We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Splendid is simply splendid!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #69 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Mendota Heights, Minnesota, United States
Level 4 Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Splendid is simply splendid!”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Awesome location! Spectacular photo locale right outside their doorstep. Arrived and departed via water taxi. Water taxis were expensive but the experience was priceless. Room was clean and comfortable. The shower was spectacular! Breakfast buffet was lovely and served in a beautiful courtyard room. Access to computer in lobby and free wifi were a perk. Only a few blocks to St Marks Square and these few blocks are filled with awesome shopping along the way. Would not hesitate to stay here again. Nothing to do with this hotel, just a fair warning that free water taxi to Murano Island to view the glass blowing are only one way. It was a great adventure as we watched the process, shopped, and had a fantastic meal on the island. Trip back was about $100. If you know this ahead of time you won't feel burned! This is a fantastic hotel!

Room Tip: You will hear the ringing of the bells from St Marks Square on the hour. I loved this but if you can...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paula K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Paula K,

Thank you very much for taking your time to leave your comment about our hotel.
We are very glad to read that you have enjoyed the city and water taxi ride that unfortunately in Venice are rather expensive.
We hope to welcoming you back at Starhotels Splendid Venice in the next future.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,629 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,507
    883
    171
    42
    26
See reviews for
471
1,566
49
104
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (350)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Durham, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014 via mobile

This is our second stay at the Splendid and it did not disappoint! We had room 480 (382 on our first trip), a substantial suite consisting of a small entrance lobby with walk in closet, a nicely furnished sitting room and a spacious bedroom with huge king sized plus bed and large well appointed bathroom. Both main rooms which had tv's, dressing tables, gilt framed oil paintings and huge mirrors were decorated in a traditional and tasteful style. There was of course a mini bar, trouser press etc, but the addition of an espresso coffee maker was an excellent touch. Bath robes and slippers were also provided. This room when viewed from the street below was obviously part of an ancient palazzo and occupies a corner position which allows windows on two adjacent walls and the sound of church bells wafting softly through them before breakfast, added to the overall charm of our stay. My wife's 60th birthday was on the second day of our 4 day visit and the hotel left a small gift of biscuits for her which was very touching indeed. The hotel which fronts canals on two sides, lies mid way between The Rialto and St Marks Square and is less than 5 minutes walk from each. The public areas are decorated in a tasteful up market modern style. All is Quality! Breakfast is self service with a great choice of hot and cold food and the option of al a carte. Beverages are waiter served. The breakfast areas include a central glazed atrium, the roof of which is sometimes rolled back as weather conditions allow. The staff are immaculately dressed, extremely polite, helpful and friendly. A member of staff is available for advice and help from a desk in the hotel lobby each day and it was she who kindly organised a complimentary water taxi to take us to the island of Murano. Overall a Splendid hotel, 4 star but warranting 5.

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank madaboutbath
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Madaboutbath,

First and foremost thank you very much for dedicating us your time to leaveyour pleasant comment on this website.
It is very important for us to know our guest's satisfaction and it is very important to advice other future guests how beautiful is Venice.
My team and I deeply appreciated your review and we hope to welcoming you back at Starhotels Splendid Venice in the next future.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Guest rooms
Many of the hotel rooms in Venice, although grand, are extremely dated. As a fan of luxury and modern design, the Starhotels Splendid Venice is the perfect fit for us. The recently renovated rooms combine the grandeur and beauty of Venetian styling with modern and clean touches. Many of the rooms also feature views of the peaceful back canals. It is definitely worth paying to upgrade to a view room, as the best way to spend afternoon sipping tea is while watching the Venetian locals and tourists explore the canal below. The hotel features free WIFI (a great benefit to every modern day traveller), the ultra luxurious “Starbed”, the “Pillowmania” pillow menu, and 24-hour room service, so your every need is catered for.

Facilities
Starhotels Splendid features La Maschere restaurant, which serves up delicious and authentic Venetian cuisine (you can find our review here soon), the Canal View Bar, the Altana Rootop Terrace, and a full library. The facilities are beautiful and homely making every stay comfortable and inviting.

Location
Starhotels Splendid has the BEST location in Venice. On arrival, the hotel is easily accessible from their private landing stage via gondola or water taxi, or by foot from San Marco Square. Overlooking the alleyways of the famous Mercerie shopping street and only a mere five minute walk, through alleyways filled with quaint shops, from San Marco square, makes the Starhotels Splendid Venice the best located hotel in Venice!

Overall
The Starhotels Splendid Venice has the whole package, from beautiful and comfortable guest rooms to an unbeatable location to a great restaurant that serves up some of the best food in Venice! We highly recommend it to every type of traveller and personally cannot wait to return.

Room Tip: The higher room categories give you free wifi and canal views which are worth the small fee to upgra...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wanderlust C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 24 August 2014
Dear Wanderlust C,
Thank you very much for reviewing our Starhotels Splendid Venice.
I was very happy to have reed your review and grateful to you for having shared your comment with other travellers.
Venice is a beatiful city and I am glad you have fully enjoyed it.
With this, I personally hope to welcoming you back again in the next future.

Kind Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 August 2014 via mobile

On arriving at rialto public transport terminal I was looking forward to arriving at the star hotels splendid Venice. The location was beautiful with the canal running past the entrance,the gondolas singing was wonderful. As we were early we left our luggage with the friendly staff and headed to piazza San Marco which is not even a 5 minute walk. We booked a room with a canal view but were extremely lucky to get a balcony view, with views over the basilica San Marco on the 5th floor. The bedroom was tastefully decorated with a king bed & all the trimmings. The extra touch of slippers by the bed & sweets on the made bed was a nice touch ! Staff were friendly & attentive & had pride in the hotel. Breakfast was from 7 till 10.30 & every morning we were greeted with a smile, all breakfast items were continuously replenished.
Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Richard M,

Thank you very much for leaving your lovely comment on this website.
I am very glad to know that your time at Starhotels Splendid Venice was for you well spent.
Together with my team we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the next future.

Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bellevue, Washington
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a large room for the four of us. The hotel has wonderful rooftop deck to have a drink. Best wine spritzer in town! Good breakfast not great. Expensive but what you an expect for Venice. We had a hike to our room from lobby.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Heather S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Heather S,

Thank you very much for leaving such a positive comment about your recent stay with us.
We are glad to hear that your stay has been smooth and pleasant and we wish to welcome you back at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

Warm Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014 via mobile

Venice hotels can he a bit rough (rooms are not remodels as often as they are in larger cities) - this one is recently renovated. Luxury all the way. Amazing, but small rooms. The location couldn't be better, between the Rialto Bridge and San Marco Square. Make sure you book with breakfast included - it's well worth it. Take advantage of the lobby - there are three rooms on the canal. Watch the Gondolier's pass by while sipping a Bellini (the signature cocktail of Venice).

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Dan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 20 August 2014
Dear Dan M,

I would like to thank you for sharing your experience on this website.
I am glad to know that your stay at Starhotels Splendid Venice was flawless.
We hope to have you here with us again in the next future.

Warm Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Savannah, GA
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 August 2014

The Splendid Venice is not only a great hotel, beautiful, and clean, but could not be better located for you to have two major attractions so close -- the Rialto is just 3 mins. away, or head down the back alley to St.Mark's, maybe a two minute walk. Secondly, the staff are just super hard working people, yet stay pleasant and are ready to help you at a moments notice, or in my case a quick finger in the air and a "buongiorno." I would gladly stay again if and when I return to Venice. The hotel just seems a quiet hub, located between all the hustle and bustle. I'd recommend it in a second!

Room Tip: A few rooms on the upper floor offer a nice patio to hang out on and look over the rooftops of the c...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jdwolfjr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SplendidVenice, General Manager at Starhotels Splendid Venice, responded to this review, 16 August 2014
Dear Guest 'jdwolfjr',

Thank you very much for taking your time to write this precious review.
We are very glad to hear that your stay with us was more than pleasant and we hope to welcome you back soon at Starhotels Splendid Venice.

My Best Regards
Salvatore Pisani
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#32 of 386 in Venice
2,010 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 386 in Venice
1,823 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#43 of 386 in Venice
1,184 reviews
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Property: Starhotels Splendid Venice
Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
#48 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Preferred Hotels, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo, Priceline, Agoda, Ebookers, Ctrip TA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing