We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is key”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #66 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 11 June 2014

We stayed here for a weekend and from beginning to end it was excellent. The hotel is beautiful and very friendly. It can get a little crowded in the lobby in mornings and evenings due to the external restrictions but this is a small price to pay for this hotel in this locaiton. You can be at the main sites in minutes.
We were a little disappointed with the Guest Relations desk and the lady there although friendly did not seem very clued into what tours etc were available and how to go about booking or getting to meeting points etc.
The room was excellent although the "delux canal view" description might be slightly misleading (we could see the canal but that was about it!) dont get me wrong though we were very happ and sleep quality was second to none.
The Breakfast was okay but a little crowded and choice could have been slightly better. The resturant food was good and staff were helpful although a little on the expensive side (buy hey this is Venice!). It appears to be used by locals which is always a good sign and the piano music tops it off.
The bar was good although the roof bar is very expensive so be prepared. (€32 for 2 drinks). It even got too windy while we were there and we had to take our drinks back to the regular bar where we could have saved €15 if we went there at the start (but again Hey its Venice!!)
Check in and out handled expertly and housekeeping and concerige were excellent also.
All in all I would recomend this hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GerardKOY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear GerardKOY,
first of all thank you very much for taking the time to leave you comment about your recent stay and for staying with us.. I will make sure that an your next stay you will be "wowed" not anly from the location bat also from Venice and from our beautiful roof top Altana Solana..
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,735)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

720 - 726 of 2,735 reviews

Reviewed 9 June 2014 via mobile

We were booked into the NH Palazzo Barrucio hotel (which is excellent) but they'd has a double booking on our first night and so arranged for us to transfer to the Splendid.

Because of the mix up we were given a canal side upgrade and so expected a great room. It was very nice and definitely 4 star but it was very very dark and there are insufficient lights to make up for this. The lack of natural light is understandable given it's on a small canal but there really should be more lights.

The biggest disappointment was the service. At 9pm we asked for an iron and were told that we couldn't have one for "security reasons" but we could pay for laundry the following day. After complaining and it going to the manager, we were accompanied to the laundry room to use the iron 45minutes later but somebody had to remain with us for security reasons. When paying €460 a night I'd expect to be allowed the use of an iron if needed.

The roof terrace is lovely but the staff were relatively rude. We arrived at 7.50pm for apparetiff and when we tried to order they told us to wait and they'd be over. They came over just after 8 which by then was too late so we got given peanuts and crisps. We were also told it was for residents only so they clearly didn't think we were staying and therefore were treating us with disdain.

Overall, nice rooms but too dark and some ridiculous policies. The Palazzo Barocci we then stayed in was fabulous and I couldn't recommend enough. Everything from service to location to the rooms. Go there instead!!!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank legweak_1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear legweak_1980,
Thank you very much fot taking the time to leave your message Your comment about your recent stay is very surprising, I will investigate with all managers to better understand the situation.. As part of The Collezione Starhotels we deliver the highest service in the city, we trust in all comments left by our clients even on this web site itself to le you reconsder the Splendid Venice for your next visit in the beautiful city of Venice..
Best regards,
Salvatore Psiani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here a few years ago and was impressed so gave it another try. There are so many places in Venice and we decided to stay with what we know.
The hotel is tucked away on a small canal, very Venetian. However it is minutes walk to the main sites.
The staff are very friendly and helpful.
A very nice surprise was the beautiful roof terrace they now have complete with stunning views.
The food and drink can be pricey, but the quality seems excellent and Venice can be pricey. Maybe worth treating yourself when here. The locals seem to eat here. Breakfast was very good.
The rooms are furnished to a high standard and very clean. Will stay here again.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank ShakaP
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear ShakaP,
thank you very mcuh for thaking the time to live your nice comment about your recent stay and for choosing our hotel as palce to stay...
You are an expert and your comment make me feel very happy.. I wiss hare it with all my associate and aI look forward to welcoem you back soon at the Splenddi Venice.
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

There are consistent good reviews from colleagues for this well-known Hotel, attractively located by a canal so that one can literally step from reception to a water taxi.

Behind the scene operations like room service are excellent and, although not all agree, I found at least continental breakfast to be fine.

It is in a constructive frame then I suggest the Hotel takes a long look at their web site images, room descriptions, and booking procedure.

Our confirmed booking through British Airways was for a’ twin superior room as per brochure’. The receptionist was clearly in some difficulty and despite our protests the allocated room was an inferior double room so small one could literally not have a chair in it. A personal note from the General Manager and box of chocolates received the following day came too late.

By the way, the problem is not unique. Trip Advisor members so treated have brought this to attention over four years now. .

I strongly advise that you spend a little more to get at least 18 sq. meters and to check this with the hotel in advance.

Make sure you know what size room you are booking as some are quite small.

A problem with the size of the room allocated to us - significantly less than what the hotel's website indicated for the class of room.

A solution may be to sort out small rooms and classify them as standard. Currently all the rooms are ‘superior’ – but some are clearly more superior than others.

Room Tip: Check room size, small print on web site
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank clive l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear clive l,
thank you very much for your taking the time to leave your comment in a very constructive frame and for staying with us.. After checking carefully with the associates, we did not have the possibilty to upgrade you or to change your room, the Hotel was sold out. For info we are changing our website and the relevant info, in few weeks will go live. We hope to have a second opportunity to welcome you at The Splendid Venice an looking forward to hearing from you,
Best regards,
Salvatore Psiani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Stayed there for two nights and everything was perfect. Great location near the Rialto Bridge and San Marco. Like everything in Venice it was a little tricky to find but it is on a canal that has great service. Staff was very helpful and breakfast was very good. Had room overlooking the canal and it was nice looking out the window and watching the gondolas go by.

Room Tip: Try to get room with canal view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rcups1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear rcups1,
Thank you very much for taking the tiem to leave your BEAUTIFUL comment !!
I will share it with all our assocaiates, I am sure they will be verey happy..
Thank you and I wish you a lovely Sunday..
Salvatore Pisani
General Manger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

We stayed at the Splendid Venice over the Easter 2014 and had a very pleasant stay. The location is great and only a short walk from main water bus stops, but i would opt for a water taxi to get you there as it did take me and my wife an hour to find the hotel after getting off of the water bus. We must have walked passed it a number of time before we stumbled on the entrance.

We were in a room on the first floor which over looked the court yard and not the canal, which what was not an issue. The room was a fair size and was clean and well presented. The only issue we did have with the room was the fact it was right next to the stairs and every time someone came up the stairs the fire door banged quite loud and caused a lighting panel in our bath room to shake. Quite strange. I would also say the walls are pretty thin and noise in the corridors seemed to be quite loud early into the morning. Not a big issue, but a point worth pointing out.

Breakfast on the whole was good, but get the early as after 9am it did seem to be very busy. Mind you we were there over Easter, so this did put pressure on the staff and at times there was a short cue to get a table.

The only other grumble i do have is with internet connection. Most hotels now a days seem to offer free connection for the length of your stay at no charge, but at the Splendid they run there's through swiss com, which works ok, but you only get the first 60mins free and after this you have to pay. I think if your there on business the last thing you want to be doing is paying for your connection.

I would stay at the splendid again and must say all the staff were very friendly and accommodating.

If there's one thing you should do at the end of your stay is get a private water taxi back to the airport if your heading that way. It's a great way to end the trip and takes in some great sites.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrTopples
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 22 June 2014

Dear MrTopples,
I like it.. :-),
Thank you very much for sharing your nice experience at The Splendid Venice...
It's really a great pleasure to read your detailed and nice comment, to us is very important!!
we ould love to see you back soon "home" and wishing you a lovely day,
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Convenient location in San Marco area, Nice, big and clean rooms, great staff. Let us check in early and kept our bags while we walked the streets of Venice. Breakfast was a great value and a good start for our day.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sharma12114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, Direttore generale at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear sharma121,

Thank you very much for leaving your positive comment about our hotel.
It is very important for us to hear that your stay at Starhotels Splendid Venice was memorable.

We hope to welcome you again in the next future.

Warmest Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#100 of 385 in Venice
1,389 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#53 of 385 in Venice
1,899 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 385 in Venice
2,092 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £131 - £461 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TravelClick, Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing