We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #60 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 June 2014

Location couldn't be better, one block from St. Marks square. Arriving at their private boat dock via water taxi was an experience we won't forget. The staff are very professional and the breakfast was the best of all the hotels we stayed at in Italy. Our room was beautiful and the marble in the bath was just opulent, including the murano glass fixtures in both the bath and the room.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank elaine841
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Dear Guest,
We are happy to read of you positive experience and wish to thank you very much for sharing it in this forum.
Wish to highlight our commitment to let every guest experience their stay at The Luna Hotel Baglioni as they were in their noble Venetian Palace even if just for few nights. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,637)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

615 - 621 of 1,637 reviews

Reviewed 15 June 2014

Stayed here for a two-night stay in early June. Having been to Venice several times this was my first time staying on the "touristy" side of San Marco. The location is excellent, better than any of the palace hotels in terms of accessibly, a stone's throw to San Marco off a side street and 50 feet from a vaporetto stop to its back entrance. Because of the building's configuration only a small fraction of the rooms have canal views. We booked a jr. suite, and upgraded to a full suite with two separate rooms. The rooms were dark, and the upholstery rich but stuffy. The spaces were not inviting and the living room not at all a comfortable place to relax in. The saving grace was the bed, extremely comfortable and the linen starched and crisp.
Had both lunch and breakfast at the hotel. The lunch was very nice, with a "one-plate" option that includes both a pasta course, a main, and coffee for 29 euros. The bellini was probably the best of all we had sampled, perhaps even better than at Harry's Bar (20 feet from the hotel's back door). Unfortunately breakfast is an absolute disaster, worst of we have ever seen in a five-star hotel in Italy. Scrambled eggs were soggy, coffee very slow in coming (and quite uninspiring), and the meats, cheese, pastry, and fruits all of very mediocre quality. This was also the only hotel we have seen in Italy not to use freshly squeezed orange juice.
Lots of hotels in Venice seem to coast on their locations and history, and the Luna is an exemplar of this culture of complacency.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank colorfulrealm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

Der Guest,
Let us thank you for your review and for expressing your personal experience. We are happy of the positive notes that you have so kindly posted and please rest assured we will seriously consider those for you not so positive. The Baglioni Hotels invest a huge amount of money and resources to maintain this property that share wide history and great antiques inside. Of course we strive for excellent service and attention to guest therefore we wish to apologize with you for not having fulfilled your expectation. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

I brought my active senior parents and my 10 and 11 year old boys to the small luxury Luna Hotel Baglione during Easter week this past Spring. Bottom line, we enjoyed the hotel very much, starting at check in where we received a complimentary upgrade to a jr suite for my parents’ room, with our superior room immediately adjacent, in a back corner very quiet location within the hotel. We had an exterior hall way door so felt like we had our own group suite “hotel within a hotel” and we only had to use one key for both rooms as a result. Very much appreciated this location and more than made up for lack of a view. The hotel also has wonderful single trundle beds which we were allowed to use one for each room for our two boys. We realized immediately the rooms were more than adequately sized to include both trundles in one room so we did that for ourselves and the housekeepers respected our decision, offering a nice turndown for each room each night. Another nice touch was the complimentary dessert appetizers left in my room and a welcome note from management upon arrival. We pulled out a bottle of wine purchased in our drive down from Austria and welcomed ourselves to Venice with a toast and a snack before heading out-- just around the corner -- to the jaw dropping St. Mark’s and the square. If you come from Troncetto (parking lots) as we did or the airport as I’ve heard, a water taxi though a little pricey is the most memorable and neatest way to arrive and leave this hotel. The bellman was right on the dock at the front door and helped everyone out of the boat and with our luggage and it was really a nice way to arrive. The hotel itself is in great condition – I noticed no wear in our rooms and thought the marble bathrooms with their separate showers and tubs – as well as the very luxe Venetian décor of the entire room -- were first rate. Again, the location cannot be beat also so the hotel was overall an exceptional refuge. Our room rate very clearly didn’t include breakfast in the very impressive frescoed room the hotel offers it on buffet, so we made sure we added this at least one of our two mornings of our stay. It’s very pricey as an add on but worth doing at least once just to savor the impressive room. This was all clearly disclosed in our booking so I have no question about this for the hotel. I did notice from time to time the hotel runs breakfast-included deals and given the rate buying that as an add-on ad hoc, this is well worth looking in to if you can get a rate that has breakfast included. In any event, we were very happy with all aspects of our stay. I do have one comment for management: I read some English travel journals that this hotel is the oldest hotel in all of Venice and I understand the company doesn’t like to self promote but I wish very much there had been a book or at least some literature on the provenance of the building from the Knights Templar forward for us to absorb, but too bad there is precious little available and no gift shop or other place to pick up such history about the hotel which I thought was a real shame. Maybe I will return post retirement and start a little project….

Room Tip: They can make what amounts to a two room family suite by locking off the hallway door.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LouMonika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you very much for choosing the Luna Hotel Baglioni for your stay in Venice. Families and kids are most welcome in our property and we do offer a good number of different interconnecting room types for the highest comfort of everyone. Thank you for your interest in our large history heritage. We do have a lovely sum of that and would be delight to let you have it, just please do contact us. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again to show you personally the antique beauties inside our property. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

When my travel agent recommended this hotel I was a bit hesitant because of the cost, but once there I decided it was well worth it. The location is just perfect--just steps from Piazza San Marco but surprisingly quiet. Having their private boat dock for visitors is a real plus, as we observed many tourists walking all over Venice dragging their suitcases along the cobblestones and up and down bridges, because their hotel lacked this amenity and the boat transfers just dropped them off at the nearest dock--believe me, we were very glad we booked this hotel where we drew right up to the dock and we immediately helped out of the boat by smiling hotel personnel. We arrived at the hotel at 1030am but the helpful clerk in reception Marco said our room was ready and it was his favorite room. I was thinking, bet you say to all the guests, but he may have been right. The room had just undergone a major refurbishment, it still smelled of paint and some of the paint was still a bit tacky, so I am sure we were the first occupants of this newly redone room. Wow! I thought we were staying at the Doge's Palace or something. This very large room was decorated in Venetian opulence, with beautiful brocade fabrics on the walls, bed and drapes, fabulous faux finished details and an incredible bathroom with double vanities and a huge marble shower with intricately carved detail on the floor. The light fixtures in the bedroom were a huge Murano glass bowl chandelier with pendant lights on either side of the bed. It was just incredible. It seemed that maybe the hotel wasn't entirely full, perhaps that's why they gave us this wonderful upgrade, but they all seemed very proud of this room and eager to please us. Staff at la Luna Baglioni was very helpful, friendly and all spoke perfect English. The common areas of the hotel were similarly beautiful and comfortable. Even the small first floor ladies' room was a work of art. If you can afford this hotel, and it is certainly not cheap, stay here as it will be a big and unforgettable part of your entire Venetian experience.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hillcntrytraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 14 June 2014

Dear Guest,
It has been for us a pleasure welcoming you at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. Let us express our compliment for choosing one of our Top Suites for your stay in Venice and thank you very much for sharing your experience in this forum.
We all stay at your full disposal wish you plan to visit us again in the near future . Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Hotel Luna Baglioni is superbly situated some 100 yards from St Mark's square. It has its own private canal entrance- ideal if you are travelling from water taxi from the airport.
We were staying in Venice for 3 days with our 5 year old daughter. The hotel was excellent, the staff very friendly and helpful and its location excellent .In deed , their is a gondolier stop right outside and the three of us were able to enjoy the majesty of the grand canal under the guidance of our very knowledgeable gondolier.
A very nice touch was the turn over the first night . When we returned to our room following dinner, our daughter's bed had a teddy bear and a child's Venice
t shirt placed on it - gifts from the hotel.
We had a wonderful time in Venice , enhanced by the benefit of this excvellent hotel.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank REGINALD R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for taking the time to share your positive experience in this forum. The Luna hotel Baglioni is not only centrally located but also has a large offer of family rooms and suites. Of course children are most welcomed and all our team strive to spoil them with those little gesture so to make every kid happy with parents appreciation. Please don’t hesitate to contact us in order to plan a future visit back to our lovely city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 June 2014

This was our 3d time at the Luna. This hotel has the best location of any hotel in Venice. It is 50 steps from St. Mark's square but the hotel starts at a canal which dead ends so no tourists turn toward the hotel from St. Marks. It is absolutely a quiet haven with stunning views of St. Mark's Campanille, the Grand Canal and Giudecca island. The first 2 times at the hotel we had suites with extremely large terraces. I have attached a photo of the terrace suite. When we were told we were not getting a terrace we were depressed until we entered the suite we were given. It was perfect in every way. Venetian silk fabric wall coverings, gorgeous period furniture, a large marble bathroom with a seat in the shower, and giant picture windows which fully opened to amazing views of the Canal and Giudecca. We were in Room 504, named the Vecellio Tiziano Suite, which I strongly recommend. The bed and pillows were comfortable. The breakfast buffet is in a room with beautiful ceiling frescos. A photo of the frescos is attached. The bar is comfortable and the bartender friendly. The only negatives were the restaurant- the food was a big disappointment- and the fact they have sold out to cruise lines as a cruise line had a cruise extension at the hotel. In the past, we were the only Americans. Now, it was overrun with them. So, our little gem has been discovered. Oh well. Anyway, go for the location and the amazing suites.

Room Tip: A suite with a terrace or Room 504 are outstanding- the best in Venice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cbreezedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 June 2014

Dear Guest,
Being part of the aficionados repeat guest of the Luna Hotel Baglioni has its own advantage and we do thank you for you loyalty and moreover for sharing your experience in this forum. As you may know and already mentioned several times, if you really want to experience at the best this place, this city and its beauty you should choose to travel in the low season period . Feel free to contact us wish you plan to experience that and all the team will be delight to help you planning your 4th visit. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Quite simply, the perfect Hotel. I stayed for four nights in a Junior suite while two others I travelled with stayed in another suite. I arrived by water taxi from the airport into the Hotels private dock off the grand canal surrounded by the most beautiful flowers. This was my first visit to Venice, and honestly I have never had a more incredible arrival, it will be remembered forever. Greeted warmly by the door man and quickly checked in, all facilites and nearby attractions were explained and I was given my luxurious door key and shown to my perfect suite. The view was simply amazing of the grand canal and iconic buildings. Located a stones throw from St Marks and surrounding attractions, but without the noise and stream of tourists, it provides the perfect base for a stay in Venice. We rented a private boat for a trip to the surrounding islands- expensive but well worth it, it really made the trip. I won't go on about what to do in Venice but it was the most romatic and culturally interesting city I have visited. This Hotel cannot be reccomended enough, many others should learn from it grace and personal touch.

Room Tip: Pay a visit to nearby Harry's Bar if you get a chance.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hannah M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,
We do thank you very much for sharing your experience and more over for choosing us for your stay in Venice. As many time expressed our commitment to all guests is to share the beauty of our city, the wide historical heritage in this incredible palace with such large story to tell along with discreet attention to our guests. Hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again and introduce you personally to the secret details of this property. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#50 of 385 in Venice
1,281 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#17 of 385 in Venice
1,577 reviews
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#78 of 385 in Venice
2,574 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#42 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £227 - £1,495 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Expedia, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, getaroom.com, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing