We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decent option for Venice break”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #61 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 April 2013

We stayed at the Luna Baglioni for our first wedding anniversary and thought it was a very nice hotel but nothing that blew us away.

On arrival we carried our own bags into reception from the water taxi, our room was a lovely superior room and we had a note wishing us a happy anniversary and a plate of mini fruit tarts and chocolate covered strawberries.

Location is excellent, almost on top of St Marks square. A perfect base for exploring.

Breakfast was hit and miss, slow service, staff taking their time to restock the buffet. Food was ok but nothing special.

The hotel bar was cosy but indoors - in fact the hotel lacked any outside space. We often found ourselves in the Hotel Monaco and Grand Canal's outside bar. This is conveniently next door to the Luna Baglioni.

Would I return to Venice? Absolutely. Would I return to the Luna Baglioni? Only if there was a very good rate on. Whilst the hotel did nothing wrong, it just didn't wow us for the prices it charges.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 2penniesworth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2013

Dear 2penniesworth,
Let us thank you for your review and for choosing us for you first wedding anniversary.
We wish suggest you and everybody in this forum to visit Venice during the low season (winter time) in order have the most discounted rate offer of the year. Our reservation office will be delight to give you all the information on rates and offer of this attractive and convenient period. All the staff and myself look forward to welcoming you back to our lovely city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

769 - 775 of 1,668 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2013

Very good situation, close to everywhere, from Place San Marco to the boats peers.
Very nice people, ready to help in all situations.
Expensive ? yes...But it's worth doing it if you can afford the price. No reason to be disapointed.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Varistot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Varistot,
We do agree with you! Everyone need a treat sometime and we are here to serve you all.
Thank you for your kind words. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This is an excellent hotel. The staff are very friendly and helpful, that's throughout the hotel- reception, dining room, maid service, all excellent. It is located right by St Mark's square so you can pop out for an evening stroll or beat the crowds to the central attractions in the morning. It is only a couple of minutes walk from the Basilica, Doge's Palace, and other central museums. Buy a museums pass to get you into all the museums, good value and valid for 3 months. Do pay the extra to see the horse statues in the Basilica (steps to your right just as you go in) as you get to look down on the Basilica and see the ceiling fresco's a bit better, you also get a balcony view of St Mark's square.

Get a water taxi straight to the front door to start you holiday with a trip down some of the canals. A 24hr Vaparetto ticket will let you ride the Grand canal or pop out to the islands. There is a market on Lido each Tuesday morning.

The hotel restaurant serves great food, good choice and good service. It is however quite expensive so look for table de hote options if ou on't want to splash out. Breakfast is also very good, nice choice of food in a very impressive setting.

Rooms are very comfortable and quiet. We had two that connected and were very pleased.

This was a 4 night stay which was enough to get round the main sites and wander the city.

Room Tip: Ask if you have some special needs , e.g. Rooms connecting or near and they will try and help.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Neville B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 27 April 2013

Dear Neville B,
Thank you for your review and compliment for the extra tips you mentioned for the readers.
Let me just add, for those already familiar to Venice, the Thursday market in Chioggia for a one day excursion in the Lagoon. Our Concierges are at guest disposal for more information. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2013

- Gorgeous Hotel
- Great location, just a few steps from St. Mark's square
- Beautiful and spacious room/bathroom
- Free upgrade (anniversary)
- Delicious breakfast buffet!
- Only downside, we were unable to have a late checkout, hotel was sold out the next day.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a water view and balcony. There is also a private water taxi entrance. No terr...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mailjulee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 25 April 2013

Dear Mailjulee,
Wish to thank you for your lovely words and sorry for the late checkout. In season high occupancy is very frequent (lucky us !). Did you ever visited Venice in the winter time? You should try it and we are here waiting to welcoming you on your next trip to our unique city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

We chose this hotel for our honeymoon as we wanted something a little special. We were not left disappointed by this hotel. From the personal greeting when we arrived to the champagne and chocolate strawberries in our room we really couldn't fault anything. We received a room upgrade and it had one of the best views I've ever had from a hotel window (overlooked the grand canal).
The room was cleaned twice a day and the breakfast food had a huge variety available.
The hotels central location combined with excellent service and amenities made this a truly memorable and special stay,
Would certainly recommend this hotel if looking for a little luxury or for a special celebration.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lucy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear Lucy W,
Thank you for recommending the Luna Hotel Baglioni and for the lovely words on our premises, location and service staff. We right suggest to everyone to indulge in an outstanding experience sometimes and hope to welcome you again in Venice for another celebration. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2013

Let me start by saying this is a great hotel. It has a wonderful location, literally meters from St Mark's square, with a jetty directly outside to facilitate a direct to the door taxi service. The welcome from the staff was very good.

All of the public areas were very well presented and the breakfast room is simply amazing with the painted ceiling. The room itself was very good and room cleaning excellent.

the reasons for very good and not excellent...
Some parts of the hotel were looking tired. I understand the place is steeped in history etc, but it just wasn't up there with other 5 star hotels I have stayed in.
No welcome as we arrived at the jetty and had to carry our own bags into reception. Not really an issue, but nonethelessless at this level it should be a given.
Basic value for money. Venice is expensive, granted, but good value, this place is not.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 931JonB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear 931JonB,
Let us thank you for your precious feedback and for sharing your experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni since we do care on constructive guest comment that will certainly help us to intervene and improve the overall quality of our services and our guests' experience. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2013

I've read the reviews here and agree with the positive feedback that guests have stayed. This is my favorite luxury hotel near Piazza San Marco.

I recently did site reviews of seven Virtuoso hotels in Venice. I loved the styling of the Luna Baglioni. While a lot of Venetian hotels feel "tired," the interiors here were in an elegant, updated Venetian style. Rooms are smaller than similar categories in the U.S. (typical of European hotels), so book a Jr. Suite if you want to have the space of a normal "Deluxe" room.

One reviewer noted they had gone elsewhere to eat breakfast, as the hotel's breakfast is expensive. Here's a tip you may not read elsewhere. If you book the Luna Baglioni through a Virtuoso travel consultant, you'll receive the following complimentary amenities that enhance the value you'll receive.

Full American Breakfast daily for two guests, either in the restaurant or via room service.

85 EUR food and beverage credit.

Room upgrade upon arrival, subject to availability.


This is all for the same price you'd pay booking online. Email me if you need a referral to a Virtuoso travel consultant.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank David O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2013

Dear David O,
Let us thank you for taking the time to post you review in this forum and happy to hear you enjoyed your stay at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. Many time we have explained in this forum that there are many rates available so client should pay attention when making a booking. Let us also express to all readers that we are honored to receive reservations through any channel client wish to book and all the staff and myself are at everybody full disposal to give information on the best rate/package available for the wished period. Thank you again for your review and happy to hear the Luna Hotel Baglioni is your favorite luxury hotel right off Piazza San Marco. Hope to see you on your next trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,605 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#51 of 385 in Venice
1,298 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#15 Family Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#41 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £232 - £724 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Agoda, TravelUp, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing