We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dreadful”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Ranked #97 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
169 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
“Dreadful”
Reviewed 1 April 2014

We booked a twin room and on arrival were given a double room. The receptionist who dealt with my query was extremely rude, was unable to resolve the matter and I asked to speak to the manager. At this point she spoke to another receptionist in Italian, but it was obvious she was speaking about me. We complained to the manager about her rudeness, and he did give us a complimentary bottle of wine. However overnight the room was invaded by mosquitoes and we both suffered lots of bites. Apparently this is a normal occurrence which make me wonder why the hotel do not put up mosquito nets at the windows. On the Saturday we went out at 10.30 and returned at 17.30 to find our bedroom door open. The staff were unable to give us an explanation. The price of a glass of Prosecco ranged from 3.50 Euros to 5 Euros, in bars. However in the hotel, they charge 16 Euros! Breakfast was 35 Euros per head, certainly not worth it. The receptionist was also really rude to us on departure. This is well below the standard I would expect from a Sheraton Hotel. Extremely disappointing. Our room was not pleas at either, looking out on to a wall.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank Jennifer C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    669
    263
    134
    92
See reviews for
537
1,259
63
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 March 2014 via mobile

Just left the hotel after a four night stay. The checkin process was very warm. The hotel is conducting maintenance on bye front of the hotel and our first room was a courtyard facing room - due to maintenance the windows could not be opened.

They were kind enough to move our room to a Grand Canal facing room. The new room was terrific. Great French doors opening to a small terrace. This was the highlight of the stay getting to sit on the terrace facing the canal.

Room appointments are nice as well. Marble bath, Etro bath products, and very comfortable beds.

Only suggestion is to try to get a room in the Regina building. It seemed much nicer than the Europa building.

Definitely will return to this hotel. Very high marks to Roberta at the front desk. She made a very good stay - a great stay!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Steven G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you so much for taking the time to post your comments.
We are pleased to know that you have enjoyed every aspect of your stay and we will pass your lovely comment to Roberta: for sure it will make her day!
We look forward to welcoming you back to Venice,
With best regards

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Thames Ditton, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 March 2014

On a 3 day city break and I had some doubts about whether the room with Grand Canal view would be "restricted view". I thought the private Motoscafi from the airport was a bit over the top, despite delivery direct to the hotel's own pier. The vaporetto to Giglio was good enough.
I knew that the access was not great having checked on Streetview - the only sign on Calle Larga XXII Marzo being above a narrow alleyway between 2 banks. A better one is by the Moise gondola station. That is Venice, I suppose - arrive at a small, quiet campo and scaffolding on the whole of the entrance facade. It is off one of the best streets - Gucci, Bulgari, Louis Vuitton if you are into that sort of thing - and there are a few night-time street sellers offering cheap designer-style bags - fantastic location 3 minutes walk from St Mark's Square. Could not be much better for the principal sights. Enter the marbled palazzo lobby and common areas - this is nice. Up to the room on the 3rd...
well, almost a suite with 2 tall windows and 2 balconies direct onto the Canal looking straight at Santa Maria, the Dogano and the lagoon - what a view !! Big room, huge bed, palazzo style, wood floor, marble bathroom fittings. Couldn't be much better for us.
Very nice buffet breakfast in the dining room alongside the Canal, fresh fruits, cereals, cold selection, breads, hot selection, damask table cloths. We didn't stay in for dinner but the concierge gave us very good advice on local restaurants.

The pedestrian access is not very appealing - but Venice is like that;
the scaffolding - it is a sizeable maintenance job on the side elevation and its temporary; the ground floor areas very attractive of its style; some internal refreshing of the decor and fittings and minor details; e.g. broken stair-rod. Wifi - free (but slow) in the lobby, €12 a day in the room (is that really necessary ?) Expensive - well not cheap but the view, the bar, the terrace, the dining room ..and our room - definitely worth it. 5 star - I would have to query - didn't check out what facilities there were but I am not complaining, we liked this hotel and we would stay here again.
One downside with the direct proximity to the Canal is the boat noise - it is a working canal - it runs late and starts early.

Room Tip: Ask for Canal view - it is worth it to see it at dawn, dusk and in between.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stanmansurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 31 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review regarding your recent stay at The Westin Europa & Regina.
We are very pleased you enjoyed your first experience and hopefully it won’t be the last!
We all look forward to welcoming you back soon.
With very best regards

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2014

The hotel is located only a 4 minute walk from San Marco square. You can walk to/from Rialto within 15mins. It’s a little bit difficult to find at first when on foot, unless you arrive in a private taxi from the airport (€110 one-way), which moors right outside the hotel. Our room was on the 4th floor (grand deluxe room) with a view of the canal and a cathedral. Check-in was ok – not as friendly as one might expect from a 5* hotel, but we did find a complimentary chocolate cake in our room for my birthday, which was a very nice touch.
The room is spacious and decorated in a Venetian style eg marble in the bathroom, gold fittings and fixtures etc. The windows are locked, possibly for safety, and can only be opened marginally. The room appeared to have A/C, but only blew out warm air. Not entirely sure the reason, possibly time of year (March); a fan was offered to us by reception and we also requested for the windows to be unlocked to get a nice breeze in the room; only downside is mosquitos, we were bit several times the first night but asked reception for a plugin repellent, which proved very effective.
The king size bed was big and comfortable. The bathroom had both a shower and a bathtub. We didn’t have breakfast in the hotel (priced at €32 per person). The gym was modern and well equipped, however there was a problem with the A/C again; it was blowing warm air, like in the room.
The wireless internet was only free in communal areas and €12 per day in-room, which we found extortionate. The free connection was slow. Check-out was quick and efficient, but impersonal. Eg no “How was your stay?”, “How did you find everything?”, I suppose not necessary but expected for a 5* hotel. A city tax of €5 per person per day is payable upon check-out, as with all hotels in Venice. The hotel has a very nice terrace overlooking the canal, offering beautiful views.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EKGK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 25 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent visit.
We are sorry we have not lived up to all your expectations and rest assured those comments will be discussed and handled with each member accordingly.
We can guarantee you at The Westin Europa & Regina we strive to maintain and excel in our standards and we hope to welcome you back to The Westin Europa & Regina in order to revise your feeling.

With our best regards
executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Singapore, Singapore
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 March 2014

We stayed one night each pre- & post-cruise. The hotel is well located at the grand canal with its own private pier. We arrived after a long flight about 2.30pm & the room was not ready for another half hour so we decided to wait so we could deposit all our hand luggage in the room before getting some lunch. After more delay of over an hour, we finally got our room. Sadly almost all the restaurants were either closed or serving only snacks & drinks till 7pm !
Our room the first night had a queen bed with a double sofa bed for the kids. The room was very spacious but had views of rooftops only. Downside was no free wifi in the room so I had to traipse down to the lobby area to do emails etc
Boy, were we absolutely thrilled on our return stay post-cruise to receive a complimentary upgrade to a suite! Separate bedroom with king size bed, living area with double sofa bed for the kids, free inroom wifi, gorgeous views of the grand canal & complimentary bottle of champagne and fresh strawberries ! It was a real treat!
I must compliment the concierge, Signore Marco, a real gentleman. He was always kind, patient and very helpful. He made our stay in the Westin Europa and Venice extra welcoming.
The location of the hotel is great and only a 10-15 minute stroll to Piazza San Marco.
Venice is as enchanting as I had envisaged and even if we did have some unpleasant experiences (see my other reviews), I would love to return to this mesmerizing place.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank hallelujahtraveller2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It is with great pleasure we read through your comments and will share with the Westin Europa & Regina team, especially with Marco at the Concierge desk, which will surely put a smile on their face.
Looking forward to having you back here soon for another great experience and please do not hesitate to contact us directly for assistance or for reservations.
With best regards

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014 via mobile

I stayed here to see an opera at La Fenice and the location is very good. Easy to reach by vaperetto and a skip from St. Marks Square with plenty of restaurants nearby. The hotel is truly beautiful, grand marble lobby, beautiful bathrooms and large rooms in general. However at the price you're going to be paying to stay here one would expect a few conveniences on the house; instead the Regina will charge for everything little thing you would find gratis anywhere else for example room wifi and having a single suit pressed. Both at outrageous prices. Next time I'm traveling through Venice I'll be trying somewhere else.

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Taaibos H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review.
Both positive and negative feedback from guests is valuable to us as it ensures we continue to grow and evolve.
Your remarks will undoubtedly help us to take the necessary steps to intervene and improve the overall quality of our hotel services.
We hope to see you again for your next stay in Venice.
With best regards

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
london
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2014

The entrance / reception has the 'wow factor' for sure. Lots of marble and beautiful lights. But sadly, this is where the wow stops.

Our room (640) was distinctly average and definitely not what you'd expect for a five star. The WIFI didn't even work in the room & the staff seemed ok with that.

The hotel is large and really impersonal, doesn't have the friendly feel that we like.

Location is perfect and literally two mins from St Marks so maybe keep the location, but just choose a different hotel.

On the evening we went to Musica Palazzo, which I deffo recommend.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank michelledee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 24 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry to hear that you have not enjoyed your experience when visiting The Westin Europa & Regina. Part of our philosophy is to adhere to our guest’s every need and to exceed their expectations, clearly on this occasion we have failed to achieve this.
Hoping to have you back in our hotel, in order to redeem your faith on us, we remain with best regards

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,602 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#70 of 385 in Venice
931 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,249 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#77 of 385 in Venice
1,571 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice

Property: The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Address: San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
#61 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
#89 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the Grand Canal with sweeping views of the city's most iconic landmarks, The Westin Europa and Regina places guests right in the heart of the city's artistic and theatre districts, in a discreet setting just off the fashionable Calle XXII Marzo and steps from Piazza San Marco. Our unmatched selection of rooftop terrace suites, Grand Canal rooms, restyled accommodations, and Grand Canal-side venues with nutrition-rich proposals are settings of relaxed indulgence where guests can be at their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hotel Europa And Regina, Venice
Westin Venice
Westin Hotel Europa Regina Venice
Venice Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing