We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Starhotel Splendid in Venice- enjoyed our stay” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #66 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
PHILADELPHIA
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Starhotel Splendid in Venice- enjoyed our stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

We stayed at this hotel few days ago. This hotel is somewhat modern which we like and at a great central location in Venice close to the Rialto bridge. The room we had was a deluxe category - good size by European standards and very pleasant. This hotel has it's own dock but some of the boat services from the airport do not take guests directly to the hotel so you must walk about 5-10 min, not always convenient with luggages. The hotel offers private airport transfer directly from their location but is somewhat costly -120 Euros vs 90-95 Euros by other companies.
So all in all, definitely recommend this hotel when visiting Venice.

Room Tip: room with a canal view
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HANNAPhiladelphia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear HANNAPhiladelphia,

Thank you very much for leaving your positive comment about Starhotels Splendid Venice.
We are very glad to hear that your stay has been good and memorable and we do hope to welcoming you back again in the next future.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,485 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,427
    834
    161
    39
    24
See reviews for
448
1,483
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
48 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The Starhotel Splendid Venice is a very good four star hotel. The interior is clean and fresh and the staff are excellent. We initially had a problem with the size of the room allocated to us. We knew in advance that rooms in hotels built into old Venice properties could be small, but the 11 sq. meter room (including the bathroom) was significantly less than what the hotel's website indicated for the class of room. There was only just space to walk round the double bed. We asked for something bigger and the hotel provided us with a 23 sq. meter room overlooking the small canal for an extra price. The excellent duty manager (Diana) understood our problem and ensured that the extra price was very reasonable - a very professional approach. Upgrading a room may not be possible in high season so do be sure that you get confirmation about the size of room before you book. The hotel is perfectly situated for the main sights of Venice, being halfway between the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Square. We were able to walk to La Fenice theatre in seven minutes, and to St. Mark's or Rialto in five minutes. It was a much more convenient location than being on the Grand Canal itself, where I have stayed in the past and which can turn out to be an inconvenient barrier. All the main sights are close by. The hotel also has a very nice roof terrace, which was a relaxing place in good weather.

Room Tip: Space is at a premium in Venice so rooms tend to be small. I strongly advise that you spend a little...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PeterfromEngland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear Guest PeterfromEngland,

First and foremost I would like to thank you for taking your time for leaving your comment about Starhotels Splendid Venice.
Unfortunately Venice is preatty small in every ways and I am glad to hear that your stay was overall good and pleasant.
I will share your precious comment with Diana and with the rest of the team.
We are looking forward to welcoming you back in Venice in the next future.

Warmest Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
El Callao, Venezuela
Level Contributor
182 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

Very nice hotel, with a great location. The staff was kind and friendly, the view to the channel was awsome. Although that day the breakfast area had a lot of people, anyway we enjoyed an excellent atmosphere.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MMVoss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 6 August 2014
Dear MMVoss,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave your comment about Starhotels Splendid Venice.
I am glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and memorable and we do hope to welcoming you back in the next future.

Warm Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 May 2014 via mobile

This hotel is placed just in the heart of Venetia. You pass by the hotel when you go from San Marco to Rialto, to the Academia, ...
Hotel staff is very helpful. We had a little issue with our room and they changed it to a better one immediately.
There is a lovely terrace with excellent views.

Helpful?
1 Thank Orifb
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear Orifb,

I would like to thank you for reviewing Starhotels Splendid Venice on this website.
We deeply appreciated your comment and we are glad to know that your time here was well spent.
We do hope to welcome you back in the next future.

Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 April 2014

We had a really bad experience with this hotel. First, let me start with the good… the location of this place is great and our room was very clean! We really enjoyed the shops around the area, there is a convenient water taxi stand right outside of the hotel and it is located very close to the square. The breakfast was great and most of the staff was super nice. Okay, the bad… we were grossly overcharged for this hotel. We were mislead about the price going into our stay at the hotel. We spoke with the front desk staff and management staff and they could not / would not do anything about the charges. After checking around on the travel websites the hotel was charging us almost $500 more a night… REALLY??? They wouldn't let us cancel our reservation or change it and they wouldn't even cut us a break at all. We were stuck and they had us over a barrel. I've emailed and contacted Starhotels without any response or resolution. If you stay here, PLEASE be really careful of your charges and make sure you read your reservation sheet very very carefully!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Melissa R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear Melissa R,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to write this comment.
In regards of your situation, please feel free to contact me at s.pisani@starhotels.it if the situation still results unresolved.
Thank you as well for highlighting the positive side of your stay and together with my team I hope to welcoming your again at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Warmest Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 April 2014

We stayed in this hotel for four nights and although the superior double room didn't refer to its size, it was clean and the location is fantastic. The shower and king size bed were of high quality but unfortunately mosquito's in April and no air conditioner kept us awake a few nights. Other than that, very recommendable hotel if you like to stay in the middle of the city centre.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jiapei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 1 October 2014
Dear Jiapei,

Thank your very much for taking your time to leave such a positive comment on this website.
I am truly sorry if you have faced the issues highlighted. your feedback is extremely important for us as it helps to improve the service torwards our guests.
Together with my team we do hope to welcoming you back ar Starhotels Splendid Venice in the next future.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jakarta, Indonesia
Level Contributor
44 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 April 2014 via mobile

Great location, great breakfast, great interior design, great hotel. Service was average but you cant expect much in italy.

Went with wife and kid, happy with the spacious room. All hotels in venice are small, yet this one is pretty generous with room size. It doesnt compromise with convenience and in-room facilities.

Breakfast was outstanding. Not much selection but very high quality.

The combination between vintage and modern interior design makes this hotel a rare gem in venice. 2 mins walk from st.peter, making this hotel an easy reach from main destinations around Venice.

Gondola ride is right in front of hotel. Some say its not worth the price, but if youre in venice, its worth it. Give it a shot.

If you take water taxi from the station, make sure you ask the driver to drop you off right in front of the hotel, or else they ll just drop you at the closest harbor and you'll have to drag your bags all the way to the hotel.

Stayed September 2013, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank Damonhakim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 15 October 2014
Dear Damonhakim,

Thank you very much for taking your time to share your comment about our hotel on this website.
We are very glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and memorable and we do hope to welcome you back again at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#50 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,729 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#38 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,132 reviews
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#94 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Property: Starhotels Splendid Venice
Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Odigeo, Priceline, Prestigia and TravelUp so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing