We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A touch above average but there's no GOOD category”
Review of Hotel Gardena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Gardena
Ranked #163 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 3 October 2012

The hotel is in an excellent location, especially if you take the number 5 bus from Marco Polo. It's a stones throw from where the bus drops you off but you don't feel like you are in the vicinity of a bus depot. You're right on a canal. Breakfast was good typical continental but lots of options too. Good coffee. Rooms were a little dated but I think the majority of hotels are like this in Venice. Rising damp and all that.

My request for a garden room was acknowledged but never materialised. We asked for a street map of Venice that I just saw the man at the desk hand out to another customer, to which he responded, " I'm not the tourist information you know." I would argue that hotel receptions do act in part, as tourist information for their paying customers. He did how ever, with a bit of grump, give us a map. So all in all, the hotel gets and OK. Not bad value in a very good location for a base for 2 or 3 days in Venice.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ambitiousmelon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (437)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

202 - 208 of 437 reviews

Reviewed 3 September 2012

Nice, clean hotel. Very friendly and helpful staff and well-situated in Venice. Would definitely recommend for a weekend stay. We booked with an offer which stated we would stay in an "upgraded room".. but looking at some of the photos there were definitely nicer rooms to stay in! Unfortunately, don't have any pics of the rooms.

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Pepi_Potter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2012

I had been worried that the hotel would be a bit ropey as I had found such a good price compared to other hotels in Venice. However I couldn't have been more wrong! The hotel was perfect! The trip from Treviso airport was easy. Return ticket by bus from the Barzi desk, 40min journey. From the bus station, the hotel is just 5mins, over one bridge. It is in the best location at the top of the grand canal, right next to a vaparetto stop. Buy a ticket from tourist information (near the bus station) for the length of your stay - excellent value for money, and allows trips to Murano and Burano. I arrived at 11a.m so room wasnt ready, but I was able to leave my bag and go for a wander. The room was a good size, clean and air-conditioned. The bathroom, although small, was clean and the hairdryer was great! Everyone was very friendly and helpful. On checkout, again I was able to leave my bag until it was time for me to catch the bus back. Even though near the bus and train station, the hotel is very quiet. Perfect! would go again!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sheena C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2012

We arrived early at the hotel with the temperature outside of 37 degrees, however in the hotel the air con was on and was just right - result! The staff were really helpful and whilst our room was not quite ready as I said we were early they offered us a place to put our bags and a welcome drink. The room was spacious,clean and had a canal view, bright and cheerful. The bathroom had a separate shower, which was bigger than most we have seen in hotels and again clean. Breakfast was plentiful and you could eat it out on the terrace, which was really nice. Venice it would seem, having looked at lots of hotels can be pretty 'hit and miss' this one was definitely a hit for us. Location, location, location a stones throw from the Grand Canal but quiet and as other reviewers have said close to the vaporetto - buy a ticket for the length of your stay - tremendous value for money. Venice is an amazing place, we booked a private guide who was amazing and well worth the extra to have them all to yourself. To learn about the history, politics and psychology of Venice made our stay even more memorable. Would definitely go again and go to the Gardena!!

Room Tip: Canal view is lovely so ask for one!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank traceyp1958
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

We arrived in Venice at 9:30 in the morning having taken the bus from the airport. We had no idea where we were or how to find the hotel - we walked a over a bridge from the bus depot, and there was our hotel! We were expecting to just drop our bags there until check-in time but the front desk clerk said a room was ready for us - that was a huge blessing! Not only that, but we had only paid for an average room without a view, but the room they gave us was huge and overlooked the canal with an amazing view. Considering it was a busy Saturday, we were surprised by the great service. The room was a bit old and could have used some touching up, but everything in Venice is old so we were expecting that. The room was surprisingly quiet. The breakfast room was very cute and breakfast was excellent.

Room Tip: The rooms with a canal view are worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Jilliannie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 June 2012

We had the best room in the hotel, with a view over the canal and the park opposite (we booked early on the hotel's website). The location was good for bus, train and cruise port transport. The staff were very efficient and polite, and the breakfast was much better than our previous hotel in Venice!. Very enjoyable experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank melblib
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2012

Great location, across from both Train and rail stations. Only two small bridges to cross whilst dragging suitcases. Very close to vaporetto stops for getting into the center of Venice or any of the other islands. Forget Murano and Burano...you must visit Lido. We also were given the room behind the reception. Nice but small. Beautiful newly renovated bathroom. However, very loud due to proximity to lobby and kitchen. Friendly staff but no Internet in hotel .

Stayed: June 2012, travelled with friends
Thank Jayne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#169 of 385 in Venice
660 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Al Sole
Hotel Al Sole
#128 of 385 in Venice
935 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#105 of 385 in Venice
448 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#89 of 385 in Venice
1,105 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardena

Address: Santa Croce 239 | Riva dei tolentini, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £62 - £245 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardena 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Gardena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing