We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Amazing stay in Venice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #65 of 384 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Cumbria
Level Contributor
22 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Amazing stay in Venice”
Reviewed 17 July 2014

We arrived into Venice via private taxi, worth every penny. From the first greeting at the hotel until our departure 4days later, the service by all the staff was first class. Everyone were extremely friendly and efficient. Nothing too much trouble. Lovely breakfast, enjoyed both bars. The setting of the roof terrace is absolutely beautiful. The location is ideal. We had no preference to which room, we thought our room was well looked after and a lovely size. The bathroom was lovely. We have no complaints about the hotel, we would recommend this hotel, and our room 458.
We didn't find the hotel expensive neither, would probably have been a lot more in the uk.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Ruthus,

I would like to thank you for leaving such a positive comment about our hotel.
We are glad to know that you have liked your room and we hope to have you again at Starhotels Splendid Venice in the next future.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,570 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,474
    866
    166
    40
    24
See reviews for
462
1,533
46
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (346)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Singapore, Singapore
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 July 2014

Had an issue with my credit card charges, basically the hotel double charged me, only realized when I got back from my trip. Am still hopeful that this is a mistake and can be resolved, if only someone would attend to my complaint! The front desk has been rude and unhelpful. A gentleman called Pissani (guess that's his name) told me he has no time to entertain my call as he has guests waiting, told me he can't hear me when I continued to speak and hung up on me! Another lady seemed to be half listening and did not even take my details down. I still have not resolved the issue. Would not recommend the hotel to anybody for its dismal service, even though the location is great and the living accommodation fair! Also beware of being double charged by the hotel on your credit cards.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank BSTORE2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, Direttore generale at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 30 July 2014
Dear Bstore2014,
thank you very much for taking the time to leave your comment about your recent stay.
Although I have never spoken with you, I would be very happy to resolve your issue. Please send me your details at : s.pisani@starhotels.it and I will contact you soon.
Best regards,
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mauritius
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Came in dragging our four suitcases at one oclock in the morning : the tide was such that vaporetto's (water taxis) could not apparently go under bridges to get to the hotel ! Asking for ways to locate the hotel we were told to look for the clock tower : we are right behind, they said ! In the event it took us 30 minutes to find the front desk and we were lucky : we met a polizia who undid the two false "tips" we had been generously given on the way by kind hearted venitians . The third one ( from Bangla Desh ) was efficient and got ...the tip ! The front desk manager was alone . He was grumpy . And so were we ! You see venice streets are not always level and steps and bridges had meant heavy lifting which would now continue into the night since there were no bell boys . We were efficiently given room 221 and found our way through the maze of corridors . Keys in door , shower beckoning ...lo and behold , an old japanese lady peers out of the bathroom ! Rush back down to the front desk . Loud Apologies and more hands on sweaty forehead. He closes the desk , goes to room 221 , gently scoffs at the japanese couple for being in the wrong room , grabs two suitcases and a back pack and leads us to the red carpet side of the hotel and our upgraded room ! The next three days were bliss . Everything would be after such an introduction ! But in truth venice is magical and the hotel was otherwise very good even though expensive . Don't you dare be late for breakfast though : you WILL be told off and kept out , a rare demonstration of italian discipline , i guess

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Philippe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 20 July 2014
Dear Philippe F,

I would like to thank you for taking your time to leave your comment about your stay at Starhotels Splendid Venice.
Your feedback is very important to us as it helps us to improve our service and customer's satisfaction.
I am sorry if you have not found the hotel easly.
I will personally address the matters reported by you with my team and I hope to welcome you back at our hotel in the next future.

Warmest Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 July 2014 via mobile


Right on the canal system as well as on the main walk from San Marco to Rialto Bridge.
We walked straight past it in our rush to avoid the heavy storm, doh!
Staff very polite on arrival and throughout.
Room was nice, nothing flash and the timber floor has seen better days.
Cleaners had missed a few hairs in my bathroom but I aren't squeamish so not a problem for me.
Mega powerful shower!
Breakfast was really good though I didn't over do it. Plenty of choice, fruit, cereal, pastries and breads, cakes, cold meats and cheeses, not to forget bacon and really good scrambled eggs.
Catering for everyone.
All in all a pleasant experience.

Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Simon H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 16 July 2014
Dear Simon H,

Thank you very much for sharing your experience on this website.
We deeply appreciate our guests's feedback as it helps us to improve our service.
We hope to have you here again at Starhotels Splendid Venice in the next future.

Warmest Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Branch, New Jersey
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 7 July 2014

My husband and I were pleasantly surprised with a room upgrade upon our arrival, so we stayed in a beautiful, large room with a canal view. The room was beautifully decorate and very peaceful with the canal outside. The location was great as well!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jen A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 9 July 2014
Dear Jen A,

Thank you very much for your kind note left on this website.
Together with my team we are happy to know that yuo had a lovely stay.

We hope to see you at Starhotels Splendid Venice in the next future.

Warm Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
77 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 July 2014 via mobile

After much chopping and changing on our part, we settled on the 4-star Starhotel "Splendid Venice" for our 4 night Wedding Anniversary trip - and it was a great choice for us.

We had a junior suite with canal view - turns out these are 'classic' rooms whereas the rest of the hotel has more modern styled, refurbished rooms. But our suite was very nice with three rooms, a big bathroom and walk in wardrobe.

The hotel is very close to Rialto and less than 10 minutes walk to San Marco - so a really good location. Hotel staff were very good , friendly and super helpful.

The hotel also had a good restaurant, we dined in one evening and really enjoyed our dinner - breakfast was also good, fresh with nice choice/variety

Top marks to the bar - this has some great lounge areas to enjoy a Prosecco Aperol Spritz - we tried many of these in Venice and our hotel bar made the best by far!

Venice is of course beautiful, crowded yes but nonetheless beautiful... we saw all the sights we could and enjoyed the Vapereto (water buses ) taking in the Grand Canal and many stops along the way plus the inevitable Gondola trip. Murano was worth a visit and very pretty in the sunshine - lots of Chinese glassware on sale so beware what you buy!

The hotel organised a private water taxi for us from the airport on arrival which was great, although a little pricey at €120 one way vs the Vapereto which we took on our return journey for just €14 each. It was however very special arriving by private water taxi speedboat - and very convenient 'to the door' service

All in all I would recommend the hotel highly and of course Venice even more so...

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Jon T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 6 July 2014
Dear jon T,

I would like to thank you for sharing your great review about your time spent here in Venice.
We are so happy to hear that your time here was memorable.

We hope to welcoming you back at our Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mumbai
Level Contributor
29 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

Overall excellent hotel. Location is ideal for shopping and sightseeing. Water Taxis available right outside the hotel, though they are very expensive. Public transport(boat bus) is available within three minutes walk. Rooms are quiet and very clean and well provided for in terms of plug connections ect. air conditioning is very good. Showers work well and dont clog. little water spills out of shower but it is not a bother. Breakfast is OK, could be better. Public area like reception could do with bit of refreshing. Looks a bit run down but not unpleasant. Staff is very good. At times showed attitude of being fed up of answering same questions from guests every day, but still courteous.
Hotel will make every attempt to cater to your special request. Their in house magazine is worth a read.

Room Tip: no comment
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank evertraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
splendidvenice2011, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 30 June 2014
Dear evertraveler,

Thank you very much for reviewing us and for staying with us recently.
Your feedback is highly taken into consideration and we are always willing to improve.
We hope to see you soon at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Best Regards

Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#30 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,963 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#51 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,777 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#42 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,164 reviews
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#97 of 384 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Property: Starhotels Splendid Venice
Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#44 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Jet2Holidays , Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Preferred Hotels, TravelUp, Traveltool, S.L.U., HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing