We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Elegance!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baglioni Hotel Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #43 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable Elegance!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2013

Excellent location. Right on the canal close to the central plaza. Hotel itself exudes elegance and quality. Service was impeccable. Rooms were just perfect. Amazing. The breakfast was included in our rate and was excellent. Would stay here again.

Room Tip: Get a room with a balcony towards the canal. Also if booking two rooms ask for the last two rooms at...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank coxo01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear coxo01,
We are happy to read your review and thank you for the kind words of appreciation on our service, location, rooms and Breakfast. All the staff and myself look forward to welcoming you again on your next trip to Italy and let you enjoy another experience. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    286
    90
    33
    22
See reviews for
312
852
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Milford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
61 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2013 via mobile

Our room was a spacious Grand Suite on the 4th floor, the magnificent water view was so picturesque. Perfect location for shopping and close to St. Marks Square. The afternoon tea was a great touch of hospitality. A return trip is in the near future.

Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Karen H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Karen H,
We are happy to read your appreciation while staying with us and thank you for choosing our Canaletto Suite with lagoon view and original furniture of the early ‘800. We all stay at your disposal and hope to welcome you again on your future trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ibiza
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

A truly stylish hotel which is superbly furnished and situated just off St Marks Square. A warm welcome on arrival was followed by a pleasant surprise when taken to our rooms. Whilst they were slightly on the small side they were well equiped stylish and comfortable. Dinner in the restaurant was pleasant on our first evening following a long days travel. Taking breakfast under beautiful frescoes in the breakfast was a treat. Whilst being in the centre off all the action and a busy hotel it still managed to give the feeling of intimacy.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kevin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 8 June 2013
Dear Kevin B,
Wish to thank you for your kind review and for choosing the Luna Hotel Baglioni for your stay in Venice. We are also happy you appreciate our Restaurant Canova while here, a lovely oasis to taste traditional Venetian recipes. All the staff and myself are looking forward to welcoming you again in our lovely city on your future trip Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribeirao Preto, SP
Level Contributor
165 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2013

Located on an old venetian palace,behind Saint Mark Square, it offers very good comfort, well decorated and spacious rooms. Good beds and an extraorinary breakfast make your stay unforgetable. The staff is gentle and provides boat taxi drives from and to airport on request. Close to fine shops and attractions.

Room Tip: Try to book rooms facing Saint Mark Square.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruiflavio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Ruiflavio,
Let us thank you very much for sharing your experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. This old Venetian Palace has been property of the knights Templar for 2 centuries hosting pilgrims bound to the Holy Land and still now days strive for high level hospitality. We all wait you back on your future trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
130 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 May 2013

Everything got off to an excellent start when we were met at the airport as arranged with the hotel (expensive but worth it, we reckon), and whisked off by car + boat accompanied by friendly and smiling staff.

Front of house are also very highly commended, for they were unvaryingly friendly and helpful, and of course the hotel has a wonderful and quiet location not even two minutes from Piazza San Marco - so far definitely 5*.

But from hereon in, it’s all rather downhill ……

Our room and its décor were no better than 4* with the décor and general fittings decidedly tired.

As it was lunchtime, we thought to try the so-called buffet. It looked so nasty and unappetising, that we walked straight out again. I’m afraid this was not just a “one off” bad day, as a couple of days later we had a look and once again, just kept walking!

Is it any surprise that the main dining room, which pretends to very high class cuisine with matching prices was always effectively empty, even in the evening? …. So this aspect gets a bare 2* and perhaps deserves only 1*, arguably rescued by breakfast, which at least offered a reasonable if not very exciting selection, but with truly horrid coffee (in Italy???).

We might consider staying here again, but only because its location is fantastic and so well placed for walking across and through Venice in any direction.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank veloiste
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Veloiste,
Let us express our most genuine apology about our buffet where on the last month for a quick lunch experience we have got an average of ten cover per day and high appreciation from the clientele. This choice has been promoted right because our guests prefer to have something quick for the lunch break. We are sorry that you did not appreciate our chef proposal with the choice of 6 different hot courses, salads, quiches, fresh fruits, dessert and much more in it as cold choisces By the way our carte is always available for those who wish something different. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Titchmarsh
Level Contributor
61 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2013

A fantastic hotel in a quiet but central position.Excellant service throughout and a great place to stay as it is central enough to wander into St Marks Square when all the daytime tourists have gone home.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 1945alice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear 1945alice,
Let us thank you for your kind words of appreciation and hope to have the pleasure to welcome you back in Venice with all your family. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 May 2013

An exquisite Old World Hotel in a great part of this incredible city. Only a half block walk from San Marco Square as well as the water taxi stop. The rooms are small-to-adequately sized (but for the price, should be larger).
The hotel and main desk staff were very helpful.

Room Tip: see my review above
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gerry F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 1 June 2013
Dear Gerry F,
We thank you for your review and happy to hear of your satisfactory stay. Our superior rooms are right the EU size, which is very good for a short stay, but De Luxe are much larger. Please take good note when reserving and in need of room. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#73 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,488 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#46 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Property: Baglioni Hotel Luna
Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#32 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Agoda, Hotelopia, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing