We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old World Charm”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Ranked #93 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Old World Charm”
Reviewed 7 July 2014 via mobile

We stayed here for 2 nights. We loved the location. While we were in Venice there were 4 cruise ships there too. I loved the location of the hotel because it was far away from all the noise and confusion from the cruise ships.

The hotel has a great sitting area in the front on water and a garden seating area in the back.

They accommodated our family of 4 with one room. King bed and 2 twins so it was perfect. It's a very old "palace/mansion" so it has a lot of charm. Lots of stairs to get to our room though. We didn't mind it. However, if you have issues with that make sure you inquire about that.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Mallardnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,105 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    531
    412
    102
    40
    20
See reviews for
276
514
94
7
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (231)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whittier, California
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 July 2014 via mobile

My family and I stayed here towards the end of June.
We arrived literally right to the door of this hotel via water transport.
Hotel: we have been to Venice a few times and each hotel has been very nice. This one was no exception! Ca' Favretto is right on the grand canal tucked away on one of Venice's little hidden side streets. The hotel itself is in a 14th century building and has maintained much of its very old world charm. The lobby is a little dark, but that's ok. There are exposed wooden beams and lots of Venetian glass on display in both the light fixtures and the curio cabinets throughout the lobby. The staff was very friendly and while our rooms were not quite ready when we arrived, we trusted them to watch our bags while we went exploring. The only real downside for some might be that there is no lift in this hotel. Rooms are located on the 2nd & 3rd floors. We didn't mind so much because after all of the delicious gelato & food we were eating, we needed the exercise! Also, there are guys there who will carry your bags to your room for you.
Location: the hotel is on the Grand Canal but is still tucked away from the main tourist areas, which we liked. A short walk took us over the Rialto Bridge and over to St. Mark's Square. The way is dotted with great little shops that offer wonderful souvenirs that are all made in Italy, not the junk made in China you get closer to the heavy tourist areas. In particular we found a fantastic little linen shop that has dish towels, pot holders, bath towels, etc. that they would personalize at no extra cost with an old fashioned embroidery machine!
Rooms: The rooms were really nice. They too were a bit dark, but that was more in keeping with the period of the house. There was no carpeting on the floors, there were nice big windows, the beds were comfy and most importantly, there was air conditioning! Venice was hot & humid while we were there, so coming back to a nice cool room was heavenly!
Breakfast: breakfast here was one of the best! Fresh scrambled eggs that weren't the runny norm, rashers of bacon, lots of fresh cornetos & rolls, the standard meats & cheeses, yogurt & fresh, whole fruits. There was even a lady who was happy to get you a complimentary cappuccino!
In all, I would highly recommend this hotel!

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank TRAVEL_LILY67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My wife and I are just back from 4 nights in the San Cassiano and have no doubt that the hotel made a great holiday unforgettable!

I had reservations about this hotel prior to going as the furnishings looked quite dated in the pictures and the hotel generally looked a bit tatty but unless you have been you can't really understand it in context. Suffice it to say I was very wrong and there is nothing to worry about.

We arrived by water taxi direct to the hotel and I would recommend this as it just sets the scene. Walking in to the lobby is breath taking and it's only once your there that everything really clicks. Breathtaking is the only word I can think of to describe it. The lobby with its murano chandeliers the marble staircases all clicked to provide the perfect setting for out Venice trip.

We stayed in room 333 which provides a stunning view out into the small court yard. The room was spotless and had everything we needed compact but beautifully furnished to keep in line with the theme if the hotel.

Great breakfasts were served in the 1st floor dinning area with two tables available to sit and watch the view of the grand canal from the balcony outside,

The staff were always very pleasant and attentive with the waiters/concierge noted for there relentless busy nature.

The dock area on the canal side of the hotel will be remembered as the best part of our trip because after a day of walking the street and viewing the many sights sitting with a drink and watching the world go by on the canal was an experience we will never forget.

This hotel is a must if your heading to Venice. FANTASTIC!!!

Room Tip: We met others who had upgraded to canal views for there stay but don't worry if it's not in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank rsjohn8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynchburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014

I trusted the reviews from trip advisor and I wasn't disappointed. Beautiful hotel, Venetian all the way! Even had a confirmation of that when there was a movie star as a guest there! Kids loved it, not too far from the Rialto Bridge, and there are scores of restaurants and shops near by. The history of the hotel was wonderful. It was built in the 14th century, which normally I would think it might smell musty....NOPE! It was truly wonderful! Great staff, very helpful. And breakfast was very nice as well! I'd stay there again in a heartbeat! Even our private guide was amazed we found such a rare nugget of a hotel in Venice!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shari1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

We booked this hotel for seven nights in June.
The hotel was charming and the staff nice and attentive. The room was cleaned daily and the towels replaced each day.
The breakfast room is narrow with a small balcony for two tables over looking the Grand Canal.
The breakfast food is self service with bacon,eggs,cheese, cold hams,toast,rolls,tea and coffee.
The hotel is situated nicely for the Rialto bridge and the surrounding nightlife but is far enough away to be quiet at night.
We enjoyed our stay and the hotel and flights were cheap enough but Venice prices, e.g food and drink are very expensive and once you've seen Venice I don't think there is enough to bring us back.
Venice is certainly one of those places that everyone should see at least once.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Michael W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio, United States
Level Contributor
40 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 June 2014

Very nice Hotel and very friendly staff. It's old and has character. Three floors walk up but no big deal. Breakfast was Great and in a very nice room with a view of the canal. The room was fairly clean, but the lighting was very dim. But the a/c worked! Get a/c when you go. It was hot that week in Venice! Boat ride from the airport was overpriced and slow. Had to walk from the drop off point to the hotel. If you have health issues or a lot of baggage prepare for a few bridges to cross and a short walk. Great Location over all a good choice.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MJC1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 June 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Hotel San Cassiano earlier this month and thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. We arrived by private water taxi from the airport which was a fantastic although pricey experience, but just had to be done when staying on the Grand Canal in Venice. The location of the hotel was good, we were within walking distance of all major sights but in a quiet area so no problem with noise at night. It was a bit tricky finding our way back to the hotel after our first trip out but there is something lovely about getting lost in Venice!! Our room was on the top floor which was fine for us but do be aware if you don't do stairs as there are no lifts! This is because this beautiful building is 600 years old! We had a side glimpse of the canal from our balcony, and I think if we were to stay in Venice again would definately pay the extra to have a canal view room. Our room was lovely and authentically decorated with traditional furniture, bathroom was a decent size with good shower and very clean. Breakfast was served on the 2nd floor in a lovely sunny room with doors which opened up onto a balcony where we usually sat and had our morning coffee watching life on the Grand Canal. Buffet style breakfast with the usual hot and cold choices but everything was fresh and constantly replenished by the pleasant staff. The staff on Reception were welcoming and helpful and always polite and courteous - wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: Pay the extra charge for a Grand Canal view - definately worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heidi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Cannaregio
Foscari Palace
Foscari Palace
#94 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,053 reviews
Hotel Canal Grande
#12 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,952 reviews
Hotel L'Orologio
#20 of 386 in Venice
5.0 of 5 bubbles 650 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Cannaregio
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
Ai Mori d'Oriente Hotel
#29 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,249 reviews
San Marco
Palazzo Paruta
Palazzo Paruta
#69 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 863 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Duca di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto

Property: San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto
Address: Santa Croce 2232, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#57 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#82 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#102 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your San Cassiano Residenza d'Epoca Ca' Favretto reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Cassiano Residenza d`Epoca Ca` Favretto Hotel Venice
Hotel San Cassiano Venice
San Cassiano Ca Favretto Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing