We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“If a mistake wouldn't disturb, go here” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #66 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Esbo, Finland
Level Contributor
66 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“If a mistake wouldn't disturb, go here”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 June 2010

We were here for our honeymoon. After a wonderful stay in the stalhotel anderson in Milan a couple of days before we expected similar service and were disappointed. The room was small, the toilet door didn't work, no fresh vegetables for breakfast (they had tomatoes but refused to give some to us!) but excellent location. The personnel didn't seem to be working in the right business - they behaved more like hot dog vendors than personnel of a four-star hotel. Nothing wrong with that, but we won't stay here again unless they change to more service-minded people.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Trankkis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,425
    833
    161
    39
    24
See reviews for
448
1,481
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Starkville, Mississippi
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2010

Our family booked two deluxe rooms for 4 nights at this hotel. The rooms were both amazingly beautiful, comfortable and luxurious. We had a wonderful stay despite the so-so front desk staff. We really enjoyed 2 times maid service every day, morning and afternoon and the maid was so courteous and friendly. The breakfast was good but not outstanding and it did have a lot of variety. We enjoyed this hotel overall. The location and comfort are hard to beat. I love it.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank italyfan61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ipoh, malaysia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2010

Stayed 2 nights on the 2nd week of May. The plus point is the good location- in between Rialto pier and San Marco. Decent size room and bathroom (very clean too ). Breakfast choice is average and for the 2 days we were there it is crowded.. And oh.. the guy at the reception ( 40ish , with spectacle) was not that friendly and so is their porter..

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank missylee28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 June 2010

An outstanding hotel right in the heart of Venice. Convenient to the Rialto Bridge and St. Marks Square. Clean, good food, and the place to be in Venice.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank larry0524
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level Contributor
124 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 86 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 May 2010

Excellent location between the Rialto Bridge & San Marco, so the key sites are easy to walk to, Vaporetto stops are close for the rest. The web site brags about the comfort of the beds & they deliver, probably the most comfortable hotel bed we've ever slept in. Spotlessly clean with helpful staff. Slight mark downs on value as the meals in the hotel are very expensive & also we had one late breakfast & the staff seemed a bit overwhelmed with the number of people & were a bit slow. Pretty minor points in an otherwise perfect stay. Would recommend this hotel & stay here again. Quick tip, meals are very expensive here & in most of the tourist hot spots, but you can find reasonable offers if you go a little "off track" & don't want silver service. For example we found Osteria da Luca in Marzaria del capitello which had a 3 course menu for 18 Euros including coffee. A detailed map is also worth every penny/cent.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Coolonela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
255 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2010

Five minutes from St Mark's in one direction and the same from the Rialto in the other, this peaceful and well appointed hotel is ideally situated for getting all around Venice. Our canal-view room was modern, spacious and comfortable with an excellent bathroom. The breakfast buffet was very good and the waiting staff delightful. Impossible to fault.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank garybons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leeds, England
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 May 2010

My Girlfriend and I stayed here for just a Two night stay in April 2010. Ive stayed in many hotels over Italy and this has been the best I spent £150 per night and as far as I could find all the other hotels in this bracket were no where near up to this standard. The rooms were excellent, clean and very comfortable with a modern decor. Excellent Bathroom. The room was light even though our view was of a brick wall (who sits in a hotel room looking out of the window anyway?) We used room service for breakfast at a very reasonable rate. Check in was a pleasure for a change, the breakfast is better than most places in mainland Europe with at least a bit of hot food in the morning, American style Bacon and day-glo Yellow Eggs but did the trick.
The location is perfect and you could not ask for anymore from a Hotel on a city break.
If you can get the room for around 160 euros a night dont even bother looking elsewhere.
PS arrive via water taxi its expensive but an absolute must

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rason
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,904 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#48 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,728 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#38 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,130 reviews
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#91 of 385 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,277 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Property: Starhotels Splendid Venice
Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#46 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Expedia, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Prestigia, TravelUp, Priceline, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing