We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent value for money”
Review of Hotel Gardena

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Hotel Gardena
Ranked #163 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Reviewed 5 June 2014 via mobile

Great hotel in a convenient location to the train station. Our room overlooked a canal and we also had views of the Grand Canal. It was opposite a beautiful public garden. Location was good and everything was within walking distance. Definitely good value for money.

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Connelley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (426)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Gardena
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

144 - 150 of 426 reviews

Reviewed 31 May 2014

Gardena Hotel is very convenient to the railway and to the airport bus station, (one bridge in either direction) which is a consideration if you are arriving at night or are only staying a few days. Venice is small but you will get lost trying to navigate to more distant parts of the city with luggage in tow at night.

The hotel itself is three stories high with a lift and the front 3 or 4 rooms on each floor overlook a quiet canal and can see up to the Grand Canal to the right. There is a garden where smokers like to have breakfast. Staff are nice and helpful and breakfast is good but you need to ask for an espresso unless you want pointless American drip coffee. The room was renovated baroque and had separate toilet and shower rooms which were beautifully clean. However the ventilation was poor in both and so smelt musty.

We stayed 4 nights in mid-May and could find excellent food within ten minutes walk. It takes about 20 minutes to walk to San Marco where you can buy a coffee for 11 euros... It is a few minutes from the vaporetto station if you don't feel like walking and the boats go everywhere- Lido, Murano, airport, Grand Canal.

We will stay again.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view. Some rooms overlook the garden which is nice too.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Tripmax86
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

We are staying here now . It is a nice hotel in a section of Venice that is quiet and preferable to the crowds at San Marco. The price is good for Venice and the breakfast was good.. They have great cappuccino! Definitely give this place a look!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lfuhrman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2014

My wife and I stayed here for a couple of nights. It was out of the heavy traffic area, because it's on the northern end of the canal, but still very convenient to the train station. Once we got the hang of the Vaporetto (ferry) system, we were able to see everything in Venice that we wanted to. For the ferry, the best option if you'll be exploring is to get a one- or two-day pass. Then if you get tired of walking, you can hop on at any point to make it back.

The hotel itself had a nice charm to it. It is sufficient on the outside, although not particularly eye-catching. Just a rectangular red building. But inside the decor was nice in the lobby area, and the rooms, though small, were tastefully decorated. Since we didn't spend a lot of time in our room we didn't opt for the canal view. Instead we had an indoor courtyard view but mostly all you could see was stone walls. That was fine with us.

The service from the Concierge was excellent. They gave us a lot of recommendation on gondola rides etc. One flyer they don't promote is an opera near St Mark's that we found delightful. The front desk was so nice, that even when we were kind of late getting back in, when we asked for hot tea they prepared a charming little tray with hot water, tea and hot milk for us to take to our room. It was a nice way for us to unwind after a long adventurous day.

The room itself had a comfortable bed, clean shower, and was tastefully decorated in a traditional Italian decor. For the price, we found this hotel to be worth every penny, especially in an expensive city like Venice.

If you decide to stay at the Hotel Gardena, here are a few pointers for getting around that can help get you to the sights quickly and easily: The closest Vaporetto port is Puorto Nuovo, which is within walking distance. You can take the winding ferry through the Grand Canal, which you'll want to do at some point, but if you walk farther up the side of Puorto Novo station, a block away from the main section but still part of Puorto Nuove, there is a ferry dock that has a quicker option to St Mark's Cathedral by going around the city into the bay. We found that to be the most interesting area in Venice so often took the express. Our highlight was taking a ferry from the St Mark's area to a little island called Burano. This is a lace-making city and the buildings were all painted in charming and colorful pastel colors. It was a delight, especially after the commercialness of Venice stalls and tourist shops began to wear on us.

Convenient location, friendly staff, clean and tastefully decorated, quiet, reasonably priced. For all those reasons I would recommmend Hotel Gardena.

Room Tip: We did not get the Canal View, but the view from there would have been of a smaller branch of the Gr...
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Coach_Clark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had the pleasure of staying at this exceptional little hotel overlooking a canal in Santa Croce. Conveniently situated for train and vaporetto or just wandering around beautiful Venice. The staff at the Hotel were exceptionally welcoming and helpful. We had a lovely room overlooking the canal, beautifully furnished, crisp white linen on the bed which was so comfortable, well appointed bathroom. Downstairs beautifully furnished lounge area and breakfast room (the breakfasts are good and plentiful). Well positioned and easy walking distance to delightful cosy restaurants.This hotel is a delight all round and we plan to return in November for another visit. Highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a canal facing room.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ekrobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 April 2014

Good hotel who stops for few days-nights. Comfortable room, quiet atmosphere, free internet and nearly bus&railway station. A bit far away from central part of city to walk. Not far from good places for dining and shopping. Was nice to stay there!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baimarka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2014

I stayed at the hotel for 2 nights between the 28th and 30th March.The hotel is situated just 5 mins away from Piazzale Roma where the bus station is about an hour (by bus) from Treviso Airport. It is very clean and the hotel staff are very helpful and very fluent in English. Gardena Hotel is also the ideal location for those who want to visit Venice as it is abour 5 mins away from Rialto Bridge which is very close to Piazza San Marco.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca182
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton Capri
Hotel Carlton Capri
#177 of 385 in Venice
651 reviews
Santa Croce
Santa Chiara Hotel
Santa Chiara Hotel
#108 of 385 in Venice
424 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel ai due Fanali
Hotel ai due Fanali
#194 of 385 in Venice
241 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Dorsoduro / Accademia
Arlecchino Hotel
Arlecchino Hotel
#90 of 385 in Venice
1,063 reviews
Santa Croce
Albergo Marin
Albergo Marin
#117 of 385 in Venice
835 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Carlton on the Grand Canal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gardena? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gardena

Address: Santa Croce 239, 30135 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > Santa Croce
Amenities:
Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#116 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £77 - £339 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Gardena 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ctrip TA, Agoda, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Gardena reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gardena Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing