We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice property but with issues”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Ranked #97 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Phoenix, AZ
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 296 helpful votes
“Nice property but with issues”
Reviewed 6 May 2014

This is a nice property, right on grand canal. Rooms were nice, but fairly small. Issues:
Did not clean room until reminded twice, no apology, just, we will send a maid. No turn down service either night. Safe was broken. Out of food in buffet breakfast at 8AM.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelingBill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of our property. Please accept our apologies for the issues you experienced, such as Housekeeping not honoring the cleaning of the room as normally they service the rooms in a lap of time that goes until 17:00 in the afternoon. We would like to assure you that this is not indicative of our usual high levels of service and we have shared your comments with the relevant Department Head, so that the necessary actions can be taken.
In regards to our rooms, we do offer a wide range of room types that afford a variety of different views and our Reservations team would be happy to assist you making a more appropriate choice for any future bookings.

Once again, thank you for your comments. We look forward to having another opportunity to welcome you in the near future.
With best regards
executive office
the westin europa & Regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,439 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,281
    669
    263
    134
    92
See reviews for
537
1,259
63
121
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (497)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Sheffield
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

We stayed for 3 nights our 30 wedding anniversary. I emailed the hotel in advance to let them know the occaison, i got no replay and had to chase them to which they eventualy replied. They assured me they would look after us... Hmmm.
On arrival there was no mention of our anniversary and no-one even bothered to tell us about any of the hotel facilities or services (but we did get a tiny little chocolate cake left in our room), and a room at the very back of the hotel. The only view from our wondows were another wall 4ft away and about 3 ft of sky above!!
Now i am reviewing this as a 5 star hotel as that is what we paid for, but in my experience it is not a 5 star experience. Some of the other reviews on here are pretty accurate. Stunning arrval by boat and reception apart, the rest of the hotel is dated and we certainly werent made to feel special as i have been in other 5star hotels around the world (inc Westins!). There only logic seemed to be that i wasnt an SPG (starwood hotels) member, if i was i would have got a better service and facilities ?!?!
I complained about the room and managed to get free WIFI thrown in, but again i was made to feel that it was my problem not theirs and " many rooms in venice are like this". well many rooms arent +£300 per night !!!!
The location was great, close to St Marks, but would i stay there again. Sorry NO WAY, never. Find a little pension in the backstreets, more authentic and more reasonable and certainly not £300 per night !
Poor room apart, there was no WIFI, water or drinks facilities in the room and no iron.
My Summary. Very disappointed

Room Tip: Dont accept a room at the back of the hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sp0rtbilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Front Office Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 8 May 2014
Dear guest,
thank you for your review. We are sorry to learn about your experience at our Hotel. We have verified the correspondence and we do apologize if there has been any delay in answering to you in regards to your requests. We did take in consideration your request therefore the reason why you received the cake which is a gesture of good care from our side.
In regards to the room we have assigned to you one of the best room within its category, we have duly checked your reservation and what was assigned was the same category that was booked which was not for a grand Canal View room as correctly mentioned on the confirmation. We have two kind of views in the Hotel, Grand Canal View and Inner view as our Hotel is facing either the Grand Canal or the Internal Court or back street alleys. Unfortunately in this period, being the start of the very high season we did not have any free upgrades to upgrade you to, otherwise this would have been a pleasure from our side in order to make your anniversary memorable.
In regards to the Hotel being dated we have finished recently to renovate all the rooms in regards to curtains and carpets in all the building and we did restore our facade earlier in the winter, as well as many other small details which have been changed in order to make the Hotel look newer and we have received several positive comments in regards to how beautiful our building is and how well restored it has been.
Obviously we do not treat our guests with a difference in between being SPG (Starwood Preferred Guest) or not. We always strive to make all of our guests feel welcome and happy with their stay. Although should you be interested please do enroll in our SPG program as this is one of the best Loyalty programs in the World with many and vantages and benefits.
In regards to the room, as previously mentioned, Venice is a small city and everything is reduced compared to other cities, for example also the Streets that here are called “calle “ are very small compared to others, therefore also in concerns to buildings and many other services such as restaurants for example, there will be a difference in sizes as many restaurants are really tiny but delicious. As a gesture of good will the internet has been taken off in order to show that we do care of our guest and their perspectives.
We do have wi fi which covers all the areas of the Hotel and in all the rooms.
In regards to the water or drink facilities and the iron, unfortunately it is for Venetian Law and for Health and Safety reasons that we cannot provide them in any of the rooms as in the city of Venice they are considered dangerous and are forbidden, therefore we do have room service functioning 24 Hours. All our Rooms are provided with Minibar facility which are at disposal of all our guests.
We do apologize if you remained disappointed by our Hotel and the services, we do hope, should you wish to ever visit Venice again, to stay with us again in future in order to redeem any bad memory.

With Best Regards

MARZIO
BONOMI
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 168 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We stayed for a few nights at this property and the overall experience wasn't great.

First of all, this hotel is extremely difficult to find. If you haven't been to this hotel before, I strongly advise that you take a water taxi to it. The hotel has a very nice private dock. But if you're walking to the hotel, good luck finding it !!!! The hotel website should be giving a more detailed description for directions. Although it is close to St. Marco Square, it's extremely difficult to find even if you're right in the Square. The best way to find it is to locate the luxury stores such as Salvatore Ferragamo. There is an alley right beside Ferragamo and once you are inside it, you make a right at the end and then you will see the sign to the hotel. When you ask local people about this hotel, mention Europe and Regina and don't say Westin. Somehow they always think that you're looking for the Best Western if you ask for Westin. There are a whole bunch of Best Western hotels in Venice.

Rooms-- Rooms are rather small and dated. If you could, get a room that has a view of the canal or better yet, get a room with a terrace. Even if you're an SPG platinum member, they will NOT give you an upgrade automatically. I found that the front desk is extremely reluctant to give you an upgrade even though there were better rooms available for sale on their website.

Service-- Poor service is what I dislike this hotel the room. The two young concierge, one young bald male waiter and one young female receptionist were quite friendly and helpful. But the rest of the team had major attitude issues, especially the managers at the front desk and the restaurant. I'd like to point out that in particular, the old thin man at the front desk is the worst of all. I only dealt with him for one minute and that was more than enough. He was rude, abrasive, and condescending. He should NOT be in the hotel business. I asked him a simple request (that I didn't even have to ask) but he answered in such a harsh and condescending tone that made it sound like I was asking for a free stay! When I was checking out in the morning during prime time, there was only 1 worker at the front desk and 6 of us in line. This old grumpy manager saw the line and continued to talk to this colleague of his and none of these two people even attempted to help the 6 people in line! What kind of service is that ? Should he be a manager ?? I don't think so ! When I checked into the hotel, they gave me a hotel key that did not work, so I had to go back down with my luggage to get another card. 30 minutes after I checked in, I was still not in the system yet so I couldn't use the internet using my room/name to log on. I had to call them to rectify it! That's the way they welcome guests into their hotel.

Breakfast-- choices were limited. Though they service prosecco and smoothies that were quite good. The cold cut meat looked and tasted unfreshed. The worst part of all was the scrambled eggs which was so watery that it seemed like it was boiled in water. The restaurant has a very nice view of the canal to partly make up for the bad food I guess.

Location-- The location is very central (that is after you can find it). This is the main reason why I didn't give it a 1 star.

All in all, this hotel is definitely not worth 350 EUR + for a basic room. I will not recommend this property and I will not stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank BforBoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Front Office Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to leave your review. It saddens me to read that you have had such a disappointing experience with The Westin Europa & Regina.
I can guarantee you at The Westin Europa & Regina we strive to maintain and excel in our standards and please note that your comments have been passed to our team to assure this unfortunate experience will not occur again. We do pride ourselves on the high standard of training that all of our staff receive and are thus naturally concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction with the service approach received from some members of our team. Your valuable comments will assist us in correcting these issues so that others experience personal and welcoming 5 star service.
We sincerely hope to have the chance of welcoming you back with us shortly so we may have you revise your unfavorable impression. Please do not hesitate to contact me for assistance with your unique needs or for reservations.
With best regards

MARZIO
BONOMI
Front Office Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2014

We recently stayed here with our 13 yr old son. He loved the "loaner running shoes" and the workout room. The staff could not have been nicer and the views at this hotel were stunningly over the top. The food, service, rooms, etc everything was superb at this hotel. The concierge was so helpful and made reservations for us, arranged water taxis, etc. We also did the Murano Isle tour and we agree that it is a ploy to get you to buy something so be ready to say "no" if you want. However, they rely on tourism $$ so it is understandable. We would love to stay at this luxurious hotel again if we return to Venice.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Banditsm0m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 2 May 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your fantastic review of The Westin Europa & Regina.
We are glad that we have lived up to your expectations during your stay and we are really happy that your son enjoyed our Westin Workout room.
We will ensure to pass on your comments to the rest of our team and our concierge in particular.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Venice very soon.
With best regards

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manhattan Beach
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

My husband and I were on our honeymoon in Italy for 14 days with 2 days in Venice. We used our Starwood points for our stay and mentioned it was our honeymoon. I thought we'd at least get a decent room or a note from management saying congrats, but all we got was not so friendly staff and a room in the back of the hotel overlooking a roof. It was a small room, clean and recently renovated but not memorable for the 45,000 points we used on our stay. We had a great time wondering around Venice but just didn't feel special or welcome at the hotel. The Westin in Rome however went above and beyond for us!!

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank beach567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to post your review.
We sincerely regret to learn that your honeymoon with us did not meet your expectations. Usually for such special occasion we personalize our service and amenities.
Your comments will assists us in implementing corrective measures to improve the quality of our services and our guests'experience.
We really hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to restore you faith in The Westin Europa & Regina by ensuring you receive a true Westin experience.
With best regards

Executive office
The westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed for four nights at the Westin Hotel Europa & Regina in Venice and had a wonderful time. Our room was very good and comfortable and had a nice classical design without being too old-fashioned. The hotel's location is just amazing: It is situated right on the Grand Canal, just a very short walk from St Mark's Square which makes it the ideal base to explore Venice. In fact, most of Venice's famous sights and museums are within walking distance from the hotel.
Unfortunately their ridiculous price policy for extras gets in the way of an all in all positive experience. For example, breakfast costs 35 Euros, a small bottle of beer 13 Euros and they even charge 6 Euros for an hour of slow Wi-Fi. All this just leaves the bad feeling of getting ripped off. Also the service was not as good as expected. The concierge and reception staff could not really help with directions for water buses, opening times of museums, tour bookings or restaurant suggestions. This is a real shame as this hotel could be so much better. For example, its bar has a beautiful terrace right on the Grand Canal with spectacular views of Santa Maria della Salute. But we only went there once as it was terribly overpriced.
Overall, I think the Westin Hotel Europa & Regina is a great place to stay in Venice if you are just looking for a good place to sleep in a convenient location and are willing to work around the disappointing service and the overpriced extras which is easily possibly as there are loads of restaurants and bars in the proximity of the hotel that offer food and drinks at much more reasonable prices.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HighlanderJan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. It certainly pleases us to learn you enjoyed your time with us at The Westin Europa & Regina and our location - very close to St. Mark's Square on the Grand Canal.
On the other hand, it thus concerns us deeply to read of the perceived unfriendly approach of our Concierge and reception staff. We do pride ourselves on the high standard of training that all of our staff receive and are thus naturally concerned to learn of your dissatisfaction with the service approach received from some members of our team. Your valuable comments will assist us in correcting these issues so that others experience personal and welcoming 5 star service.
Though we appreciate you may have found our Bar Tiepolo prices expensive, the views are great and certainly a rewarding complement to a relaxing drink, especially when enjoyed on Bar Tiepolo’s Grand Canal terrace, one of the few in Venice. The Grand Canal views from our La Cusina Restaurant are indeed beautiful and when combined with the quality of our breakfast selection, we believe worth the extra expense.
In addition prices are overall in line with other established five star properties in Venice.
Thank you again for your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back to Venice soon.
With best regards

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Al Khobar, Saudi Arabia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

Like all the buildings in Venice the hotel is old. But not the bad kind of old, it has a lovely classical feel to it would have given it a 5 star review except that I found it lacking in terms of service.

The hotel does not have many staff and unlike other five star hotels there isn't that feeling you get that you are being taken care of. That would have been fine if it wasn't so expensive. My room had the complimentary breakfast and so I would go to the restaurant every morning. The breakfast is a buffet but the tea, coffee and omelets have to be ordered. It would take 15 minutes from the time I sit until I am attended and I have to actually call them over.

The hotel is great in many ways but the only problem with it was the service. I do recommend it if you are not bothered by that.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank L_Wolfius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
europaregina, Manager at The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice, responded to this review, 29 April 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write the review.
We apologize for the lack of service you experienced. This is certainly not the usual The Westin Europa & Regina standard as we focus highly on great service as our main aim is to consistently offer to our guests an outstanding and a memorable stay at our property .
We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to rectify this experience and perhaps change your perspective about our property and our team.
With best regards

executive office
the westin europa & regina
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Baglioni Hotel Luna
#52 of 385 in Venice
1,601 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 385 in Venice
931 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,249 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#77 of 385 in Venice
1,570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice

Property: The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Address: San Marco 2159, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Green Hotel in Venice
#44 Business Hotel in Venice
#61 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#69 Family Hotel in Venice
#89 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice 5*
Number of rooms: 180
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Superbly positioned on the Grand Canal with sweeping views of the city's most iconic landmarks, The Westin Europa and Regina places guests right in the heart of the city's artistic and theatre districts, in a discreet setting just off the fashionable Calle XXII Marzo and steps from Piazza San Marco. Our unmatched selection of rooftop terrace suites, Grand Canal rooms, restyled accommodations, and Grand Canal-side venues with nutrition-rich proposals are settings of relaxed indulgence where guests can be at their best. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Cancelon, LateRooms, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Westin Hotel Europa And Regina, Venice
Westin Venice
Westin Hotel Europa Regina Venice
Venice Westin

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing