We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Completely met all our expectations…” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Baglioni Hotel Luna

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #43 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Completely met all our expectations…”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 June 2013

We stayed at the Luna Hotel Baglioni in Venice for two nights after spending a week at Lake Garda. It was the final stage of our holiday to celebrate our wedding anniversary (we honeymooned in Venice).It proved to be the perfect ending to our trip.
This 5* hotel is very conveniently located just at the back of San Marco square, having its own private jetty. Luna Hotel Baglioni is a delightfully light Venetian hotel and most definitely the best place we have stayed at on our many trips to Venice.
From arrival to departure ALL staff we came into contact with were very pleasant and helpful, and we were afforded their immediate attention – very impressive.
Prior to arriving we received a welcoming eMail from the manager and on departure a warm farewell letter – both communications making us feel like valued customers.
We occupied a junior suite which apparently had been renovated in the last 12 months – it was simply delightful. It had a comfortable lounge area that was nicely separated from the bedroom providing a truly ‘suite’ environment. The wardrobes, safe and minibar were very well appointed and located in the entrance to the suite. The bathroom was wonderful and had everything you would expect of a 5* hotel. The bedroom offered a large king size bed, TV and iPod dock and the whole suite was brightened by 4 large windows that opened out onto the side street and ‘mini’ canal below.
Whilst we didn’t eat in the hotel, breakfast was not included in the room rate (and we have a gluten free dietary requirement), we have no doubt that the quality of food and service would have met the high standards set throughout the hotel.
We also appreciated the convenient check out (12:00) and check in (14:00) times.
Luna Hotel Baglioni is a genuine 5* hotel, offering everything for the discerning customer and we thoroughly enjoyed our short stay and would happily return – preferably to room 107!

Room Tip: The hotel only has a side facing view over the small canal and the Royal Gardens.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dick_Lizzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 6 July 2013
Dear Dick _Lizzy
We are very happy to hear of your positive experience and thank you for having chosen one of our suites to celebrate your wedding anniversary. We do suggest to everyone from time to time to indulge in such a lovely choice to do something out of ordinary. We have been honored hosting you and all the staff and myself stay at your full disposal looking very much forward to your next trip to Italy. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,497 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,066
    286
    90
    33
    22
See reviews for
312
852
26
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
New Rochelle, New York
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2013

Went to Venice to celebrate our 25th annivesary--the first time there for both my husband and myself. While Venice itself is a destination not to be missed, our enjoyment was greatly enhanced by our having stayed at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. The location was ideal, the breakfasts (and breakfast room) wonderful, the accommodations magnificent, the restaurant recommendations great, and the staff uniformly attentive, caring, and helpful.
For example, we wanted to go to the opera to celebrate the night of our anniversary but it had been sold out weeks in advance. The staff at the hotel called on various friends until they found someone with season tickets that weren't being used. Thanks to the staff's persistance, we wound up seated in center 5th row orchestra seats for the opening night performance of Madama Butterfly. (The opera was wonderful but the Teatro Fenice alone would have been worth the trip...che bella!)
As for our accommodations, we were in a suite which was so beautifully appointed, we truly didn't want to leave...Grazie mille to the Luna Hotel Baglioni for a magnificent visit to Venice. There's no reason to stay anywhere else!

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MipiaceVenezia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear MipiaceVenezia,
We are happy to hear of your positive experience and also happy for your nickname that confirm us your total appreciation with the city. Our staff are on a constant training to serve our guest at the best and your words are the right prize for this continuous strive to excellence . Thank you again for your review and hope to welcome you back for another celebration. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
qatif
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 June 2013

I went to Venice for honeymoon, I stayed two night in this hotel. Very nice place, (near to San Marco, Gandoula, special place for water taxi, shopping area) very nice decoration, room is fabulous. the restaurant and coffee also fabulous, but i am not satisfy with room service according for five star hotel. but i think it is the best one around San macro square area.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jassem m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Jassem m,
We do thank you for your lovely word of appreciation and are happy to hear you enjoyed overall your experience in our property. All the staff and myself look forward to welcome you again in your next stop to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leesburg, Virginia
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 June 2013

This review is a little late, but wanted to write about our last two stays at the Luna Baglioni. Our family has traveled to Venice the last two years to celebrate New Year's Eve and have stayed at here each time. And I am pretty sure we'll heading to Venice again this year for NY Eve as my children have decided that it just would not be the same if we were not in Venice for the countdown. First, the location of the hotel is PERFECT! It's a very short walk to St. Mark's Square and the Doges Palace. Second, the service is impeccable. I loved that on our second visit, everyone from the front desk manager to the bartender remembered us. We had a very nice suite on the first stay, but this past year we had an AMAZING room with incredible views of the canal, in which we were able to see the NY Eve fireworks over the canal. Venice is magical and this hotel only adds to that magic! Hope to be back again to celebrate 2014!

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kirsten W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 29 June 2013
Dear Kirsten W,
We are pleased to read of your experience in Venice during New Years’ Eve and thank you for sharing it. We at The Luan Hotel Baglioni just steps off St. Mark Square, organize a lovely Gala Dinner to celebrate this particular day and the location is indeed the top notch because the fireworks are shot right in front of us. We all wait you back to celebrate the arrival of 2014 . Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South Florida, Florida
Level Contributor
126 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 June 2013

Purported to be the oldest hotel in Venice, the Baglioni is a classicly decorated facility right on the water in the most densely visited and costly section of Venice. Rooms are well appointed and large by European standards. Service is excellent. The entrance to the hotel borders a small extension of a canal where you can board gondolas literally at the front door. Hotel location is central to many premier sites---Doge's Palace, Piazza San Marco, St Mark's Basilica and is a relatively short walk to the Rialto bridge and market area. Harry's Bar (home of the bellini) is literally a 1 minute walk.

Be prepared for heavy tourist traffic---all areas of San Marco portion of Venice are heavily tourist oriented and extremely busy day and eve. Once you've seen the sites in San Marco a better alternative is to walk north and west into less densely touristed areas of the city and just get lost and find a small piazza and cafe. The local joke is "how many Venitians live in Venice?", answer, none--because of the prices and 25 million tourists per year all live off the island.

As nice as the Baglioni is, it is simply not worth the price and the food was marginal. Breakfast good, afternoon tea nice, but dinner was exceptionally expensive, small portions and just not very good. Our veal milanese was heavily breaded, included no more than 2 ounces of veal and was quite dry---the accompaniment was french fries. Including 2 glasses of wine, an appetizer and no dessert the bill came to 187 euros ($250) excluding any tip, and would have been overpriced for what we got at half the cost. Then again, if you travel to Venice, you will learn that prices for meals, activities, etc are all exceptionally expensive (example: gondola ride for 40 minutes $120 including modest tip).

Room Tip: avoid rooms along the corridor to the docks---street noise continues well into the night
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dubaytom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear dubaytom,
We are really sorry to read your review. As hotel manager please accept our most genuine apology if we didn’t fulfilled your expectation though thank you for those positive points highlighted as the service, the rooms, the location.
As Venetian myself I do feel frustrated. Although some positive points raise from your words is clear that your visit has been planned in the worst period: the high season. As an expert reviewer you should know that the high season has a negative impact on everything: number of visitors, rates etc… Did you ever know we also have low season where citizenship reappropriate themselves of the their own Squares, Calle, Campi . We all at the Luna Hotel Baglioni invite you for an experience during winter time to rediscover this city, encounter many ventians ( those few that remains of course ) at the Rialto market for examples and share with you the great heritage of the Serenissima Repulic and still, on top of this with rates sometimes even the 40% lower than the high season. On your next trip you should consider all this and will you pass by the Luna Hotel Baglioni we all would be pleased to share also the wide story and heritage of our premises. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pleasanton, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 June 2013

Went here for my 25th Anniversary. Great hotel. Wonderful view overlooking the Gondolas and canals. My only problem with this room was a lack of drawers for my clothes. Great location, near ST. Marks square and the basilica. Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone going to Venice. It was very nice.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicki B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Nicki B,
Let us thank you for sharing your experience and for choosing us for your wedding anniversary. The location is top notch for the Luna Hotel Baglioni right off St. Mark’s Square and we all wait you back for another celebration. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 June 2013

We decided to book our wedding stay at the Baglioni hotel based on there flexibility and service on our visit to Venice last year. On booking this hotel we have been in constant contact with the events co-ordinator over the last year arranging our stay. We booked the suite with the largest private terrace which has the most amazing views of the grand canal. We booked our afternoon cocktails and canopies to be served on the terrace and then a grand evening meal served on the terrace whilst we had a string quartet play music. They decorated the terrace following requests I had made, it looked amazing. The food was out of this world and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay special.
The was the most amazing time of our life's, and the staff at the Luna Baglioni made it so.
I would truly recommend this hotel for anyone wishing to stay in Venice.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Wilba2205
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 22 June 2013
Dear Wilba2205,
We have been honored having you for your wedding at The Luna Hotel Baglioni and let us thank you for sharing the experience of your most important day. The Tiepolo Suite with its 100 sqm terrace and the lagoon view is the most precious setting to make a wedding memorable. All the staff and myself wish you happiness and wait you back on your next trip. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 833 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#73 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,491 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#46 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,174 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Property: Baglioni Hotel Luna
Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#32 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, DerbySoft Ltd Shanghai HQ, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing