We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Baglioni Hotel Luna
Ranked #63 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice. One of the best in the city. The staff are friendly and very helpful. The location is Fantastic. Just at the entrance of San Marco and, yet, quiet and cozy. Just great! I booked a superior room and it was very small. Could be good for one person, but absolutely not for two. Try to avoid this type of room. When I stayed there in 2014, I booked a deluxe room which was fantastic and really spacious.

Stayed: August 2014
3  Thank Marafi_Qatar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 9 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Superior rooms have right EU size, many of these are very much requested for their view to the small canal and the Royal Gardens right in front of us. De Luxe rooms are indeed bigger in size. Thank you for sharing your positive experience and hope to welcome you for a third time at the Luan hotel Baglioni. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,655)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

597 - 603 of 1,657 reviews

Reviewed 3 August 2014

This hotel is located just off the great waterway seen in all of the pix of the front coast line of the city. It is convenient to shops, restaurants and only steps away from St. Mark's Suare, the Basilica, Doge's palace, etc. It is close to the vaporetto (boat bus) stops. Water taxis pul up to the front door. The rooms are well appointed and very clean. The staff is as good as can be, and they provide answers to all questions and recommendations for all aspects of your stay.

Room Tip: YOu get what you pay for,
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jack F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni. Being your first time to Venice we are happy to have helped you to a enjoy your stay. All the staff and myself hope to have the pleasure to welcome you again in our unique city and stay at your full disposal wish you plan it with us. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

The best thing about this hotel is its location, its dock and its small terrace for snacks and drinks. The GM greeted us as Leading Hotels of the World members and we were given a small gift. This personalized greeting was very nice. However, the front desk and concierge were mostly business like and far from warm or friendly. Few ever ate in the hotel restaurant. It largely sat empty and an employee is stationed in the lobby who tries to persuade guests to give the restaurant a try. She told me, "we received an [award] too." The lobby is largely an inner lobby and is dark and feels small and confining. The room we were assigned was in the attic. We were told it was large but at the end of the day, it was in the attic and away from the life of the hotel. Maybe a honeymooning couple would want the privacy, we just felt isolated and it was difficult for my 76 year old mother to get up and down. Finally, the breafast was boring with limited options. We ate on small tables with odd legs and that were unstable. If you are a LHW member and select hotels based on the hotel's participaiton in the program, I would hazard a guess that there are much better options.

Room Tip: Decline the room in the attic.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank Kloreece
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest, (Kloreece)
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are a bit sad to read your review as we could have offered alternative for the suite assigned if we only knew it was not appreciated, as you have being here for three nights. We sty confident you will give us another chance so to show you we do really care to guests. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

This hotel is in the perfect location and breath taking views of the city from the terrace were incredible. We enjoyed the 2 level suite with a bottle of champagne and fresh chocolate covered strawberries. We were able to enjoy a little privacy from our teenage daughter. The staff went above and beyond on xmas eve to find us a great place to have dinner on xmas eve. The staff also during a flood got us to our taxi and made our journey relaxing and not so stressful. The beautiful hotel has a breakfast buffet that was amazing in a ballroom. I felt like I was in a palace.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
1  Thank relaxed34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for confirming our commitment to all guests: to do all possible to let every guest feel like nobility in their own palace. Is not easy but we do strive for that. Learning from experience and listening to any one of you and pay attention to your notes. Thank you again for sharing your experience and wish you a happy summer season. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

Stayed just one night at the Luna Baglioni, prior to boarding a cruise. It's a beautiful hotel, and the location just couldn't be better for exploring lovely Venice.

We arrived via water taxi (who doesn't?!) from the airport, which is of course a dramatic way to arrive. The hotel staff were quite accomodating, and the hotel is - blessedly - air-conditioned, which was a relief on a 30-degree C day.

We had a room with a window, but no view to speak of - just the wall next door. As we were there for only one night, that wasn't a disappointment. If a view is important to you, though, be sure to ask specifically for one. My cousins' room had a view of the Grand Canal.

Room itself was quite spacious, with a walk-in closet, and a huge bathroom/WC, complete with bidet. After a transcontinental flight, it was quite comfortable. Our room was quiet, also.

Ample breakfast buffet, with pretty much anything one would want for breakfast. Be sure to look up and admire the ceiling during your breakfast!

The hotel is right at Piazza San Marco, and provides a great base for exploring Venice.

We would certainly go back to the Luna Hotel Baglioni!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
Thank KDUB7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Let us thank you for recommending the Luna Hotel Baglioni and moreover for choosing us for your stop in Venice before leaving for a cruise. We are happy to read your suggestion to look up while having breakfast: the Tiepolo pupil’s frescoes and the Marco Polo ball room is itself a jump back in the 18th century! Thank you again and look forward to welcome you personally on your next trip to Venice. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 August 2014

My wife and I stayed here prior to taking a cruise out of Venice. The location is perfect.... water taxi can drop you right at the door. Close to shopping, the main canal, and St. Mark's square. The rooms were very nice and clean. After a long day of flying I slept like a baby. The staff was very friendly and helpful with check-in, our luggage and exchanging currency. We caught a gondola right outside the front door of the hotel. I highly recommend the Luna Hotel Baglioni.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank The-Master-Planner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 8 August 2014

Dear Guest,
It is a nice idea to take advantage of living or arriving to Venice by Cruise and decide to stop for few days and discover this part of the world. Well done! Thank you for sharing your experience and look forward to welcome you again in our fairytale city. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Perfect location just off the grand canal and next to San Marco piazza. Great service. Beautiful hotel with a great breakfast. They clean the room twice per day. We would stay there again since it was a great experience

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kathy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HMLuna, Direttore at Baglioni Hotel Luna, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,
Thank you for sharing your positive experience at the Luna Hotel Baglioni and more over for your kind words to the Service, to the Premise and the Breakfast . Hope to have the pleasure to introduce you to the splendor antiques we do have inside on your next trip to Venice, so please don’t hesitate to contact us to plan it. Gianmatteo Zampieri - Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
The Gritti Palace, A Luxury Collection Hotel
Castello
Hotel Danieli, A Luxury Collection Hotel
San Marco
The Westin Europa & Regina, Venice
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Bauer Palazzo
Bauer Palazzo
#77 of 385 in Venice
2,597 reviews
Castello
Metropole Hotel
Metropole Hotel
#49 of 385 in Venice
1,290 reviews
Castello
Hotel Londra Palace
Hotel Londra Palace
#16 of 385 in Venice
1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Baglioni Hotel Luna? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Baglioni Hotel Luna

Address: San Marco, 1243, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Venice
#22 Family Hotel in Venice
#38 Romantic Hotel in Venice
#43 Luxury Hotel in Venice
Price Range: £225 - £1,120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Baglioni Hotel Luna 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Housed in a mignificent, 12th century Venetian palazzo, reputed to have played host to the Templar Knights, this is the oldest hotel in Venice a stone's throw from St. Mark's Square and boasts a tradition of hospitality going back centuries. The hotel commands unrivalled views of the Lagoon and offers guests an intimate, welcoming atmosphere combined with impeccable service, classic cuisine and a private mooring berth to enter the hotel by gondola or motor boat. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, TravelUp, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Baglioni Hotel Luna reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luna Hotel Venice
Luna Hotel Baglioni

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing