We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (1,819)
Filter reviews
1,819 results
Traveller rating
1,289
341
112
44
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,289
341
112
44
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews canova restaurant harry's bar leading hotels of the world water taxi oldest hotel in venice junior suite beautiful hotel grand canal st marks square breakfast room san marco square concierge staff designer shops marco polo five star hotel bottle of champagne perfect location
Filter
Updating list...
887 - 892 of 1,819 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2013

Myself and my partner spent two nights in this beautiful palatial hotel. Our room was truly elegant and a special place for us as we got engaged here on arrival! There is plenty of space with an old but elegant bathroom. You would get lost in the bed it is so big and very comfortable. Service is excellent in very clean surroundings and you really feel you are in a special place given it is the oldest hotel in Venice. The room where breakfast is served resembled one of the many museums we visited with beautiful renaissance art and decor. To arrive back to our room one afternoon and find a complimentary bottle of champagne, due to it being my birthday,was a lovely touch, given we hadn't indicated this - they obviously saw it from my passport on arrival. The drinks in the bar were very expensive, but we were celebrating a few things so we didnt mind. The famous Harrys Bar is just beside this hotel and is a lovely spot to visit. Overall a very special hotel, expensive but perfect for that special trip.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaks122
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear kaks122,
Special events need special venue to celebrate! Did you know that the ancient Locanda Della Luna has been property of the knight Templars for more than 2 centuries? This and more anecdote to learn and experience on our lovely Luna Hotel Baglioni. Hope to have the pleasure to share our heritage again on your next visit. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2013

From the moment of our arrival by water taxi to the hotel pier to our departure we could not fault this hotel.
The location of the hotel is perfect;with San Marco a minute's walk away and the Rialto Bridge about 15 minutes walk away. Our room was fabulous - Room 155. Clean and beautifully decorate, plus the very large bed was really comfortable. It can get a little noisy in the morning because the room is on the street side of the hotel. We ate in the hotel's Canova Restaurant on our first night in Venice and the food was lovely; as was the service. My partner, (now fiancé, as he proposed in the Canova Restaurant that night), is a coeliac and the restaurant and bar staff could not be more accommodating. I had informed the hotel of his dietary needs before our a arrival, and without even reminding them they placed gluten/wheat free bread & crackers on our table whenever we ate. We did have a drink twice at the hotel bar - very pricey! A coffee was €6 and a brandy and sprite €13. One slight downfall of the hotel for us was the problems they were experiencing with the WiFi connection. It kept dropping out so that we had to keep asking for new access codes.
The tours I would recommend doing are the Secret Itineraries tour in the Palazzo Ducale. You get to see extra rooms and hear the true story of Cassanova's imprisonment there! The boat trip to Murano, Burano & Torcello is okay. We booked through Viator before we left the UK. The PA system on the boat was useless and so we could not hear much of what the tour guide was saying - which was very annoying. Do not buy anything from Murano glass factory itself! we were ripped off by 80€! We found the same dish we bought at the factory in a shop on San Marco 80€ cheaper! Burano was lovely to walk around, Torcello was a long walk to see the church and ancient ruins/statutes. Tip - Make sure you are back in time for when the boat departs because they do not wait. One family with 2 young children and an old couple very narrowly missed the boat - we had just left the pier and had to 'park up' again to let them on. They were only 2/3 minutes late! I would definitely recommend looking up and booking the free tour (YES - free tour) of Venice. Really informative! Our guide Roberto was great!
If you are a coeliac, a fabulous wine bar called All' amarone, down a side alley very near Campo San Polo is a lovely wine bar who will cook gluten free pasta for you if you buy it in the local supermarket and there is a restaurant in Campo San Polo itself which serves gluten free pasta. If you want to eat in Da Mamo, book beforehand - very rare that you will get a table on the off chance in this small restaurant. These last two restaurants the food was nice. Da Mamo had a great atmosphere.
Hope this gives you a few tips - we had a super break, mainly due to the wonderful hotel and it's staff - especially the woman, (sorry, never remembered to ask for her name), who greeted us so cheerily, for three mornings, in the Salone Marco Polo breakfast room. A big thank you to the Luna Baglioni staff! :)
PS - ignore the star rating about the swimming pool. I clicked it by mistake and then could not delete it! As far as I am aware there is NO swimming pool at this hotel!

Room Tip: I think it may be quieter if you opt for a room on the lagoon/canal side, if you like virtual quiet!
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Charli21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear Charli21,
We are happy to hear you have enjoyed your stay in Venice and most happy you have chosen the Luna Hotel Baglioni for your special happening. Bravi! Thank you also for your appreciation words on the Canova restaurant where our Chef Cosimo delight our guest with Mediterranean dishes so as local recipes of the culinary tradition of the territory. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again on your next trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2013

This is defo a 5* hotel, they did offer us a free 2 bed, 2 bath suite upgrade but didn't take it due to having a 2 year old child with us and didn't want him in a different room. We had our deluxe room which was really roomy and exceptional quality, child's cot best ever had. Breakfast was lovely but not as good as the Danelli breakfast where we stayed once before but defo the best hotel room in venice we had so far and as this was our 5th visit to venice, we have stayed at 5 different 4/5* hotels. location excellent. just wished they had shown us how to use the lighting system as had to speak with reception on how to turn lights up. It is expensive but worth it, we didn't eat here but used our regular restaurant Osteria enoteca, Frezzeria, San Marco which is fab

Room Tip: Lovely room 357
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank holly b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 April 2013

Dear holly b,
Families and kids are most welcomed to the Luna Hotel Baglioni and we do thank you for having chosen us on your 5th visit to our lovely city. Did you ever tried our Canova restaurant? Hope to meet you personally on your next visit and give you further tips for the city visit. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2013

My husband and I have just returned from a wonderful stay at this hotel , we were celebrating our wedding anniversary and from the moment we got on the speed boat from the airport it was very special . The staff were all very friendly and couldn't do enough for us always very polite . The hotel is situated in the most amazing position a few steps from St Marks square and all the fabulous shops. We had a wonderful fews days and treated like royalty would not hesitate to recommend .

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Michele H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Michele H,
Let us thank you for choosing the Luna Hotel Baglioni for your wedding anniversary. We right suggest to everyone to indulge in an outstanding experience sometimes during the year and hope to welcome you again in Venice for another celebration. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2013

My wife and I were stunned at the beauty of the hotel all over, our room was exceptional and the public areas exquisite. Reception and concierge friendly and very helpful.Thanks for the champagne delivered to our room as a birthday gift.

Great location, so much to see, we enjoyed very minute, and hope to visit again.

At the Luna, you certainly get what you pay for. Thanks

Alisdair and Jennifer Lamplugh from the UK

Room Tip: Ask for a canal view
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alisdair L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2013

Dear Alisdair L,
Let us thank you for your kind feedback and for choosing the Luna Hotel Baglioni to celebrate your birthday. All the staff and myself hope to welcome you again on your next trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews