We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, highly recommended”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #68 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 August 2012

My husband and I, with our 15 & 16 year old children, stayed here for 3 nights in August 2012. Our first impressions of Venice were very encouraging as we were transported from Marco Polo airport by private water taxi. After working our way through the maze of narrow canals, we drew up to our hotel; here the enthusiasm continued and stayed with us for our whole stay at Starhotel Splendid. We were helped off our water taxi by a very polite porter, who then escorted us across a small alley to reception. We were then greeted by very friendly staff and headed off to our rooms. To our delight, we had been allocated adjacent rooms which were at the end of a corridor and accessed by a single door leading to the two rooms – which also had their own doors (so technically interconnecting). We then left our bags and went out to explore.
After a seriously hard day of pounding the streets, we returned to the hotel and the welcome relief to walk into our very efficiently working air conditioned rooms, after the oppressive Venetian humidity.
Having stayed at two Starhotels now (the other being the Starhotel Metropole in Rome), I can honestly say that these two hotels have provided the best nights sleep I have had in any hotels ever. It must be a combination of the soft beds and the choice of pillows, but I can say that when I awoke the next morning I felt refreshed and ready for another days sightseeing. It was lovely to open the windows at 7am and hear the bells chiming from St Mark’s Square, signalling the beginning of another new day.
Breakfast provided us with everything one would need for the day. Although the choice was not huge, there was something to cater for all palettes.
In our opinion the hotel could not have been more perfectly located; it was midway between St Mark’s square and the Rialto Bridge, which were both less than a 5 minute walk away, but it was far enough off the beaten track and in a lovely quiet location.
We didn’t eat dinner in the hotel, as we wanted to explore as much of Venice as we could, but the restaurant always seemed busy and looked particularly appealing at night.
We had a fabulous stay at the Splendid and would highly recommend it, it has very friendly and helpful staff, the location is perfect and the rooms are lovely.
If all Starhotels are as good as the two we have now stayed in, I can’t wait to try another one!

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Sylvia162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,734)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,101 - 1,107 of 2,734 reviews

Reviewed 17 August 2012

We stayed in August 2012 and had 2 rooms on 4th floor. Both were very comfortable, spotlessly clean abnd quiet. We only used the restaurant for breakfast - food was fine - nothing special.
The location is fantastic for the main sites.

The online map and instructions are not helpful in finding the hotel - not great if you are dragging cases from St Mark's square. It should only be a 10 minute walk The map available at reception was much better - maybe the website should use this one instead.

Room Tip: we had superior rooms - both were more than comfortable with adequate space.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2012

Booked to stay two nights for my wife's 40th birthday after reading the reviews on here. Great location between St Marks and the Rialto, easy to find if you get off at the Rialto Vaporetto Stop go to the right and follow the tourist signs for San Marco and the hotel is oppersite the Timberland shop. The staff were very polite when we checked in and had upgraded us from a Deluxe Double to a Junior Suite room 454 at no extra cost. We had a room overlooking a small canel which was a perfect size. A good size bathroom, with hairdryer, shampoo, bath lotion, free robes and even a tv. We had a walk in wardrobe with trouser press, free safe, slippers and lots of storage. A lounge area with two comfortable seats, sat tv, radio, kettle with complementary coffee and bottled water as well as a mini bar with room to keep things chilled.
The Bedroom had more than enough space for us and the bed was very comfortable and we even had a pillow menu. Breakfast is basic, but had a good selection to start you day off. Thanks for a great hassle free stay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank daryder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2012

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. Hotel is cramped and the rooms are small. The hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. Don't expect too much because more of the hotels in Venice are small and cramped.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RVD408
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2012

We thought this hotel was a great little find. We got an excellent (package) deal with Thomas Cook – we would normally book each section of a trip individually. On the basis you get what you pay for, we were assigned a small room but it was lovely nonetheless. I agree with other reviewers, it's a great location. I loved picking up water taxis (book from the front desk) from the tiny canal the hotel sits on or gondolas from one bridge up, all of ten feet away! The service in the restaurant (at breakfast) is a bit idiosyncratic (it is Italy!) but that's being picky. I loved that the décor is modern classic (no chintz or kitsch) and I loved the small bars/lounges which overlook the canal and were just perfect for chilling out in after the hustle and bustle of the city for a coffee and biscuits in the afternoon or a drink before heading out again before dinner. Many Venetian hotels are disappointing. A lot are resting on long gone laurels. This is not the Cipriani and neither does it want to be or pretend to be it’s just a nice little hotel in a great location.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DEBORAH R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2012

This is my ideal type of hotel in a bustling city. The rooms are quite up-to-date, with comfortable beds, great amenities, and even coffee in the room (which is unusual in Europe). The staff is friendly and the location is excellent. The room looked out onto a small canal, which was quite charming. When you book, do opt for the higher categories of rooms, since the comfort at the end of the day of walking and navigating Venice is quite worth it. The breakfast is an added bonus: eggs, pastries, and fruit, all in a nice atmosphere.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2012

We came out of the train station and a short walk to the water taxi port we were shuttled by private water taxi cruising through the tight canals past gondola's and under bridges to the door of the Starhotel Splendid, We were met by the concierge who helped us of the boat and took our bags to the reception who were very pleasant and even though juggling phone lines acknowledged us and assured us they would be with us in seconds.

The rooms were spacious and very clean, we stayed in a deluxe double room. There was a walk in wardrobe with a trouser press and iron, perfect as we were touring. sofa which we never sat on as we were constantly sight seeing. TV in the room and bathroom decent shower/bath.

The hotel itself is perfectly located almost equal distance from the rialto bridge and St Marks Square. You can hire a Gondola from right outside the hotel which will take you to sights on the grand canal and smaller canals.

The breakfast is continental with hot and cold foods on offer, coffee is made to you liking which was superb to have the double espresso for my wake up call.

Room Tip: i wouldn't gamble and pay for room with a canal view as the canal outside is very narrow and you...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Joe W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#100 of 385 in Venice
1,389 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,902 reviews
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,097 reviews
Santa Croce
Hotel Papadopoli Venezia MGallery by Sofitel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £129 - £460 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Expedia, TravelClick, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing