We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely Hotel top class facilities and service” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Starhotels Splendid Venice

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Starhotels Splendid Venice
Ranked #66 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Lovely Hotel top class facilities and service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 September 2010

Chose this hotel for a 1 night stay before picking up a cruise in Venice. It was lovely, an oasis amidst the hustle and bustle of a crowded city. Perfect location, comfortable room, lovely bed, nice breakfast. Air con nice and cool. Our only slight niggle was a very noisy start to the day. There appeared to be some sort of cleaning barge on the canal beneath our window which made such a din from 7am on Saturday morning also loud thudding music until quite late on the Friday night, possibly a club nearby. Shame really because apart from the noise everything was perfect especially watching the gondoliers under the bedroom window would go there again but possibly request a quiet room we were on the corner of 2 canals.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bootooyoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,494 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,431
    838
    162
    39
    24
See reviews for
452
1,486
44
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (337)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Goderich, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 September 2010

We had a wonderful stay at the Splendid in Venice. The rooms were beautiful and clean and the staff were always accomodating and helpful. The breakfast buffet and service were fantastic (and I'm a picky eater!). We definately recommend this hotel and give it 5 stars!

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cathyw44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex, England
Level Contributor
102 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 September 2010

My Husband surprised me on my birthday that we were going to Venice the next day.....
We arrived in style via water taxi, to stay at the Splendid hotel for 3 nights.
The hotel is in a perfect location, clean and very comfortable.
They told us at reception on check in that they had upgraded our room to a suite,
lots of space, with beautiful marble bathroom, TV in the living room and TV in the bedroom, tea and coffee making facilities, in room safe and views of the canals.
Breakfast was included in the price we also ate at the hotel restaurant 2 of the nights we stayed....... Highly recommend.
The hotel bar/lounge was excellent for before or after dinner drinks, never too busy and good looking out of the windows at the gondolas going by.
If you like shopping?............Well Venice is a shoppers pardise!!
Every turning are more and more shops.
As you can imagine lots of historical places to visit also.
It's quite easy to travel on the water buses, we even did a trip to the beach one day, which took about 20mins.
I would love to return to Venice one day.
A 50th Birthday I will never ever forget..... :-) Thank you

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sexysuzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 September 2010

We arrived by water taxi from the airport and disembarked at the hotel's own mooring. Expensive (100 Euros but really worth it) The hotel is hard to find the first time, the streets behind St. Marks are a maze until you get to know your routes. The hotel is a real gem. It is well maintained with suprisingly spacious rooms. The beds are huge and mine was very comfy. Rooms at the back of the hotel get a little noise from a service canal but it did not start till about 7.45 am. Breakfast is classic continental fare with a daily serving of scrambled eggs and bacon. Fresh linen was provided every day. You simply cannot neat the location. Five minutes from St. Marks one way and ten minues to the Rialto Bridge the other. There are plenty of places to eat locally but be prepared to pay appoximately 20 Euros a main course in the locality.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bazbell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York Metro Area
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

Just a quick echo to what's already been written here. My friends and I stayed here for two nights prior to embarking on a cruise. I was leary. I'm a hotel snob--used to luxury American-style hotels versus European Tourist Class hotels. The Splendid lived up to its name. Nice, bright, clean room overlooking a canal in a great location. I thoroughly enjoyed the high quality breakfast. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vikingstad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 August 2010

My parter and I stayed for 3 nights over the bank holiday weekend and had a fantastic time! Venice is amazing but because of the volume of people and the constant "no thanks" you say to Gondaliers and restaurant owners, you want a nice relaxing hotel to come back to. We were not disappointed! Although difficult to find (no point even looking at a map unless it is GPS as NONE of the street names are mentioned) the hotel is in a perfect location for shopping, food, sights and bars!

Not cheap, however, and the breakfast does not really do the other 4-star ameneties (dressing gowns, porters, slick bar, marble etc) justice.

On the whole the hotel was very nice, but overpriced for what it is.

  • Stayed August 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank aaron_woolf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 August 2010

beautiful hotel, exotic location and absolute value for money

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jayeeta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel a La Commedia
Hotel a La Commedia
#28 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,910 reviews
San Marco
NH Collection Venezia Palazzo Barocci
Castello
Hotel Colombina
Hotel Colombina
#49 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,731 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Ai Cavalieri di Venezia
Castello
Aqua Palace Hotel
Aqua Palace Hotel
#37 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,137 reviews
San Marco
Palace Bonvecchiati
Palace Bonvecchiati
#94 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,279 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Starhotels Splendid Venice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Starhotels Splendid Venice

Property: Starhotels Splendid Venice
Address: San Marco Mercerie, 760, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Venice
#45 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#46 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#47 Family Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Starhotels Splendid Venice 4*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Splendid Venice hotel is based in the historic centre of Venice, with the city's must-see sights and hidden treasures all within your reach. Just a short stroll or gondola ride will take you to Venice's most iconic sights: San Marco square and the Rialto Bridge. Like the city itself, our 165 rooms and suites are a mixture of styles, but all capture the essence of a romantic Venice holiday. Blending contemporary comforts with details that reflect classic Venetian character, each room has a light, elegant atmosphere, with many offering wonderful views over canals and the Venice skyline with its magnificent San Marco's bell tower in the horizon. Le Maschere at the Splendid Venice is one of the few restaurants near San Marco Square that is popular with Venetians and tourists alike. This authentic Venetian restaurant serves classic dishes with a modern twist. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Jet2Holidays , DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ Supplier Direct, Prestigia, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo and TravelUp so you can book your Starhotels Splendid Venice reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Starhotels Splendid Venice Hotel Venice
Starhotels Splendid Hotel Venice
Venice Starhotels Splendid Hotel
Starhotel Splendid Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing