We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easy walking to St Marks but tiny rooms”
Review of Kette Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Kette Hotel
Ranked #123 of 385 Hotels in Venice
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Easy walking to St Marks but tiny rooms”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Four of us stayed here our final night in Venice. When we booked this hotel we actually thought it was much closer to St Marks but it is an easy walk. The service of the front desk depended on who was on duty at the time. The rooms were small and the a/c never seemed to cool the room. They have a nice hospitality room and bar and the bartender was extremely friendly. He recommended the chianti which as 15 euro for a bottle and was terrific. One downside was that we asked for a restaurant recommendation and were told by the front desk of a small family run restaurant that was supposedly popular with the locals. We ate at the restaurant and found it had a very limited menu, a not very friendly waiter, and all the customers appeared to be Americans making us wonder what the motive of the referral was.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Denver-KCB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,155 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    369
    504
    197
    54
    31
See reviews for
216
663
14
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Athens, Greece
Level 3 Contributor
19 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

We only had two days to spend in Venice as a finale to a 6 day cruise. We were a group of 8 and wanted to see as much of Venice as possible. This hotel was very classic with a very helpful and friendly staff, the rooms were clean, spacious and tidy. The beds were a bit small after the luxury of the cruise ship, but the location was great and the cost was reasonable according to the location. I would recommend this hotel to someone who is looking for a place inside Venice for a short time.

Room Tip: We had rooms looking out on the street where we could look down one way and see a canal and the othe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Deanna3330
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
170 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We had just a couple of days here & this hotel was a welcome oasis. The staff very helpful & friendly. Rooms clean, spacious & tidy. I would recommend this hotel if you are looking for something not too outrageously expensive in Venice, very close to all the major attractions but still in a quiet location.

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
56 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

This hotel is 5 minute walk at most, from St Marks square. The front staff is mostly great...happy to help you.
The rooms are quite small and a bit stuffy. We were in 309 and opened all the windows which helped.....but...then we had Mosquitos, cats meowing and birds screeching which woke us up quite early. And of course, coffee is not available until 7:30 . It would be nice if they offered at least beverages by 6:30.
I would probably not stay here again. The best part was the location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cathy p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

I was a little hesitant about booking at Kette Hotel, but my husband likes old world style, so I went with it for him hoping I would be pleasantly surprised. The decor of the rooms, (we had 2, a triple with a fold out bed for my daughter, and two twins pushed together for myself and husband, and a double for our sons) were not my style, I would have preferred updated bedding and drapes (just seems cleaner to me). The drapes and bedding were old, and the rooms were dark. The hairdryer was a hose in the wall which blew cold air. You had to pull it forward for it to stay on, and since I do not have three arms, my daughter had to hold it on for me! I have frizzy hair, but fortunately it is short, so I just went with it. There were no amenities at the hotel, turn down service, robes/slippers, coffee/tea. That is why I do not consider it a 4 star. We had come from Rome and Florence, and those hotels offered those.There are not irons in any of the rooms we stayed at in Italy. I had read that on the forums beforehand so we brought our own. It was clean, and a good location on a quiet street. The only thing that saved it for me, was the concierge, Jacque was very friendly and helpful. We went to the bar (very small, no one there) for a night cap, and the bartender did not say two words to us. The breakfast was ok, typical continental. Staff there cordial, not overly friendly. We had experienced so many friendly people in Rome and Florence, waiters and shop keepers as a whole in Venice were not as friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for extra pillows, they are very flat and there are not extras in the closet. Beds on the lumpy...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Elly1020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roanoke, VA
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We stayed here for two nights at the end of a cruise. The room was good sized and clean. Bathroom was very nice. Bed wasn't the best and the pillows were flat, but we had just been spoiled by the accomodations on the cruise ship. The location couldn't be better. This is a short walk from St. Mark's square, but miles away from the noise and crowds. The staff were very nice. We enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: There are rooms facing the street and the canal. The street was somewhat noisy during the day, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CarlaRoanoke_VA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sabadell, Catalunya
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Great location, about 5 min. walk to St. Mark's Square. Great decorations and the room was big and impressively decorated as well, with a charming and somewhat 'roccocó' look. Breakfast was a bit lacking as I missed more variety.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ladydors
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Venice hotels
San Marco
Hotel Saturnia & International
San Marco
Duodo Palace Hotel
Duodo Palace Hotel
#69 of 385 in Venice
1,507 reviews
San Marco
Cavalletto & Doge Orseolo
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
San Marco
Hotel dell'Opera
Hotel dell'Opera
#124 of 385 in Venice
552 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
Hotel Dei Dragomanni
#139 of 385 in Venice
601 reviews
San Marco
Hotel Concordia
Hotel Concordia
#75 of 385 in Venice
995 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kette Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kette Hotel

Property: Kette Hotel
Address: Sestiere San Marco 2053, 30124 Venice, Italy
Region: Italy > Veneto > Province of Venice > City of Venice > Venice > San Marco
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Venice
#71 Luxury Hotel in Venice
#145 Family Hotel in Venice
#147 Romantic Hotel in Venice
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Kette Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 65
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your Kette Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kette Hotel Venice

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing