meats and cheeses, although the juice not so great.
The whole experience was fantastic and at the price we booked for , we were unbeliavably lucky.
Can be a bit tricky to find the first time, but afterwards you realise this is a very central location with Rialto Bridge just a 3/4 minute walk away.
Cant reccommend highly enough!!
Thankyou for the experience!!

Room Tip: OK, if you go to Venice you may want a canal view room and pay more for it, but it can get very busy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TravellingMJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nice, France
Level Contributor
22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 January 2013

This was a beautiful hotel in Venice with friendly staff. The rooms were clean, well kept and offered plenty of space. We stayed in a basic room and the bed consisted of two twin beds put together, which was not always the most comfortable, but otherwise the room was great. The breakfast offered many choices including eggs, fresh fruit, pastries, cereal, yogurt, etc. and it was all in a lovely room overlooking the Grand Canal. I would recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Anna_W34567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#95 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#11 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,953 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#19 of 384 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#29 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#69 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Property: San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Address: Santa Croce 2232, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#58 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#102 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Ebookers, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Cassiano Residenza d`Epoca Ca` Favretto Hotel Venice
Hotel San Cassiano Venice
San Cassiano Ca Favretto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing