We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #67 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Fantastic location”
Reviewed 29 November 2013

Anyone thinking of going to Venice would do well to consider this hotel as is a few minutes from Saint Marks Square and from the Rialto Bridge. A very comfortable and well appointed hotel, the staff we found to be friendly and the breakfast excellent with a good choice of eggs, bacon, cakes and cereals. The wifi we found excellent and there is an hour free each day so not sure where the complaints came from in previous reviews. My only negative comment about this hotel would be that the drinks are very expensive but this is typical for venice as Venice is expensive to eat and drink, although you can find cheaper bars and eating places a little further away from the square. Make sure you get the water bus from the airport and not a water taxi as there is a huge difference in price, will need a map to find the hotel we used one from the airport and this was sufficient. Venice is a beautiful place and well worth the trip.

Room Tip: Can obtain a canal view but really not necessary as you see the canals all day long!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mrsmustard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,596 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,487
    876
    168
    40
    25
See reviews for
467
1,546
48
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 November 2013

We stayed here June 2011. Small rooms but big enough had a front room facing onto Canal. Great central location could walk everywhere from San Marco square to train station, we jumped in a water taxi from airport. Staff friendly and helpful enough despite language differences they new enough english to be helpful. Breakfast average hotel setup but acceptable. We would stay here again no problem, was happy enough with hotel that I booked from my room a couple of nights stay at the Starhotel in Milan.

Room Tip: Ask for room with view of canals
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

This hotel is clean, friendly, and updated. It's also quite and some rooms have a canal view. I loved the time we spent here. The breakfast was exceptional, and room service was great too. This hotel has a boat dock so you can take a taxi directly here.
My only complaint was the internet, there are rooms further away from the connection that don't get much signal so I would ask for a room with a strong internet signal. Also, you can negotiate to get your internet for free, otherwise you'll be charged. I'd call them directly to book and try to get your internet included.

Room Tip: If you need internet ask for a room with a strong connection.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PacificNorthwestBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
43 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 November 2013

Great location, right in the thick of things and yet a real haven during the hectic high season. We visited at probably one of the busiest times of the year (July). During peak people time as soon as you stepped out of the hotel doors you were swept along with the stream of tourists heading to the Rialto to the left or St Marks to the right. As soon as you stepped back in the hotel it was quiet, peaceful and relaxing.
The staff were all friendly and helpful. We realised on arrival that we had left something important on the plane and the staff were great at calling around and securing its safe return for us.

The one thing they need to work on is their checkout procedure and operations. With only 2 members of staff at the 12pm check out time it took us close to an hour and was total chaos. The vast majority of people (including us) had paid upfront and just needed to pay the local taxes. Surely there's a better way.....

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Naomi S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
38 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 November 2013

This was an excellent hotel located in the heart of Venice. Very comfortable rooms and beds. The location is absolutely perfect. The lobby is great and inviting. Internet service is expensive and fair. The breakfast was good. I would stay here again because of the location. We felt like the entire city was at our doorstep and everything was within a 5 minute walk.

Room Tip: We stayed on the top floor and loved it
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
175 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 November 2013

The hotel is beautiful with extremely well-appointed rooms. The food at the restaurant was fabulous, although pricey. Splendid Venice is perfectly located very convenient to St. Mark's and the Rialto Bridge, and even has a water taxi slip which made heading to the airport a breeze.

The downside to our visit was that we arrived late in the afternoon, and our room was not ready. We had taken an early train from Cinque Terre and were not please about the wait, especially when we had paid $600 Euro per night for the room. The second complaint was the WiFi wasn't free for guests. Again, for a luxury hotel, this should be standard.

Had the room been ready when we arrived, I would have given a higher rating.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Darci M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amersham, Bucks, UK
Level Contributor
82 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Excellent location with easy access by water taxi to own landing stage. Ideally located for access to all areas of City. Really pleasant quiet location and yet in seconds you were walking through the streets of shops and restaurants to soon be at the Rialto Bridge or in San Marco Square.
Our room was upgraded to a canal view and was truly one of the best rooms we have stayed in. Standards are high in all respects. Our dinner in the restaurant was the best evening meal we had during our stay in Venice. We would thoroughly recommend this hotel for a luxury short break

Room Tip: If you can afford it go for the better room. A little bit of noise from water taxis if you have peop...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Austinseven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 19 November 2013
Dear Austinseven,
thank you very much for your nice comment and for choosing our hotel for your long weekend in Venice.. we love to see our guests happy this is our mission!! Thank you so much..
I hope to welcome you back soona at Starhotels Splendid Venice adn wishing you a lovely day..
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 385 in Venice
1,986 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,797 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#42 of 385 in Venice
1,174 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Property: Starhotels Splendid Venice
Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Priceline, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, HRS and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing