We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful hotel in a wonderful city”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #60 of 388 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We spent three wonderful nights in this hotel last week on a return trip to Venice. Having booked the hotel room (a de luxe double) via Leading Hotels of the World we were obliged to a room upgrade (where available) and so this meant a junior suite. The hotel wasn't obliged to allocate a suite with lagoon view (naturally the most desirable option) but they did and, right from the beginning, this made a very positive impression of the hotel and the staff. In fact, from arrival to departure, they couldn't have been friendlier and more helpful.The room itself was spotless, opulent and had a very comfortable queen size bed. All of the rooms in the hotel itself were beautiful and the dining room, where we took breakfast every morning, had a ceiling with paintings in the style of Tiepolo (one of Venice's most famous native artists of the Baroque period). I cannot, personally, find any issues to fault this hotel and would recommend it to anyone of taste who wants a beautiful, comfortable stay in this beautiful city.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tallegio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,
The original frescoed ceiling of the Tepolo’s pupils in our Marco Polo ball room along with the stuccos, floor and the big oil on canvas of Ermolao Paoletti, make the morning breakfast something exclusive with no compare in town.
Thank you for highlighting this since many in this forum just simply talk about “expensive breakfast….” That in term of rate is right in line with our competitors. Which value would you give to all this original decor being a jump back to 18th century for the morning start up? We all have been honored to have you here even just for a short break and hope to have the pleasure to meet you personally on your next trip to Venice and introduce you into the great heritage we daily share with our guest. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,696)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

658 - 664 of 1,696 reviews

Reviewed 19 May 2014

I was just there this last May with a friend who had booked this hotel via her AMEX platinum card. It is a pricey place and not the way I usually travel. Having said that, this place was a thrill. It had it's own "dock" for the water taxis and gondoliers. It was so central that it was just steps to the main attractions at St. Marks square. The concierge and hotel staff couldn't have been more helpful - and I am usually very critical here...The room was ridiculously nice.

Stock up on the amazing breakfast and enjoy the day.

On a note - the bar and restaurant are totally overpriced - find somewhere local and go there. Much less relaxed and stuffy. That is why I'm giving this a 4 and not a 5.

Room Tip: Our room had no view - I'm not sure if other do.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Traveller48570
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Wish to thank you for your review. We are happy that our premises, staff and service had a positive impression on you. We also understand you were with a friend on a particular program with lot of added value, therefore we really don’t catch the… “overpriced bar and restaurant”… these are right in line with our standards and this is the reason why many guest do choose us. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2014

We stayed at this sumptuous hotel just before Easter. It was a wonderful time of the year to visit Venice and we were fortunate to enjoy 3 nights at the Hotel Luna Baglioni. The photos on all the websites offering rooms at this hotel were truly representative, but nothing can prepare you for the wow factor upon arrival. The hotel offers a 5 star experience and the location, quality of service and facilities are second to none. We travelled with my 84 year old disabled mother and all of our specific requirements were met and the staff were obliging and charming throughout our stay. The breakfast was delicious, offering a wide choice of anything I could possibly wish for. As I remember the warm welcome and those unforgettable few days, I feel very guilty now that it took me a month to write this review. There is nowhere else I would rather stay in Venice. A huge thank you to you all at Luna Baglioni.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Tim080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We all at the Luan Hotel Baglioni thank you for choosing us and for your kind review. Needless to say that with all the staff we stay at your full disposal wish you plan to be back to Venice. Don’t miss our winter offers to enjoy the city of Venice like Venetians do without the tourist crowd. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2014

We stayed here on a Tauck tour, what a beautiful hotel and spectacular location. Out one door, the Grand Canal and Harry's Bar. Out the other, a private boat dock, gondoliers, and steps to St. Mark's Square. The price is not for the faint of heart (but nowhere in Venice is). Treat yourself - prime location, great staff, stunning breakfast room. Breakfast was a buffet, with everything you would want - American style eggs, bacon, and sausage, every type of bread you would want with a toaster, cheese, fruit, cereal, TONS of pastries. And of course, cappuccino. We had a room with a bedroom and living room, a 2 part bathroom (double sink with huge tub and toilet/shower combination) - all fit for a king and a queen. Spoil yourself!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 658Chris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 17 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for your kind review. As mentioned many times we do suggest everybody to Spoil yourself from time to time. Thank you also for highlighting our breakfast daily served in our Marco Polo ball room. A jump back to the 18th century with original frescoes from the Tiepolo pupils, right what you need for a good morning start! Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

This is a wonderfully positioned hotel to explore Venice right next to San Marco. Stayed in a junior suite and found this to be a spacious and very comfortable room. The bed was deliciously comfortable! Champagne on arrival with a Venetian cake was a nice touch. Room service was prompt and good. We had breakfast out each day to "taste Italy" so can't comment on the breakfast. The concierge was very helpful, the staff delightful and no problems at all. Arrived by water taxi from the train station and you must take the taxi to the airport - expensive but a great way to say goodbye to Venice.

Room Tip: Junior suite is excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DVaus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for all your suggestions and for taking the time to post your review about your positive experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. We are sorry you missed our breakfast. We do serve it daily in our Marco Polo ball room. A jump back to the 18th century as you enter, with original frescoes from the Tiepolo pupils, stucco on the wall, Murano glass chandeliers and sconces, precious big paintings of Ermolao Paoletti, on top of this a wide choice of food and drinks right to start your day. Don’t miss on your next trip our breakfast inclusive rate. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 May 2014 via mobile

Amazing rooms (suite), great breakfast, lovely staff and good service, what more could you want?!

However that isnt long enough for trip advisor so I'll continue... The shower was powerful and the toiletries provided were varied and good.

Champagne in room on arrival was very welcome, ipod dock in room as well.


Had a great gondola ride from outside the hotel as well.

Thank fudge7000
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We are happy to hear about you positive experience and thank you for that. We constantly train our staff and strive for anticipating any guest request along with the most genuine cuisine and warm welcome. Hope to have the pleasure to see you again on your next trip to Venice and wish you a lovely season. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 3 May 2014

We recently stayed one night at this hotel en route to our Mediterranean cruise. I had researched MANY Venice hotels long before our trip and chose this one due to reviews on tripadvisor, even though friends told me to stay at the Danieli.
My husband and I were not disappointed in the least! Our room was lovely, the staff were friendly and helpful and the location was perfect!
I highly recommend this wonderful hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marsha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 10 May 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni and happy to hear you did appreciate your choice. Don’t hesitate to contact us wish you plan to visit again our lovely city and don’t miss our low season offers to better experience Venice during winter time. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#74 of 388 in Venice
2,635 reviews
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#14 of 388 in Venice
1,624 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#52 of 388 in Venice
1,312 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#15 Family Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#41 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £236 - £973 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing