We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The highlight of our stay!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Ranked #97 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I are just back from 4 nights in the San Cassiano and have no doubt that the hotel made a great holiday unforgettable!

I had reservations about this hotel prior to going as the furnishings looked quite dated in the pictures and the hotel generally looked a bit tatty but unless you have been you can't really understand it in context. Suffice it to say I was very wrong and there is nothing to worry about.

We arrived by water taxi direct to the hotel and I would recommend this as it just sets the scene. Walking in to the lobby is breath taking and it's only once your there that everything really clicks. Breathtaking is the only word I can think of to describe it. The lobby with its murano chandeliers the marble staircases all clicked to provide the perfect setting for out Venice trip.

We stayed in room 333 which provides a stunning view out into the small court yard. The room was spotless and had everything we needed compact but beautifully furnished to keep in line with the theme if the hotel.

Great breakfasts were served in the 1st floor dinning area with two tables available to sit and watch the view of the grand canal from the balcony outside,

The staff were always very pleasant and attentive with the waiters/concierge noted for there relentless busy nature.

The dock area on the canal side of the hotel will be remembered as the best part of our trip because after a day of walking the street and viewing the many sights sitting with a drink and watching the world go by on the canal was an experience we will never forget.

This hotel is a must if your heading to Venice. FANTASTIC!!!

Room Tip: We met others who had upgraded to canal views for there stay but don't worry if it's not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank rsjohn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,176)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

464 - 470 of 1,177 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

I trusted the reviews from trip advisor and I wasn't disappointed. Beautiful hotel, Venetian all the way! Even had a confirmation of that when there was a movie star as a guest there! Kids loved it, not too far from the Rialto Bridge, and there are scores of restaurants and shops near by. The history of the hotel was wonderful. It was built in the 14th century, which normally I would think it might smell musty....NOPE! It was truly wonderful! Great staff, very helpful. And breakfast was very nice as well! I'd stay there again in a heartbeat! Even our private guide was amazed we found such a rare nugget of a hotel in Venice!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Shari1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

We booked this hotel for seven nights in June.
The hotel was charming and the staff nice and attentive. The room was cleaned daily and the towels replaced each day.
The breakfast room is narrow with a small balcony for two tables over looking the Grand Canal.
The breakfast food is self service with bacon,eggs,cheese, cold hams,toast,rolls,tea and coffee.
The hotel is situated nicely for the Rialto bridge and the surrounding nightlife but is far enough away to be quiet at night.
We enjoyed our stay and the hotel and flights were cheap enough but Venice prices, e.g food and drink are very expensive and once you've seen Venice I don't think there is enough to bring us back.
Venice is certainly one of those places that everyone should see at least once.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very nice Hotel and very friendly staff. It's old and has character. Three floors walk up but no big deal. Breakfast was Great and in a very nice room with a view of the canal. The room was fairly clean, but the lighting was very dim. But the a/c worked! Get a/c when you go. It was hot that week in Venice! Boat ride from the airport was overpriced and slow. Had to walk from the drop off point to the hotel. If you have health issues or a lot of baggage prepare for a few bridges to cross and a short walk. Great Location over all a good choice.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MJC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel San Cassiano earlier this month and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. We arrived by private water taxi from the airport which was a fantastic although pricey experience, but just had to be done when staying on the Grand Canal in Venice. The location of the hotel was good, we were within walking distance of all major sights but in a quiet area so no problem with noise at night. It was a bit tricky finding our way back to the hotel after our first trip out but there is something lovely about getting lost in Venice!! Our room was on the top floor which was fine for us but do be aware if you don't do stairs as there are no lifts! This is because this beautiful building is 600 years old! We had a side glimpse of the canal from our balcony, and I think if we were to stay in Venice again would definately pay the extra to have a canal view room. Our room was lovely and authentically decorated with traditional furniture, bathroom was a decent size with good shower and very clean. Breakfast was served on the 2nd floor in a lovely sunny room with doors which opened up onto a balcony where we usually sat and had our morning coffee watching life on the Grand Canal. Buffet style breakfast with the usual hot and cold choices but everything was fresh and constantly replenished by the pleasant staff. The staff on Reception were welcoming and helpful and always polite and courteous - wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra charge for a Grand Canal view - definately worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 June 2014 via mobile

This is a very nice Hotel and is beautifully presented. It is hundreds of years old and has some character. There is no lift but there are only three floors so didn't present a problem to us but may be worthwhile considering if mobility is an issue. Breakfast was first class and the staff were superb. Hotel location is quite good. For us the bar was a weak link for this Hotel. When we wanted a drink we usually had to wait for someone to leave off other duties to come and attend the bar. Often, the bar is a social hub for any Hotel. Not the case here.
The Rooms were very nice and of reasonable size.
Overall, I would stay here again and certainly recommend to others.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gazthelob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2014

My wife booked us in here for 1 night as a complete surprise for my 50th Birthday (The surprise extended to flying us out from London Stanstead for 1 night !).

We travel a lot and normally stay very much budget - and this was a rare blow out. We found the place quite easily (But this was our 5th visit to Venice so we were used to navigating the small backstreets). It is a little out of the way - but all the better for it.

Reception were very friendly - perfect English (And Fench and German.....). We had the Canal view room on the 3rd floor. The hotel are quite upfront about there being no lift but there was a porter on hand to take the case up the pretty steep stairs.

Room was gorgeous - highlight the 2 windows out onto the Grand Canal. Bliss - an absolute dream come true. Wifi was free - one code per device but it didn't expire or anything weird.

Breakfast was ok - possibly the only thing about the hotel which was not top notch - but good enough nonetheless. The dining room however well decked out.

We had a dreamy coffee late at night on the small porch at the canal side of the hotel which allows one a glorious view of the canal and the boats plying their way up and down in the dark.

All in all a Hotel we can thoroughly recommend.

Room Tip: Canal view - excellent.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Me_n_my_rucksack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#34 of 385 in Venice
2,453 reviews
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#75 of 385 in Venice
1,554 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
Hotel Gorizia A La Valigia
#133 of 385 in Venice
822 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Castello
Hotel Casa Verardo - Residenza D'Epoca
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Address: Santa Croce 2232, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#81 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#101 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £68 - £350 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , ACCOR, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Cassiano Residenza d`Epoca Ca` Favretto Hotel Venice
Hotel San Cassiano Venice
San Cassiano Ca Favretto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing