We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Internet
Hotel Monaco & Grand Canal(Venice)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (1,728)
Filter reviews
1,728 results
Traveller rating
1,222
326
107
42
31
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,222
326
107
42
31
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscanova restaurantharry's barleading hotels of the worldwater taxioldest hotel in venicejunior suitebeautiful hotelgrand canalst marks squaresan marco squarebreakfast roomprivate jettyconcierge staffbottle of champagnefive star hotelturn down servicemarco polo
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
685 - 690 of 1,728 reviews
Reviewed 19 April 2014

We have been using Dial-a-flight, particularly, Lincoln, one of their advisors/staff, as our preferred holiday provider for many years as we have had nothing but excellent service from them and left the decision of which hotel to stay in with Lincoln. He could not have chosen better. The staff at Luna Baglioni were so friendly and helpful. We were celebrating our silver wedding anniversary and we were upgraded to a junior suite and were given complimentary sparkling wine. The room was luxurious. The hotel is located just off St Mark’s Square and is set in a shopping area that only has high-end retailers. During the day there is a constant stream of people in the streets below but this only added to the experience, in our opinion, but the glazing for the room prevented the noise coming up from the streets being a distraction or annoyance. You do hear the bells, albeit muffled, from the various locations around the square but again that just added to the charm. The rooms are as lavish as they look in the brochure.
Breakfast was good and plentiful and was a buffet style served in a fantastic room. There are pictures on line that can be viewed which clearly demonstrates the room’s splendour. However it would work out quite expensive if it was not part of the package. The staff in the restaurant were attentive, engaging and friendly. This was true of all the staff but particularly the front desk. I do not want to single any one out but if there is anything you need to know about Venice or the surrounding area ask Umberto. He is ‘the oracle’.
This is a 5* hotel set in a fantastic location and you get what you pay for.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GoApe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for your kind review and for highlighting all the positive points like the location, the services and the staff with your kind words. Bravo to indulge on your silver wedding anniversary for a luxury way to celebrate it. We always suggest from time to time to do so even if it is a simple short break. Hope to have the pleasure to meet you personally on your next trip to Italy. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

We stayed at the Luna having arrived on the Orient –Express and arrived by water taxi at the hotel’s private landing quay where we were greeted by a member of staff who looked after all our luggage and ensured that we were speedily booked in. We were given a wonderful room on the fourth floor with a small balcony that looked out over the canal and Giardini Realli with views across the Grand Canal to S. Giorgio Maggiori. We really could not have asked for a better view and location. The room was nicely quiet, had plenty of space and storage and an excellent mini bar (although unused). There was an excellent bathroom with his and hers wash basins, marvellous toiletries, plenty of towels, bath robes and slippers and ample space as well. The bed was an excellent king size double with extremely comfortable mattress and good pillows allowing a choice between soft and firm according to taste. The room was very tastefully decorated in the grand hotel style and we could not fault it. Each night the turn down service drew the curtains, laid out our night clothes and left a nice chocolate to wish us good night and each day the room was left beautifully clean and tidy.

We had dinner in the restaurant Canova (see separate review) on our first night and this was absolutely excellent. We dined elsewhere on our second night and wished we had stayed in and had a second meal here. Breakfast is taken in the magnificent setting of the Marco Polo Lounge with walls and ceiling decorated with amazing frescoes. The buffet offered an extensive choice of just about anything you could want and if it was not there you could ask. The only slight disappointment was that the eggs were not freshly cooked leading to rather rubbery scrambled egg (I am now being really fussy because it tasted fine and I had some every day!). My wife pointed out that this may be because the decoration of the room will not allow cooking to take place here. Again, the service was excellent even when the room was at its busiest and the staff were always friendly and courteous. The front desk and concierge staff were all excellent and provide us with any help and advice we needed and quickly got to know who we were.

This hotel is in the most perfect location for seeing the sites being a two minute walk from St Mark’s Square, the San Marco water bus stop and Doge’s Palace. You can walk anywhere, to any of the main districts of Venice from here very easily. If you are going to spend all day walking then take a good, comfy, well sprung pair of shoes. The streets are hard on your feet! We did have a coffee at Florian’s in St Mark’s Square on our last night while listening to the orchestra. This will be the most expensive coffee you will ever have so make it a special as the cost is not much more than a basic and accept that that you will pay a six euro cover charge to have the orchestra. What we got was a classic experience with great service and fitted entirely with our whole visit of: the Orient –Express, a fantastic stay at a classically stylish hotel and a posh coffee to finish it up, before a private transfer back to the airport.

Would we stay here again? You bet. Was it worth it? Yes. Will we be back? We hope so.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony room overlooking the canal.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank family_manDevon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you very much for your kind review. We are very happy to hear that everything was positive in your experience from your arrival to your wish to be soon back. Please feel free to contact us in any moment wish you plan for you or for your friends a new experience in our incredible city of Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2014

great hotel, member of leading hotels,elegant and luxurious and excellently located on a canal and approximately 100 yards from st. mark's square/ the staff very friendly and accommodating/ overall experience could not have been better

Room Tip: ask for canal view
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rfweiss50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We do thank you very much for your kind review and for choosing us for your stay in Venice. Let us remind to all readers that we are located right few steps from St. Marks Square and within our rooms some are overlooking the small canal and the royal gardens and some other with the lagoon view, still some Signature suites have terrace and lagoon view. Please don’t hesitate to contact us for any further information and for planning your next trip to our lovely city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

We aretakin a tour through Italy, and stayed ar the Luna Baglioni on our first stop - Venice. The hotel is beautiful - elegant enrty and lobby, gorgeous rooms. The staff at the desk and in the restaurant are very friendly and helpful. Would absolutely recommend this lovely hotel to anyone visiting Venkce.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank RichandBarbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for your kind review and most pleased to hear you are taking a tour through our nice country. Thank you also for recommending the Hotel and the Canova restaurant to all our followers. Please don’t hesitate to contact us for any further need on Venice and hope to have pleasure to welcome you again in our fairytale city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 April 2014

My husband booked this hotel as a surprise birthday present and I have to say he chose very well. We had a private water taxi direct to the door where our luggage was taken into the hotel. The hotel itself is lovely very elegant and spotlessly clean. The only thing I would suggest is that you request a non smoking room on booking as the room we were given had a very strong smell of smoke. I went to reception and was shown to another room which also had the smell of smoke, third time lucky all was well. Even though the hotel was full the staff sorted this issue quickly and I was very happy. The room we were given was a suite and was lovely, very comfortable and spotless with everything you could need. The only downside was the heavy voile on the windows which blocked the light as it backed onto the street, that said I can see why they did this and it's only my personal preference that I like natural light. All the staff are very friendly and cheerful and nothing is too much trouble. Breakfast was a lovely buffet and the choice was plenty. The location of the hotel couldn't be better with St Marks Square literally on you doorstep. Venice is an amazing place with lots to do and see....make sure you take comfy shoes!!! I'd avoid the cafés in St Marks Square while they are lovely and have music playing we found them expensive and the majority of the staff quite miserable. I'd definitely recommend this hotel to anyone and it would be our choice again if we returned.

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank DonnaSYorks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2014

Dear Guest,
We are happy to read your review and thank you for choosing us to celebrate your anniversary. The location of The Luna Hotel Baglioni is right few meters away from St. Marks square where everybody would like to be, yet on a very quiet corner since the street end to a canal. All the staff and myself wait you back to our romantic city of Venice for a new experience. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews