We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Top Quality”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #47 of 386 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Top Quality”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 March 2014

The first thing that hits you about this hotel is the location, superbly located a stone's throw away from St Mark's. A special thanks must go to Laura who checked us in. She immediately made us feel hugely welcome and even managed to find us an upgrade! The room was superb, if you splash out for a Junior Suite I would highly recommend it, and the bed was fantastically comfortable. Everything was spotless, the bathroom huge and there was more than enough hanging space for all our clothes.

Breakfast was a real eye opener, not only for the range on offer but also for the location. It's not every day you get to eat breakfast sitting under a mural from the school of an old master.

I would highly recommend this hotel, and if you can, arriving by water taxi from the airport makes the trip even more special.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sa_2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Indeed the location of our property is a precious one and give to visitors the possibility to organize any kind of activity this city allow. Thank you for taking the time to highlight this and other points like our Marco Polo ball room, where we do serve daily breakfast, which ceiling frescoed from the Tiepolo’s pupils dated back to the second half of the 18th century. All the staff and myself look very much forward to the pleasure of welcoming you again on your next trip to Venice.
Gianmatteo Zampieri – Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,085
    289
    94
    34
    23
See reviews for
319
866
27
38
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
155 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 February 2014

This magnificent old hotel is in the heart of Venice. It's beautiful and charming. It is just steps away from Saint Mark's Square, the gondola, transportation up and down the Grand Canal, shopping right outside the doors and an abundance of restaurants nearby. Of course, the hotel offers fine dining, as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank noho63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 8 March 2014
Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for your kind review and for highlighting its location, the service opportunity and the fine dining at our Canova restaurant. With all the staff we look very much forward to help you plan your next visit to our lovely city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
25 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2014

Just ended a 3 night stay at the Baglioni in Venice.
The first 'like' is the location. It might seem like a simple thing but in Venice it's a big deal. Venice is a maze of tiny streets and everything is hard to find. Every day I saw people dragging suitcases through the cobble stone streets and up and down the many bridges in search of their hotels, but the Baglioni is right next to the canal and has it's own dock so straight off the water taxi or vapretto right into the hotel! It's also right next to St Marks Square (Piazza San Marco) so it is always easy to find your way back after a day of adventures.
Next are the staff. They are all extremely friendly and welcoming. Thanks to Laura who met me at check-in and helped me throughout. Also the lovely ladies at breakfast who seemed to make a special effort to make me feel welcome because they knew I was traveling alone.
Next the room. Mine was lovely. Bigger than I expected. It had a more traditional decor but not overwhelming or unpleasant. I loved the beautiful furniture and window coverings. I really loved the light fittings hanging on either side of the bed. I wish I could have them in my own home. The room was clean and comfortable and mine had a fabulous view. The towels are luscious and warm (on a heated rail) and it even felt like there was underfloor heating or something in the bathroom. The tiles were always warm. Even though it was winter the room was so warm that I occasionally had to open the balcony door for a few minutes to cool the room down. Wifi worked like a charm.
The buffet breakfast is more than adequate. There is fruit, cereal, yoghurt, various breads and spreads, scrambled eggs, fabulous smoked salmon and cold meats, cooked bacon and sausages and fantastic pastries. There is also an alla carte menu if you want something else.
My only issues would be firstly, the price of room service. I realise everything is expensive in Venice but 27 EUR for a small bowl of vegetable soup is a bit extreme and you also have to pay a 10 EUR surcharge per person for any room service. So a bowl of soup cost me 37 EUR! That is more than 50 AUD. Only other issue would be the very limited television available in English. Just one or two English channels besides constantly repeating news channels would be welcome.
I would most definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jiffy004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We have been honored to host you at the Luna Hotel Baglioni in particular because you have chosen us from so far away. Thank you for your kind words on the premises, its location, the room, the staff etc. and sorry for being so pricey. Let us reassure you our rates are right in line with those of other luxury property in town. All the staff and myself hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our lovely city in the next future. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson, Arizona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2014

Poor quality of a hotel.
Very poor marble floors.
Awful beds with two single beds
put together loosely to try and make
a king bed. What a terrible joke. A typical
substandard hotel that is overpriced.
The breakfast was minimal and of poor quality.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Skoosh

Helpful?
3 Thank Jerry G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,
We are terribly sorry for what you describe, let us express our utmost concern for your review after your one night quick stay. The precious marbles that adorn our property comes from Carrara and Verona both worldwide known, the original antiques throughout our premises like sofas, chairs, mirrors and a collection of paintings of Mercier. Your room has been recently completely refurbished, and beds are brave new. We do serve daily breakfast in our marvelous Marco Polo ball room, a jump back to the 18th century as you enter, with original wall stuccos and the ceiling frescoed from the Tiepolo’s pupils. On the buffet more than 80 different products are available for our guest, hot and cold dishes including chilled Prosecco, smoked salmon and homemade cakes of our chef, just for example. If you will be back to our lovely city we will definitely introduce you to all this you have probably missed: a primary location premises with an historical richness inside, in a fairy tale city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This was my first trip to Venice and I stayed here in January for two nights on the recommendation of a friend. The private water taxi, booked in advance online, would have brought us directly to the entrance of the hotel had it not been for the high water levels (it became stormy that evening). As it was, we were dropped off only a couple of minutes’ walk away past top end designer shops.

Check-in was swift and we were allocated room 212 which was bright and airy, with a small balcony and good views. It was lovely to hear the bells of St. Mark’s Basilica. The beds were very comfortable and the bathroom spacious. The staff were professional, friendly and attentive, with particular thanks to Antonio for assisting with our various enquiries.

On the day we left, the water taxi came right to the door to take us back to the airport and this completed a magical break in Venice. I am so looking forward to staying again at the Luna Baglioni.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Londoner483
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Even a short break can be magic in fairy tale city like Venice and the high tide is not a problem when in touch with our leading concierge tips but something exclusive that shows the city in a very different perspective. Thank you for your review and don’t hesitate to contact us so to plan at the best your next break. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2014

THE perfect location, taxi drop off right at the entrance of the hotel (next to Chanel and Dior didn't hurt either =). Surrounded by all sorts of boutiques, restaurants, Tea Time place just steps away and small gift shops. Must try the gondala ride right around the corner, it's picture perfect!

Baglioni has the friendliest staff EVER! Helpful with where to eat, how to get there, gave us plenty of local joints and where to go. Opened the door for us at early morning with a big smile. The hotel is very romantic, clean and warm, the buffet breakfast was to die for. We (three gfs) ate here every single morning! Decor is elegant and our room, was cleaned and tidy. Venice is a little town but so inviting. We felt safe walking at 2am...however, it was freezing during that hour. Def the place i would re-visit on my next trip back to Europe!
Thank you!!

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veevalerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 15 February 2014
Dear Guest,
Thank you for highlighting some important points and advantages while staying at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. Very important is that the city itself is really safe in every season and hour of day and night! We all wait you back on your next trip. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tel Aviv, Israel
Level Contributor
34 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2014

We arrived at the hotel with a boat from the airport that took us right to the front door. The building is a palace, with lots of original art ( paintings and statues) and beautiful rooms, both bedrooms and the public spaces. The breakfast is fabulous, including prosecco and salmon, and in the afternoon they open a tea table, with fresh apples. The staff is courteous and helpful, friendly and with up to date weather reports.
When you walk out the front door, take a left and on your right, you basically fall on St. Marco's square ( after passing Chanel). If you go the other way you fall on all of the best stores in the world, also the most expensive. On the other side there is the famous Harry's Bar which we skipped but right after that the bus to the airport which is a lovely way to say goodbye to Venice since it takes a longer route than the private taxi boat.
The room itself was simply lovely, we had a balcony overlooking the entrance to the Grand Canal. The bathroom was modern, had a great bath, and everytime we went out housekeeping came in and replaced anything we had used and fixed up the room.
Absolutely wonderful experience.

Room Tip: We loved having the balcony, it was a regular room. It seems that some of the suites have huge porc...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jodip876
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this review, 8 February 2014
Dear Jodi P,
We are very happy to hear of your positive experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni and thank you for sharing it. Our commitment to guest satisfaction is based on a continuous training to our staff striving for excellence. Our aim is to let our gest live an experience while in Venice, like they were venetian nobles in their own palace. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#71 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 851 reviews
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Hotel
Bauer Hotel
#74 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,512 reviews
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#49 of 386 in Venice
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Property: Baglioni Hotel Luna
Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Phone Number:
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#33 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££££
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Priceline, TravelUp, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing