We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's all about location, location, location...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #65 of 387 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel had one of the best locations, right in the middle between the Rialto Bridge and St. Mark's Basilica. Our room was more of a suite, with a lot of space, which had a nice sitting area with a cafe machine/computer desk, a separate twin bed/couch/TV area and a master bedroom with a king bed, walk-in closets and separate bath room w/jacuzzi. It felt very private and quiet here. Outside our window you could watch the gondolas go by. It really had a very nice breakfast with a wide assortment which was included in the room rate. In the evening we spent some time at the rooftop terrace, watching the sunset across the city and the Campanile in the background. The staff was very friendly and accommodating, helping us with any questions we had and the water taxi reservations. Free Wi-fi was a plus and worked quite well. I recommend this hotel and would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed: September 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank hawaiistu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Hawaiistu,

Thank you very much for reviewing our hotel.
It is such a pleasure to read your positive comment.
We hope to have you back again in the next future at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Warm Regards
Salvatore PIsani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,773)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

710 - 716 of 2,773 reviews

Reviewed 2 August 2014 via mobile

This is the second times we were staying here,very happy with all the service,the modern room and the location.
The breakfast menu is very good
The lobby have direct access to the water canal so we were able to go directly to the water taxi,with all the baggages.
Will recommend to my friends to stay here if they visiting venice

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Antonthedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 6 August 2014

Dear Antonthedy,

Thank you very much for taking the time to place your comment.
I am very glad to hear that your stay was memorable and I hope to welcoming you back in Venice soon.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

On the plus side, the hotel is ideally located for a trip to Saint Mark's square but then investigating the rest of the city. Take a map because it's sometimes difficult to find your way back. The rooms are well air conditioned and sound proofed. They were well serviced and clean. The restaurant was very good though dinner comes at a jaw dropping price - however, our Chateaubriand was quite epic, lots of it.
On the negative side, the roof top bar closed very early and we rather got the impression the staff resented the imposition of serving drinks from there or the downstairs bar. Silly because this is a big selling point. But to be honest, this is a minor niggle and on balance, I'd recommend the hotel.

Room Tip: Get a canal view room for a little extra cost. There are church bells in the morning that even the d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Tony M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Tony M,

Thank you very much for taking your time on leaving your comment on this website.
We deeply appreciate our guests feedback as it helps usr to improve our service.
Our rooftop bar closes earlier if the weather condition are not good and our team is constantly trained to satify our guest's requests.
I do hope that you will come to visit Venice again and staying with us at Starhotels Splendid Venice in the next future.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 July 2014 via mobile

First time ever in Venice and I chose this hotel to stay in because of the excellent location. The room, decor, location and service definitely came up to my expectation. Rooms are quite spacious in European standard, and the interior is in modern european style with a touch of venetian luxury such as tassels in drapes, tinted mirrors and luxurious lampshades. Customer service is also excellent starting from the receptionist to the porters. The only disappointment is that the breakfast is way too average for this hotel standard. The breakfast room, however, is nice and airy with a glass ceiling allowing natural light to penetrate in the morning.

I'd recommend this hotel to others, but would personally try other hotels when I am in Venice.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank LauraThedy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear LauraThedy,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave your comment about our hotel.
We are very glad to hear that your stay was pleasant and memorable and we hope to welcome you back at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Warm Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

My husband and I stayed two nights at Splendid Venice before leaving on a cruise from the port of Venice.
The room was clean and comfortable and the AC worked well. The hotel staff was professional and friendly. The provided breakfast was good...not great.
We had trouble connecting to the WiFi which was a bit frustrating for this particular portion of the trip as we had planned to take care of some business before our week-long cruise.
We took a water taxi to the hotel. The water level was high so the taxi could not take us to the hotel stop, and we had to walk with our luggage through the city. A little cumbersome, but not horrible.
To arrive at the cruise terminal, we chose to walk about 15 minutes to the Alilaguna water taxi stop near Piazza San Marco/Harry's Bar from the hotel. We had to walk through the crowds of San Marco on a Saturday morning but it was not a problem. We would take Alilaguna again.
The hotel was nice but we would probably try another hotel on our next visit.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank cathyztravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Cathyztravel,

Thank yuo very much for taking the time to leave your comment about your recent stay at Starhotels Splendid Venice.
I am sorry for the high tide issue in Venice and I will investigate for your feedback in regards of the wi-fi.
I am happy to hear that your stay was memorable in this beautiful city and together with my team we are looking forward to welcome you back again in the next future.

Warmest Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Excellent, central location in Venice. Short walking distance from St Mark's Square.
Has a canal entrance and lane entrance.
Our room was not special, but adequate and pleasant.
Very good buffet breakfast.
Friendly and helpful desk staff.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Apples365
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest Apples365,

Thank you very much for leaving your positive comment about our hotel.
We are very glad that your time in Venice was well spent and we are looking forward to welcome you back soon at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Warmest Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 July 2014

We stayed here for three days in early July 2014. It's a small hotel in terms of size. The room is clean and tidy. There is an open roof in the cafe, really nice and warm when you are sitting there in a sunny morning for breakfast. Staff are really professional, efficient, friendly and helpful. They are knowledgeable about the exhibitions held in the museums around. Hotel location is good.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank PLeung2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear PLeung2014,

I would like to thank you for reviewing our hotel on this website.
I am very glad to know that your stay was memorable and I do hope to have you back at Starhotels Splendid Venice in the next future.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#96 of 387 in Venice
1,417 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
Hotel Savoia & Jolanda
#80 of 387 in Venice
1,925 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#79 of 387 in Venice
1,048 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#47 of 387 in Venice
1,936 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#31 Family Hotel in Venice
#43 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £120 - £455 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TravelClick, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing